We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent quality value in la Fortuna”
Review of San Bosco Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Bosco Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lunenburg, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“excellent quality value in la Fortuna”
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Clean rooms, average size, functional features. Very clean pool and jacuzzi. Pleasant open-air breakfast area with volcano view. Nice breakfast buffet.
Good service, friendly, helpful desk. Two computers to get online.
Nice location on quiet side street, easy walking to best restaurants in town, central park, several day trip/ adventure organizers.

Room Tip: all rooms appear to be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank like-mountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    279
    67
    15
    7
See reviews for
118
236
44
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2011

The primary reason why I chose Hotel San Bosco was for its location and cost. For less than $100 a night, you find yourself in the heart of La Fortuna, within walking distance of a supermarket, several good restaurants and a drugstore.

Room: Clean, but not sunny or spacious.

Sound level: There are birds right outside your window, you're close to the street and you can definitely hear your neighbors. If you're a light sleeper, this may be a problem

Bathroom: Again, clean, but the hotel did not have shampoo on conditioner (only some generic soap)

Amenities: The hotel had a pool and free coffee. Theoretically they had a hot tub as well, but the water was cloudy and there were no instructions on how to get it to work.

Breakfast: Free and delicious

Internet Access: Free, not particularly fast, but functional

Staff: While the front desk staff was generally friendly and helpful, they gave us attitude when we tried to book activities with organizations outside of their partner programs

Location: As stated before, the location was the best part of this hotel. Every tour / activity we booked picked us up from the hotel, for free. The hotel has no shuttle service itself, but the staff will hail you a cab if need be. You can also walk two blocks to the center of town to find a cab. Be sure to ask the driver to turn the meter on when you get in, if he doesn't do so automatically

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leaving_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Linn, Oregon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2011

This hotel sits one block off of the main town square, with restaurants and shopping in easy walking distance. It is very reasonably priced, with clean rooms, and very helpful staff. They were excellent and set up two days of activities with no advance notice. They had a nice continental breakfast, and the pool was the perfect place to cool off in the afternoons. This isn't a destination type resort, but served as the perfect base camp to venture forth from.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank micmorganicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2011

I stayed here with a friend for four nights as we took in the local sights. This little hotel is in a great location - it's set a block or two away from La Fortuna's main square, so close enough to all the local restaurants, shops, etc., but far away away to be quiet. The hotel staff, including those at the front desk like Carolina, are happy to help with booking tours and transportation. Daily breakfast is substantial, the hotel also offers free wifi. Rooms are excellent value for the price, comfortable and clean - we even had our housekeeper make little arrangements with our fresh towels each day. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NialaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latvia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2011

I stayed in this hotel December, 2010. A staff is excelent, friendly, their English is very good. A nice view is to a volcano from a hotel. A location is good, 3-5 minutes to supermarket, gift shops, restaurants, bank. Hotel offers free internet, coffee, tea near a reception.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marchaLatvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2011

I spent the first 2 nights of my trip in La Fortuna and was nervous since we booked the trip only 3 days before and wasn't able to do too much research. SO happy we decided on Hotel San Bosco! For $60 you absolutely cannot beat it. The breakfast was not out of this world, but it was decent and a perfect way to start a day of excursions. Fresh juice and coffee, eggs, beans and fruit? Yes please! The pools, rooms, grounds were all clean and very pretty. The hotel staff was very friendly, they spoke decent English and helped us choose our activities since we came without a plan :). My only word of warning, the majority of businesses in town must make money from recommending certain businesses and establishments, just be aware. No matter how hard people try and sell you on Baldi, no do not buy it. That was my only annoyance with the staff, they apparently did not hear of The Springs Resort which seems absurd and would only recommend Baldi after our first choice eco termales was booked. Outside of that, I wouldn't recommend any other place in town (the other options looked a little run down and meh).

Also, Free Internet and coffee/tea and volcano views from breakfast area!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelsForWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopkinton NH
Level Contributor
294 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2011

This hotel is centrally located in the charming town of Fortuna, which was a great launching point for our activities over a 2-day period. The view of the volcano from the pool is excellent (on the one day the clouds didn't interfere). Breakfast was very nice, and the rooms were certainly adequate for the price. Although this didn't seem like a dangerous place, the security around the hotel was an added plus.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmasci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,825 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,439 reviews
3.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#6 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
555 reviews
1.4 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,287 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Bosco Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Bosco Inn

Property: San Bosco Inn
Address: 200 mts North from Gas Station, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel San Bosco)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#20 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#23 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — San Bosco Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Bosco Inn, is located in the center of La Fortuna, in the nicest tranquil area of this beautiful charming town, just 15 minutes from the majestic Arenal Volcano.Our strategic location in the town of La Fortuna allows you easy access to all of the services of the area.Our friendly staff is always available to serve you and advise you. We assure our guests an unforgettable stay in La Fortuna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your San Bosco Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Bosco Inn Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing