We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Cheap and Convenient but......"”
Review of San Bosco Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Bosco Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Close to downtown and good restaurants all within a 5 minute walk. (however the hotel is located in a neighborhood and is very noisy from barking dogs and traffic) This place is OK if you are not looking for anything fancy and never plan to be in the room. Lighting is horrible and beds lumpy. Ceilings were moldy and furniture/decor was outdated and sparse.There was a fire the night we got there in a maintenance area and we were evacuated and had to stand outside for hours. If you plan on never being in the room and using hotel as a base for outdoor adventures, then stay here. Luckily, they have a nice pool area with a great hot tub that offers escape from the dingy rooms and a way to soothe tired, aching muscles. There is a laundromat across the street that will do your laundry for very cheap.
Breakfast was OK but there are better places in town to eat (Gecko cafe and LAVA LOUNGE)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (642)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 642 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

San Bosco is one of the better options in La Fortuna if you're trying to save some money for the outdoor activities. The hotel is conveniently located and it's a one block jaunt to get to the main square. The service is outstanding and everyone we spoke to was friendly, helpful and proactive. The breakfast is basic and consists of toast, eggs, beans and some fruit. There is also coffee and juice.

Our room was very basic and consisted of three double beds, a TV, bathroom and a window. Everything here is clean and well cared for, but the property lacks personality and charm. In many ways, it felt like a high end hostel to me.

The pool is well cared for and looks like a nice place to spend some time if it's hot when you're there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel4motion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I got a really good price on this hotel and was a bit skeptical about it based on how cheap it was but I was pleasantly surprised upon arrival. The rooms were clean, the staff was unobtrusive but very friendly and the pool area was nice although we didn't spend much time there other than breakfast (which was very good by the way). The best part about this hotel is its location, it is within walking distance of many shops, restaurants and grocery stores and we felt very safe at all times (even during an 11PM beer run to the local supermarket). The hot spring resorts are about 7-10 minutes away by car and great to spend the day at but I will definitely stay at the San Bosco Inn again the next time I visit Arenal (which I hope is very soon!!).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

The location of this place is great, one street away from the main road with shops and restaurants. The staff was wonderful! The breakfast was great. The room was comfortable and even thou it had two smaller beds- it worked perfectly for us during the weekend nights out. Having the pool and hot tub was great! After the breakfast we'd sit at the table upstairs and enjoy the view of the Arenal volcano. Lovely place!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Marija714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this conveniently located hotel in LaFortuna and were very pleased with the location and cleanliness of the hotel. The room was basic, but absolutely spotless and the grounds were well maintained. The staff was very friendly and accommodating and willing to work to book tours and answer questions. The pool and hot tub were appealing and you could see the volcano sitting in the pool chairs. The hotel is wonderfully located and you can easily walk all over La Fortuna. Overall, a good bang for your buck!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlo678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We booked this hotel because of its central location. It is on a quiet road and only one block from the centre with access to many restaurants and shops. The rooms are simple but very clean with air conditioning and a ceiling fan. The beds are comfortable and the breakfast of eggs, fruit, rice ,toast fruit juice and coffee is a very good quality and gives a good start to the day in a lovely setting. The pool is an additional bonus and is sparklingly clean. Wonderful after a long walk up a volcano. The young staff are very friendly and extremely helpful. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VivMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Well placed with clean rooms, a lovely pool and Jacuzzi, The laundry opposite was a life saver after the humidity of Tortuguero and we were able to get our smelly clothes washed and dried in 2 hours! They also cleaned our filthy muddy boots after a particularly gruelling hike. The breakfast was adequate but not brilliant, the staff helpful and friendly. Wifi by the reception with coffee available close by, Nice atmosphere and would recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,965 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,562 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,353 reviews
8.5 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#23 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
829 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Fortuna
Hotel La Fortuna
#32 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Bosco Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Bosco Inn

Address: 200 mts North from Gas Station, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel San Bosco)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#20 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#23 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £26 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — San Bosco Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Bosco Inn, is located in the center of La Fortuna, in the nicest tranquil area of this beautiful charming town, just 15 minutes from the majestic Arenal Volcano.Our strategic location in the town of La Fortuna allows you easy access to all of the services of the area.Our friendly staff is always available to serve you and advise you. We assure our guests an unforgettable stay in La Fortuna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Bosco Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Bosco Inn Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing