We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, outdated hotel”
Review of San Bosco Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Bosco Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Location, outdated hotel”
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We stayed at this hotel during our honeymoon for 3 nights while in La Fortuna. The hotel is in a great location. Close to all the shops, restaurants in La Fortuna and still quiet. We had a great view of the Arenal Volcano from the hotel balcony.

The pool area is nice, lounge chairs, hammock and sitting area. This is also where they serve breakfast which consists of toast, cereal, rice & beans, sometimes eggs and fruit.

The front desk staff were very friendly. They have a safe at the desk where you can leave your things. We used it and had no problems.

Our room was on ground level. There were those small ants in the room... Not a big deal, they didn't seem to bother anything except for the candies we brought that weren't sealed up. The shower was hit and miss. Shower early or late and you'll get warm water. The rooms are small and bedspreads are outdated but it was a place to sleep!

We could also get beach towels from the front desk and took those with us on our excursions or for use by the pool!

We were fortunate enough to actually get to see the whole volcano and crater during the first day we were in La Fortuna. The other 2 days it was so cloudy you wouldn't have know there was a volcano right there!

Overall a good hotel, it was included with our tour package with Desafio. There were a few other nicer hotels outside of town, but this definately had a great location!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank w0rldtravelers037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    276
    66
    15
    8
See reviews for
117
232
42
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmond, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2011

This Hotel was alright but its hard to sleep well with ants walking all over your bed. They leave the windows open all the time so ants can come in whenever they want to. It was very humid but they did have a small air conditioner in the room. The shower heads are ridiculous and they have had the same comforters on the bed for 20 years, unless some factory makes old worn out retro bed comforters for a discount. The girl that checked us in was their best feature but the guy that checked us out tried to scam us on our currency conversion when we went to buy water with American money...luckily we knew the conversion so his scheme didn't work. The breakfast was good, scrambled eggs, cereal, fresh fruit and rice and beans. so, I enjoyed the breakfast and the view was about it. I feel sorry for the dog with mange that lives across the street from the hotel, its owner obviously neglects it. but, that neither here nor there. Try to find something better for your money!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Hotel room was nice, staff were extremely helpful and friendly, good breakfast. Hotel was set back from main square so it was nice and quiet.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

The hotel is very simple but clean. It is very close to downtown and had a great view of the volcano. The staff is very friendly. We stayed in a room with 1 double bed and a twin. Not sure if they have bigger beds but we would have prefered somthing larger. The breakfast was nothing extraordinary but there was a decent selection of items. The pool is small but clean and refreshing. There were two hot tubs. At the time only one was working but it was hot-as all hot tubs should be.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants something clean and simple. We found the prices ($46/night slow season) to be fair. We considered going back to this place but decided to check out different areas.

Room Tip: ask for a queen bed if they have them. Second floor is nicer as there are table and chairs on a balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Everything about this hotel was great -
It's clean, pleasent, very safe and the staff members are all extremely nice and polite!
As they keep a guard at night, I have felt very safe leaving my valuables both inside the room (whenever I had to), and in the hotel's safe. This is true for both night and day time - nothing was stolen or has been tampered with.
Additionally, they have free wifi available in practically every spot in the hotel - even inside the rooms, which was super confortable.
And on top of it all, the pool's and jacuzzies are really nice when the weather is good.
In total, I can honestly say that I had really got my money's worth, and that the hotel has made my stay in La Fortuna a very pleasent one.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d4vidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Hotel San Bosco is located just a block away from the central plaza. The grounds are very pretty, and there is a nice pool and hot tub. Rooms are large, clean and comfy, and there is a porch area with chairs outside each room for relaxing.

I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. There are two desktops available for internet access and the speed was good.

It is hard to imagine a better place in La Fortuna than San Bosco for the price!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bktx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Stayed her for a night and loved the location. Right in the best part of the town and super close to Arenal volcano and hot springs.

The staff are very friendly and nice. The room was perfect - the bathroom was really big. You feel really secure staying here and the parking is nice. The breakfast was delicious with eggs cooked to order.

Will definitely come back again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geckojohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,790 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#6 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
3.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Bosco Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Bosco Inn

Property: San Bosco Inn
Address: 200 mts North from Gas Station, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel San Bosco)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#20 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#23 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — San Bosco Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Bosco Inn, is located in the center of La Fortuna, in the nicest tranquil area of this beautiful charming town, just 15 minutes from the majestic Arenal Volcano.Our strategic location in the town of La Fortuna allows you easy access to all of the services of the area.Our friendly staff is always available to serve you and advise you. We assure our guests an unforgettable stay in La Fortuna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Bosco Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Bosco Inn Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing