We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay!”
Review of San Bosco Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Bosco Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Friendly staff...nice pool...pretty gardens...yummy gallo pinto for breakfast!

San Bosco might not be the closest to the volcano and not every room has a direct view, but this was a very pleasant stay. Just a block from the park, it was an easy walk to sightsee before my hiking trip.

While I did not use the hotel to book tours, they did have a nice selection of options to book once I arrived.

If you are looking for a moderately priced hotel in La Fortuna, San Bosco is it!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraKateMelvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    276
    67
    15
    8
See reviews for
117
234
42
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

This hotel is located in a nice area, close to "downtown". The staff is very friendly and very helpful in locating sight seeing places, restaurant, etc. The facility is little old but clean. The pool is very nice along with the hot tub.

The hotel is not as good as a 4-star resort but I recommend to anyone looking for a good value.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichiganPerson1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Draper, Utah
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Breakfast was great every morning. Freshest cooked to order eggs I have ever enjoyed. Rooms were clean--very clean. Views of the volcano were spectacular from the balconies. The pool area was awesome for the kids 10 and 12. Staff was friendly and helpful. Location was 1 block away from town square and two blocks from main street and grocery store. No, it doesn't have a waterfall shower, and it didn't have all the luxuries of 1st class resort, but it was a great value! I don't want to tell anyone about this hotel because I want to keep it to myself.

Room Tip: Ask for room 32 or 34 because those are the only two rooms on that side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beetdiggercoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

This is a wonderful little hotel that is 1 block off the main busy little square of "downtown" la Fortuna but it is a little slice of paradise. It has excellent security, nice grounds, and a really tasty buffet breakfast which is the ubiquitous gallo pinto, eggs, toast, fresh fruit, etc... The pool is always well maintained and clean. I have been returning for 15 years and they always are improving. One caveat- thin walls and windows so when the birds start waking if you are a light sleeper you will not need an alarm clock. The rooms are small and basic and mattresses reasonable comfortable. This is a great place for an independent traveller relying on public transportation or if you have a rental vehicle (they have secure parking). If you need luxury, look elsewhere. This place is Pura Vida.

Room Tip: 2nd floor near the pool has a nice outdoor sitting area and killer Volcano views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaestroNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I stay at the San Bosco every time I go to La Fortuna. It is a fantastic value with a perfect view of the town and the volcano. The pool is nice, as is the continental breakfast and the location is perfect for walking around the town of La Fortuna.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top so you get the best view of the volcano!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2013

The hotel is clean and comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful. It is only a block from the central square in La Fortuna so it is very convenient for restaurants and other commercial services. On a clear day you can see Arenal Volcano from the front of the hotel. The hotel is very good value for the price and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank WIF_Edmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2013

This was my second stay here in six months. I love being able to wander around the town without hopping in the car.

The rooms are comfortable (but not luxurious), with good air conditioning and television.

The pool and hot tub are nice and the pass-through from the neighboring smoothie place is really convenient.

Breakfast is standard Tico fair with lots of fruit.

It is a nice place to get away and relax. I will go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank TonyNLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,793 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#6 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
3.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Bosco Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Bosco Inn

Property: San Bosco Inn
Address: 200 mts North from Gas Station, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel San Bosco)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#20 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#23 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — San Bosco Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Bosco Inn, is located in the center of La Fortuna, in the nicest tranquil area of this beautiful charming town, just 15 minutes from the majestic Arenal Volcano.Our strategic location in the town of La Fortuna allows you easy access to all of the services of the area.Our friendly staff is always available to serve you and advise you. We assure our guests an unforgettable stay in La Fortuna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Bosco Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Bosco Inn Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing