We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I don't have enough superlatives to describe this hotel. It is stunnung. The staff was so accomodating. And friendly. I went. With my husband and three children and it was perfect. I would reccomend. It to everyone.

Room Tip: Choose the rom closest to the volcano and you won't believe your eyes,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, General Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Hi Rebecca.

First, thank you for coming and stay with us in Lomas del Volcán and second, for taking some minutes of your precious time to write about your experience to be in our facilities.
We are sure your satisfaction was filled up as you were hoping, this is what we can understand when we read your comment here.

We hope to see you the next time you decide to return to Costa Rica.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,651)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

807 - 813 of 1,651 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

Beautiful, clean, spacious, quiet, and private bungalows in a GORGEOUS setting! Breakfast was a wonderful buffet of a hot options, fresh fruit, juices, and good coffee. The omelette lady was our favorite! The open air, white tablecloth setting was peaceful and special.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KayG214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, General Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Hi.

Thank you people.
Remember the next time you come around that we will be here waiting for you with our arms wide open.
It was a true pleasure serving you and we hope your expectations were fully filled.

Kind regards and hugs from all our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The grounds, the location and the surroundings and architecture is excellent. I just believe the staff could have been a bit more friendly and helpful. We travelled with friends and we all agreed that the staff at Hotel Lomas del Volcan was one of the lowlights of our trip. Hopefully we are the only one with that experience, because this location should deserve 5 stars.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leluya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, General Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Hi.

First of all thank you for taking a time to post this review.
Certainly this is only your point of view due we do not share and we don´t agree that our staff is the lowest score of the rest in your trip. We guess you are the guy who was at the front desk asking to cancel your second night of your stay with no extra charge despite you were well informed that there was a penalty for cancellations made the same day of the stay. We kindly told you despite we have policies to respect we could speak with the manager to not charge that night, thing we did and we did not charge your second night of your stay. It is very curious why none of your friends did not place comments here about what you mention here. We still remember you really upset complaining about our front desk and about our security staff due they did not speak English when you arrive late the night before.

We really regret that you did not enjoy your stay here and we are sure your friends yes they did.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This is a beautiful, modern hotel with all the trappings. The rooms are cabins in the woods with back porches with table & chairs and the front has a porch with a bench. Views are gorgeous, including Arenal Volcano when it's out. We saw the lava glowing last night. The pool & spa are lovely and the food was really good and not expensive. They had a really good bottle of wine on special for just $30, and there were lots more in that price range.

Room Tip: They prefer US currency.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, General Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Hi Steve.
Thank you for letting us know about your impression on our facilities.
We are glad that you have had a wonderful stay in Lomas del Volcán and that your perception of our services and in general our hotel, have been the best ones.
We are really sure that you will come back to Costa Rica and we would like that the next time you come and stay with us.
We really appreciate your visit and wish you the best in your life.

Remember your friends at Lomas del Vocán, we will be here waiting for you with our arms wide open.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My cabin was absolutely wonderful, clean and spacious with a great deck patio, surrounded by beautiful plants and trees, howling monkeys and sounds of the night. The main lodge offered great food and bar operations, a small business center and a very reasonable laundry service. Views of the Volcano were good early in the morning but clouds enveloped it as the day progress. Wonderful town near by with great shopping.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank j7paige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, General Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Hi.

Thank you so much for your review.
Yes, the clouds are a little problem we have to manage with. We advice you that the best time to come and see the volcano is on September and October and at the same time we have low rates due is the low season of tourism. However, remember we will be here all year round if you decide to return.

Warm regards from all the staff of Lomas del Volcán.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Individual cabins that are on the edge of the Mt. Arenal Volcano. Room was spacious and clean, with a table and chairs on the back deck. Beautiful views! We heard all sorts of wildlife at the hotel, but didn't see any during our stay. Breakfast was good - made to order omelets or eggs. Fresh fruit, yum...We didn't have dinner at the hotel. Pool was nice, could use more seating but I think most days guests are out exploring the area. Staff at the front desk was fairly helpful w/ typical traveller questions, but sometimes the desk was unattended. It was an easy drive to La Fortuna or you can get a taxi to take you.

Room Tip: We were in 405; very secluded
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joanColumbus_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, General Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Hi Joan.

Thank you for your review.

About your stay with us we can see the only issue it seems to be related to our front desk e would like to know names or the one who was at the moment you were fairly attended. That is a very important thing due this way we can speak with the clerk and rectify for the next time this part of the staff be more helpful and attendant. Please get in contact at roberto@lomasdelvolcan.com

Warm regards to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Beautifully set cottages away from yet close to La Fortuna. Very attentive staff, good breakfast and practical restaurant. We enjoyed our stay very much, in particular the howler monkeys that visited the trees behind our cottage one day. The kids enjoyed the pool as well as the beautiful setting.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, General Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Hi Nick.
.Thank you for coming with your family and for sharing with us. It´s great to read every thing was ok for you and about the howler monkey, we have many around the hotel and sometimes they are hard to see due these kind of apes are very shy. You were very lucky! We are not sure if you went to our walking trail but if you did not, next time please take a couple hours during your stay here and go to that walking trail, you may find great surprises there.

For now we just wait until you back again.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.9 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,138 reviews
2.9 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,943 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,944 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#13 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,417 reviews
1.7 mi away
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort &...
#25 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lomas del Volcan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Address: PO Box 4-4417, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £64 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lomas del Volcan 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lomas del Volcán Hotel is a warm mountain hotel that maintains it's rustic style with wood cabins, each one with 2 decks that invites you to enjoy nature, one with a view to the Arenal Volcano and the other with a view to the tropical forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Lomas del Volcan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomas Del Volcan Hotel
Hotel Lomas Del Volcan Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing