We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional and clean bungalows”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cerro Chato Eco Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2012

The lodge is situated a little bit outside of the city. The bungalows are functional and clean and the hosts are very friendly and had given great insider tips. In the morning they served a typical costa rican breakfast which was very good. The only disappointing point was that the volcano was not active anymore and we have never read about this but there are great hot springs and many thing more to explore.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andi und Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2012

My family and I stayed at the Cerro Chato for 2 fantastic nights. The rooms were clean and had everything we needed. The grounds are beautiful with little hedges to guide you, and beautiful and unique trees. Miguel, the owner was so helpful in booking excursions and so down to earth. I really appreciated his perspective on "pura vida" as well (pure life, the Costa Rican slogan). Carmencita cooked us a delicious breakfast every morning. When I go back to Costa Rica, I will definately be staying there again!

Room Tip: Room 5 was excellent with a double bed and a single.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We truly enjoyed our stay at the lodge. Miguel and Carmen were excellent hosts. The grounds are beautiful and we also enjoyed a swim in the pool. The breakfasts were delicious and kept us fueled up for our cycling adventures. The lodge is about an hour walk to La Fortuna. If the walk is too far Miguel will be more than happy to call a taxi for you. The lodge is quiet and clean. If we are ever in the area again we will stay again. If you need some groceries there is a store about a 20 minute walk away. You can arrange to have supper at the lodge if you like, the food is really good. Another option is to walk down the hill to a little soda on the left hand side called Soda de Tilapia the food is very good too. Miguel is very helpful if you need help with your trip plans or transportation.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

We stayed one night at this rustic lodge; the owner and I had very interesting discussions about the environment, the country and the world situation. We had some difficulty finding the place based upon the owner's directions; actually, we drove in the back way, which was very rough going.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

I thought this place was nice. It's quiet, clean, and tucked away from all the noise of the town. You have a view of both Cerro Chato and La Arenal from the property. I didn't use the swimming pool, but the breakfast was delicious and filling. You have the option of asking to dine-in (for lunch or dinner), or you can walk to the supermarket to purchase something to eat. There are also a few Sodas nearby to grab a bite.
We stayed only a few nights, and spent most of our time hiking to the waterfalls or rafting in the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6 and had no troubles
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biancadene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

My wife and I stayed here for three nights and we definitely enjoyed our time at this rustic lodge. While small, the room has everything you need. (No a/c, but the fan is enough.) The grounds are beautifully kept and the pool is just the right size.

The owner, Miguel, was very kind and hospitable. He helped us with all of our questions and assisted us in setting up all of our activities. In addition, Miguel's wife, Carmen, makes a great breakfast for only $4.

If you are looking for something extravagant, then you will want to look elsewhere. However, if you want a quiet, outdoors feel with just enough comforts and a great price, this place is for you.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guggs222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

My friends and I stayed one night. For the price we paid, it was fine. It's in a natural setting, and it's very quiet. It was fine for a place to sleep one night, have breakfast in the morning and move on. I wouldn't want to stay here multiple nights. The rooms are small and there are no amenities. We had 2 adjacent rooms. One was buggy, the other was not. The breakfast was filling, the owner was very helpful and his wife pleasantly served breakfast. It was in the midst of a lovely area.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hedwig1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,561 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,352 reviews
7.6 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#23 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#16 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,964 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,322 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#7 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cerro Chato Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerro Chato Eco Lodge

Address: Road to Rio Fortuna' waterfall | 3 kms southwest from La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 4417-75, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 74 Speciality Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £33 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cerro Chato Eco Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the base of the Arenal Volcano, Costa Rica (2.5 kms. from La Fortuna, on the road to Catarata Rio's Fortuna and only 15minutes by car from Tabacon's Hot Springs) with a spectacular view of the southeast side of the volcano, we have the advantage of being at a slightly higher altitude than La Fortuna, thus cooler. Also, we are off the main road enough to avoid the sound of grinding gears that are audible from almost all other hotels. The rooms are very spacious (32m2) with 1 double and 1 single bed, a large private bath with hot water, screened windows, ceiling fans, verandas with table and chairs, and landscaped grounds abundant with tropical flowers and birds. Full breakfast, available lunches, horse rental, laundry, internet service and secure parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Cerro Chato Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerro Chato Eco Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Cerro Chato Eco Lodge Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing