We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay in La Fortuna”
Review of San Bosco Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
San Bosco Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 19 February 2011

Hotel San Bosco is located near the center of town and is in easy walking distance of the town square and restaurants and shops. I would recommend trying Nene's restaurant. It has good food and is reasonably priced. The San Bosco has a swimming pool, 2 hot tubs, hammock, and 2 flat screen computers for free internet access. The included breakfast was good and they will store your valuables at the front desk at no charge. The room was clean and had hot water showers. I booked a special of getting the 4th night free so it worked out to under $50 a night for me which is great value for this place.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adventurer42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (682)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 682 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2011

we stayed three nights at this well situated hotel in la fortuna! it's very clean,has secure parking, great staff , quiet and lots of hummingbirds in the morning...has a good view of the volcano!

best place to stay in town!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

No matter how much research you may do to find the perfect hotel, it may still end up being a hit or miss. Fortunately my stay at Hotel San Bosco in La Fortuna, Costa Rica was a out of the ball park hit. And that’s coming from someone who’s not into sports; well maybe curling. The rooms, grounds, dinning and pool areas were well kept. The staff was very professional and hospitable. And most importantly I felt very secure; something I look for when traveling solo. The hotel has a security fence and cameras.

As far as it’s location. It’s no more than ten minutes away from the La Fortuna airport where Nature Air flies. The cost of a cab form the airport to the town of La Fortuna will cost between 5 to 10 US dollars. The hotel is just one block away from the La Fortuna park, stores and sodas with a great view of the volcano.

The one thing I had to get used to is their request for you to NOT put your toilet paper in the toilet but dispose of it in the waste basket. The sewer systems are not advanced in some parts of Costa Rica.

I would have to say if I were to ever get a chance to go back to La Fortuna I would stay at the Hotel San Bosco. I would also recommend this hotel for couples as well as families.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qanddax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2011

I found this little hotel in my search for a place to stay. It basically said clean and cheap so I went with it. The hotel is in a residential neighborhood right in town so restaurants and market is within a block. The staff was A+. They made our reservations for us and suggested other things to do, which hot springs were the best, they were very accomodating. They have breakfast everyday at the hotel which is included with your room, but our last morning we had to catch a bus at 5:30am, so they prepared something for us to go. Just amazing. I even contacted the hotel after our departure and asked them to take a picture of a local sports park where I went running because I wasn't able to capture it myself and they did and emailed it to me. Such friendly service! The rooms were clean and totally fine. I believe this was the cheapest hotel we stayed at on our whole trip, but certainly the most memorable! I would recommend Hotel San Bosco to anyone I knew!

Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
Thank runningfish916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2010

We stayed here and loved it. Love the balcony chairs overlooking the property. Price was outstanding... $68 for 2 people for 2 beds. One block off the main street. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cindirtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2010

Stayed here on two occasions and found the rooms and staff very pleasant. The hotel has a small pool and two jacuzzis and also has free tea and coffee making facilities near them. The hotel is 2 minutes walk from the town centre and is at the base of Arenal volcano where if youre lucky, spectacular views can be seen at sunset from the pool area. Rooms were clean and compact. The hotel just needs to review its silly ticket system for breakfast in the morning which can be a right pain if you have to dash over to reception during a heavy downpour!!

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ref0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2010

If I ever come back I am staying here. The hotel is clean, safe, and centrally located. There is a parking lot right in front with a 24 hour security person there. The reception desk is open till 10pm. There is coffee and tea in the reception whenever you want. There are 2 computers in the reception for use anytime you want. There is also wifi in the rooms but its kinda spotty which is my only complaint. The wifi does definitely work in the pool/jacuzzi area which is open 24 hours and the walkways outside of the rooms - theres a nice table and chairs area. One night after a long hike, I sat in the jacuzzi and placed my laptop on the edge and typed a few emails to home. The breakfast was great!! rice, fruit, fresh fruit, fresh juice, french toast, eggs to order, potatos, toast, coffee, and plantains. All buffet style.

There is a laundry right across the street which we used after a particularly long and dirty hike. And of course the central park is 1 block away with all the restaurants, ice cream shop, souvenir shop, banco national, etc. I would recommend you walk to the plaza and continue until you get to the corner at the end of the plaza and make a left at that corner. For 2 blocks there are some great interesting local foods. Also check out the supermarket for stuff like drinks, snacks, and shorts if you forgot your swimtrunks.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WineCheeseChocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Jardines Arenal
Hotel Jardines Arenal
#37 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
169 reviews
3.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,139 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#8 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,650 reviews
8.5 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#23 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
865 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Fortuna
Hotel La Fortuna
#31 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Bosco Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Bosco Inn

Address: | 100 mts North from La Fortuna Park, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel San Bosco)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#20 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#22 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £34 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — San Bosco Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Bosco Inn, is located in the center of La Fortuna, in the nicest tranquil area of this beautiful charming town, just 15 minutes from the majestic Arenal Volcano.Our strategic location in the town of La Fortuna allows you easy access to all of the services of the area.Our friendly staff is always available to serve you and advise you. We assure our guests an unforgettable stay in La Fortuna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your San Bosco Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Bosco Inn Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing