We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lot of great benefits at a very affordable rate” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A lot of great benefits at a very affordable rate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

We booked at Lomas at the last minute after changing our travel plans to include Arenal. I thought it was going to be a much smaller place - maybe ten cabins or so - but I think there are more like 50 or 60. Still, big kudos to this place for making the experience of staying in one of the bungalows feel very private and luxurious (for less than $100/night). The cabin was clean and spacious with a very comfortable bed (and yes, an ENORMOUS shower), and had a lovely veranda as well as a TV and air conditioning. Don't miss the beautiful pool, practically at the foot of the volcano, and enjoy the really good and filling breakfast that's included with the cost of the room. Skip dinner in the restaurant (really, just skip it) and instead savor the fact that this place has the romance of a private cabin, the luxury of a resort-like pool, excellent breakfast buffet, and easy access to the national park and the town of La Fortuna. Oh, and of course, the VIEW basically can't be beat. We got there at night so you couldn't see the volcano, and I figured because of our last minute reservation we must have gotten a bungalow without a volcano view. Um, no. When we woke up the next morning, the HUGE volcano was looming big and gorgeous right outside the window. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Dear Erica.

We appreciate your comments on Trip Advisor.
It is very important for us the feedback you have placed on this website due based on it many other people are going to plan their trip to Arenal and especially to Lomas.
As we can read on your lines, you had a very pleasant experience in our mountain lodge which means a great thing to us.
Your point about have dinner in the balcony of the room is also a very good recommendation for those who wants to have a very romantic dinner or those ones who like the privacy in a moment so important like share with their beloveds

Thank your for your visit and see you next time.


Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    885
    364
    62
    7
    16
See reviews for
293
730
31
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

Absolutely everything was perfect for us here, -the breakfast was delicious & generous, the cabin was clean, well-maintained & elegant in its design. The beds & pillows were exceptional,-excellent pillowtop mattresses which provided much needed sleep after hotel with concrete beds. The staff could not have been kinder & more helpful. This hotel was one of the highlights of our trip & hard to leave!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Hi.
Absolutely thank you for your review. Your feedbacks are great help for those who are planning to travel to Lomas and especially because this is the best way we get to know we are doing the things well.

Many thanks and we will be glad to have you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

I had done some research before we got to the property so I knew what to expect. The rooms are cabins that have their own refrigerators, large bathrooms and private front and rear balconies. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful (booked all of our tours here). The best part is the view of the volcano hands down. We also loved falling asleep to the sound of the rain and waking up to the sounds of birds. The breakfast was also very good. I am definitely staying here again next trip to the area!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jgmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Hi miami!
If there is a next trip to Arenal let us tell you that you are very welcome to our mountain lodge.
Your feedback about your stay in our resort makes us very happy due this way we know we are giving a good service and the reward for your money means satisfaction and positive comments from you people.

We wait for you the next time and we hope that in the future we can see you again to offer you an improved service an a top quality stay.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed a year ago for our honeymoon, I can't believe I didn't write a review then! This was the best place :) staff was very friendly and the room was amazing. Can't beat the view, if we have the opportunity to visit again, this will be where we stay. Hands down.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HeatherCox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Hi Heather Cox.
Thank you for your answer on this website.
After one year after you remember us. That is Great! It means your stay with us was a lifetime memory.
We hope that in the future we can see you coming back with your family, in case you are thinking about having children, and also we hope to have with exactly the same great service and high quality of facilities that we own at the moment. Every season we try to improve everything and that is way our resort is 15 years old but looks like brand new.
All our efforts are focused on you people and we appreciate your selected choice for our resort during your honeymoon trip.

See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

"What a spectacular view", we'd exclaim each morning. Arenal Volcano towered over our hotel room, it's peak lost in the clouds. The simple rooms are well furnished and retain a sense of luxury. The front and rear decks provide a variety of settings to wile away the hours in. The food and the service made for a very enjoyable stay, along with the well kept hotel pool and jacuzzi. Many activities are within a short distance from the hotel; volcano hike, hot springs, horse riding and several restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ottocle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Ottocle, tank you.

This not could be better way to express your satisfaction than placing your feedback on this website.
Remember to give us a visit the next time you come to Arenal, we will be here without arm wide open waiting for you and your family.


See you next time dear friends
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

This was one of our favorite places we stayed job Costa Rica. The villas a very clean, spacious and comfortable. The air conditioning was especially nice since bugs can be tough during the rainy season. They service a complete breakfast buffet and the staff couldn't be nicer or more helpful. It's on the edge of town closer to arenal, which was perfect. Grounds are immaculate and views are amazing. Highly recommend.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JWBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
JW Bell.

Many thanks for your appreciations about our mountain lodge.
With your comments here, you are helping thousands and thousands of people to take a decision once they travel to Arenal. We are convinced that we are the best option to stay in the area and we are proud to have the best location in Arenal.
For you JW and for many people who are coming soon, we will be here keeping our high standards of quality and service.


Regards and see you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san antonio, texas
Level Contributor
230 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

This facility has individual cabins that consist of huge bed rooms, gigantic baths/showers, a small front porch and a large, covered back porch with table and chairs. I'd guesstimate that overall square footage is 500 to 600. Cabins are a fairly short walk from resort lobby but it is a tough walk -- either uphill or downhill. There are no golf carts to moving your luggage can be a chore. Pretty good breakfast buffet in the big restaurant, open air on two sides. Nice swimming pool not far from lobby. Free wifi and 2 computer terminals in lobby. Only downside are bugs, bugs, bugs -- in the bathroom, in the bedroom and maybe even in the beds! But they are harmless. The big seller is that the cabins have a view of the Arenal Volcano (if weather permits).

Room Tip: This facility is on the edge of town so there isn't much in walking distance. Hike and enjoy the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winwinwin333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney M, Manager at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Hello win win win.

Thank you for your comments.
Yes, walking from the recepción towards to the rooms 500´s takes less than 2 minutes and you go up hill or downhill coming to the restaurant or lobby of the hotel. It is very important to let our guests know that our location is at the foothill of Arenal Volcano and that the ground here is not flat in a 100%. We do not have golf cars or transport inside the hotel because the distances to walk are very short and this would be a wasting of resources and energy and we are trying to preserve our natural resources. So dear guests, the next time we will take in consideration not to give you a room in the 500,s, we will see the way to accommodate you very close to the main building.
About the bugs in the room, we really sorry, we are set very close to the rain forest and this is out of our control, considering we have the national park Arenal Volcano on the back yard, all kind of wild life come to visit us at any time, nothing we can deal with! A good advice when you stay in Lomas is close the doors and windows early in the afternoon, this is the best way to keep the insects out off the room.

Warm regards.

Lomas del Volcán Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.9 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,692 reviews
2.9 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,720 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,122 reviews
3.0 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lomas del Volcan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lomas del Volcan

Property: Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Address: PO Box 4-4417, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lomas del Volcan 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lomas del Volcán Hotel is a warm mountain hotel that maintains it's rustic style with wood cabins, each one with 2 decks that invites you to enjoy nature, one with a view to the Arenal Volcano and the other with a view to the tropical forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Lomas del Volcan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lomas Del Volcan Hotel
Hotel Lomas Del Volcan Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing