We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

The grounds were absolutely beautiful, and the woodwork in the rustic cabins was amazing. Bathroom was huge. Pictures don't actually do this place justice. It was much more than I was expecting for the price, and the breakfast was excellent as well. It was also a very close drive to all the attractions in the Arenal/La Fortuna area. I highly recommend Lomas del Volcan for any type of traveler to La Fortuna.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ntnrx719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    950
    375
    64
    7
    16
See reviews for
318
776
33
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

There are many, many positives about this place: the views are stunning, there's wildlife all around, the restaurant workers are very friendly, the breakfasts are wonderful, the pool and hot tub are great, the beds are super comfortable, and the shower is a vacation spot all on its own! There are both front and rear porches for you to relax on and watch the birds from. The rooms are spotlessly clean. I was very pleased with the price (which I got through Expedia--much lower than the hotel's price quote.)

The things that are lacking are minor; for instance, the beautiful flower arrangements all around during the first few days of our stay were emptied and not refilled for the last half of our week. The mojitos and margaritas at the bar are so sour as to be undrinkable. The thing that really offended me and pushed the rating down to a three from what would have been a four was the horrendous pricing of the tours, which were double and sometimes TRIPLE the price of the activity when purchased directly. I would not have believed it if I didn't have their price list on hand as I booked tours directly through the individual websites. There wasn't once that it was less than fully double the actual price. It bothers me that they would take advantage of their guests that way.

Another tip, and this is not on the hotel, but I'd recommend renting a car because the taxi drivers will find many creative ways to rip you off. They are incredibly assertive about getting you to pay more than you should. (Watch out for a man named Oldemar who was downright aggressive.)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JerseyTraveler461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, Gerente at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, 29 September 2014
Hi.
Firstly, we really appreciate that you have taken the time to write a review about our facilities and the good descriptions that you make about the service and surrounding.
What is very unacceptable and we do not agree with you is about the prices of the tours and excursion that you mention. We have been working since we opened the hotel, with the best tour companies of La Fortuna and we proudly provided to our guests the official prices of these tour companies, no extras nor service charge are added to these prices.
What we explain to our guests at the check in time is that we provide official prices and this is easily proved, you can go and check their websites and you will know this is true.
What happens in La Fortuna as anywhere else is that there are many small offices selling tours and activities at a very low rate due they do not pay taxes or/and which is worst , they don´t have insurances and their guides are not real tour guides with a training and academic preparation, they are guides of the streets.
If your life worth few dollars to be paid less, go and look for tours in these offices in La Fortuna, if your life is worth, a few dollars more or less does not mean much. Make your reservations at the front desk of the hotels you are staying.
Our business is to sale service, quality and safety for our guests and we wish to our guests the best experience of their lives; cheap = risk and danger, is not part of what we offer.
So the next time consider to go and reserve with one of these offices take a minute and reflect about your integrity.

Hugs from all your friends of Lomas del Volcan Hote
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stunning views of Arenal right from your cabin. Rooms are large, clean, and well appointed with comfortable beds. Breakfast buffet is very good with many choices. Pool and Jacuzzi are surrounded by exotic birds and plants. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosewards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe
Level Contributor
73 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in April 2014. The hotel is set about 1km up a dirt track from the main road through La Fortuna and the closest other restaurants and bars are back down by the main road (although the centre of La Fortuna is another couple of kilometres further still). The peaceful location is stunning surrounded by volcano, vegetation and wildlife.

The rooms are individual wood cabins which are a good size with huge bathrooms. Each room has a balcony with views towards the volcano and our room had no other obstructions to the view (although in the 4 days we were there the volcano was on full display for a total of about 5 minutes - its normally shrouded in cloud!).

Inside, the room had comfy beds, decent enough aircon, a TV with plenty of channels and tea & coffee making facilities. At night you do get a lot of wildlife noises either from monkeys and birds in the surrounding jungle or from various critters scurrying across the roof of your cabin - all part of the ambience! Talking of ambience, the one thing that would put us off returning here is the incessant arrival of various coach parties, particularly when coach parties of children turned up and crowded the swimming pool area. The room had a safe but it wasn't particularly large so don't expect to squeeze a laptop in there. One other thing we missed was somewhere comfy to sit as the chairs on the terrace were solid wood and not at all comfortable to sit on.

The restaurant was ok but there's much better food to be had in some of the restaurants in La Fortuna itself but there are great views if you take a table near the terrace. The staff were very friendly (as they were everywhere around the hotel) and do a good job of looking after their guests.

The hotel grounds are beautiful with bags of flora and fauna whichever way you look and a pleasant swimming pool area (when not full of school kids). There's also a short "nature trail" in the hotel grounds which is a nice little introduction to Costa Rican wildlife (we saw numerous birds as well as several poison dart frogs). Also, watch out for the large toads that hang around on the hotel footpaths after dark!

Overall this was a great place to stay and with some improvements in the food offering and coach party management it could be even better.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HighWycombeTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Georgia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

You're literally under the volcano here (Arenal). Guests stay in separate cabins. The cabins are lovely, with a deck and huge bathrooms. The view is outstanding, the landscaping is beautiful and chirping birds can be heard at all hours. Our package included breakfast, which was great. We ate at the restaurant one evening and the food was delicious. Staff was gracious and helpful. Located close to the Arenal Observatory and Butterfly Conservatory. We had a wonderful stay here and would recommend it to anyone visiting Costa Rica.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betsy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCala
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Just an awesome and affordable place. From the quaint cabins to the delicious breakfast this hotel is now my favorite in La Fortuna. Can't get any closer to the volcano and it is centrally located. Must sees while in La Fortuna, Eco Termales, The waterfall, eat at Don Rufinos, and the ATV tour.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brooklynspizzza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Co
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Beautiful grounds, nice cabins with roomy bathrooms and a private back deck. We had one on the end with a great view of Arenal. Cable TV worked great. Nice pool and Jacuzzi, restaurant was also good. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet as well, which is included. The hotel is off the main road a ways, so it is a bit of a walk to other places in the area. We used a taxi to go off the property.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sdneco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.9 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,751 reviews
2.9 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,768 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
3.0 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,308 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lomas del Volcan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Property: Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Address: PO Box 4-4417, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lomas del Volcan 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lomas del Volcán Hotel is a warm mountain hotel that maintains it's rustic style with wood cabins, each one with 2 decks that invites you to enjoy nature, one with a view to the Arenal Volcano and the other with a view to the tropical forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lomas del Volcan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomas Del Volcan Hotel
Hotel Lomas Del Volcan Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing