We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice, excelent staff!”
Review of San Bosco Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
San Bosco Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 27 March 2011

I stayed in this hotel December, 2010. A staff is excelent, friendly, their English is very good. A nice view is to a volcano from a hotel. A location is good, 3-5 minutes to supermarket, gift shops, restaurants, bank. Hotel offers free internet, coffee, tea near a reception.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marchaLatvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (682)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 682 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2011

I spent the first 2 nights of my trip in La Fortuna and was nervous since we booked the trip only 3 days before and wasn't able to do too much research. SO happy we decided on Hotel San Bosco! For $60 you absolutely cannot beat it. The breakfast was not out of this world, but it was decent and a perfect way to start a day of excursions. Fresh juice and coffee, eggs, beans and fruit? Yes please! The pools, rooms, grounds were all clean and very pretty. The hotel staff was very friendly, they spoke decent English and helped us choose our activities since we came without a plan :). My only word of warning, the majority of businesses in town must make money from recommending certain businesses and establishments, just be aware. No matter how hard people try and sell you on Baldi, no do not buy it. That was my only annoyance with the staff, they apparently did not hear of The Springs Resort which seems absurd and would only recommend Baldi after our first choice eco termales was booked. Outside of that, I wouldn't recommend any other place in town (the other options looked a little run down and meh).

Also, Free Internet and coffee/tea and volcano views from breakfast area!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelsForWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2011

This hotel is centrally located in the charming town of Fortuna, which was a great launching point for our activities over a 2-day period. The view of the volcano from the pool is excellent (on the one day the clouds didn't interfere). Breakfast was very nice, and the rooms were certainly adequate for the price. Although this didn't seem like a dangerous place, the security around the hotel was an added plus.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmasci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2011

Hotel San Bosco is located near the center of town and is in easy walking distance of the town square and restaurants and shops. I would recommend trying Nene's restaurant. It has good food and is reasonably priced. The San Bosco has a swimming pool, 2 hot tubs, hammock, and 2 flat screen computers for free internet access. The included breakfast was good and they will store your valuables at the front desk at no charge. The room was clean and had hot water showers. I booked a special of getting the 4th night free so it worked out to under $50 a night for me which is great value for this place.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adventurer42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

we stayed three nights at this well situated hotel in la fortuna! it's very clean,has secure parking, great staff , quiet and lots of hummingbirds in the morning...has a good view of the volcano!

best place to stay in town!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

No matter how much research you may do to find the perfect hotel, it may still end up being a hit or miss. Fortunately my stay at Hotel San Bosco in La Fortuna, Costa Rica was a out of the ball park hit. And that’s coming from someone who’s not into sports; well maybe curling. The rooms, grounds, dinning and pool areas were well kept. The staff was very professional and hospitable. And most importantly I felt very secure; something I look for when traveling solo. The hotel has a security fence and cameras.

As far as it’s location. It’s no more than ten minutes away from the La Fortuna airport where Nature Air flies. The cost of a cab form the airport to the town of La Fortuna will cost between 5 to 10 US dollars. The hotel is just one block away from the La Fortuna park, stores and sodas with a great view of the volcano.

The one thing I had to get used to is their request for you to NOT put your toilet paper in the toilet but dispose of it in the waste basket. The sewer systems are not advanced in some parts of Costa Rica.

I would have to say if I were to ever get a chance to go back to La Fortuna I would stay at the Hotel San Bosco. I would also recommend this hotel for couples as well as families.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qanddax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2011

I found this little hotel in my search for a place to stay. It basically said clean and cheap so I went with it. The hotel is in a residential neighborhood right in town so restaurants and market is within a block. The staff was A+. They made our reservations for us and suggested other things to do, which hot springs were the best, they were very accomodating. They have breakfast everyday at the hotel which is included with your room, but our last morning we had to catch a bus at 5:30am, so they prepared something for us to go. Just amazing. I even contacted the hotel after our departure and asked them to take a picture of a local sports park where I went running because I wasn't able to capture it myself and they did and emailed it to me. Such friendly service! The rooms were clean and totally fine. I believe this was the cheapest hotel we stayed at on our whole trip, but certainly the most memorable! I would recommend Hotel San Bosco to anyone I knew!

Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
Thank runningfish916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Jardines Arenal
Hotel Jardines Arenal
#37 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
169 reviews
3.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,139 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#8 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,650 reviews
8.5 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#23 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
865 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Fortuna
Hotel La Fortuna
#31 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Bosco Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Bosco Inn

Address: | 100 mts North from La Fortuna Park, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel San Bosco)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#20 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#22 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £34 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — San Bosco Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Bosco Inn, is located in the center of La Fortuna, in the nicest tranquil area of this beautiful charming town, just 15 minutes from the majestic Arenal Volcano.Our strategic location in the town of La Fortuna allows you easy access to all of the services of the area.Our friendly staff is always available to serve you and advise you. We assure our guests an unforgettable stay in La Fortuna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your San Bosco Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Bosco Inn Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing