We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High standard hotel with affordable price”
Review of Hotel La Fortuna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel La Fortuna
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“High standard hotel with affordable price”
Reviewed 15 March 2010

Hi,

We were traveling across Costa Rica last week. Our package deal included 2 nights in "Hotel La Fortuna".

We were first not convinced about the quality of this place as it was not mentioned in Lonely Planet + did not find any review / comment online about that place, but the travel agent said it was because the hotel had been re-opened after renovation.
When we got there, we were delighted to see the hotel exceeded our expectations. A lot of places in Costa Rica call themselves hotel but are actually hostels. Hotel La Fortuna is an hotel that would easily be rated 3*/4* in Western European countries,

The place is right in the centre of la Fortuna nearby restaurants, supermarkets, tour operators and in front of an affordable laundry that can wash your clothes within 2 hours (very useful after adventure activities). There is an elevator, rooms are reasonable size with TV, air-conditioning and VERY clean. You even can get a room with the view on the Arenal volcano! Also, staff is very helpful and friendly.
Another advantage is that the internet is free for hotel guests. A lot of hotels with that level of standard charge about $1 for 30mins usage.

The only downside is that nights are not always calm but this is because of the hotel location.

Cheers,

BV,

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BVNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    220
    80
    20
    6
See reviews for
57
188
98
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Bay
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2010

We enjoyed our stay here very much. It was nice to be right in the middle of town and have access to all the restaurants, the art shops, and the central park. The hotel was clean, the staff were very friendly, and the room provided a great view of the Arenal volcano.

We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petvet069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2010

Flying solo is not my idea of vacation.. but hey, i survived in costa rica... Hotel La Fortuna gave me the confidence.. they are very welcoming... the place is very clean.. very convenient to a lot of various resto, bar, transportation, souvenir shops... Jose and Mandrique will be your bestfriends..they are very helpful.. Thanks guys for encouraging me to do canyoning and rafting, twas an awesoem experience...

I recommend this place to evrybody. Though they are new, they still have room for improvement but its worth your money and experience...

Pura Vida

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krissy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2010

We traveled to the area to see the volcano and other sites in the area. Throughout our stay it rained and we were not able to see the volcano. However, we just loved being there and we liked our hotel. The hotel Fortuna is aiming to represent an environmentally conscious establishment and as such it is built in a rugged and basic way. The main necessities can be found, including internet access. Our room did not have a phone and a dresser; instead it had a basic wood structure for placing items on. Beds were comfortable.We liked the location which was right in the center of Fortuna. We took taxis to various places which was quite convenient. The food in the restaurant was OK. Staff was more than pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelWorldSeeWithin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, FL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2010

Service was good, rates were reasonable, food was good and the view of the Arenal volcano cannot be beat. Also located right in the middle of town so walking to anywhere in town is easy. Website is:http://www.lafortunahotel.com

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2010

I could not believe how great this hotel is for the price. Clean rooms,friendly staff,& excellent location. I had a great view of Arenal Volcano from my room. I was a 63 yr old solo female traveler. I had read some reviws & booked directly from their site. Close to shops & restaurants. Every one I met so friendly & helpful. Wonderful little community. Clean hotel .

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capey46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2010

Hotel Fortuna is centrally located in the town of La Fortuna, one block from the park and church , you can walk to everthing, so it's ideal if you don't have your own wheels. Fortuna is situated on the green side of the volcano, so don't expect to get a lava view from here, but many tours can arrange it. The Arenal National Park itself is about a 10 - 15 minute drive from the town, but when and if, the cloud lifts from the peak of the vocano you can see it from just about anywhere.
The four storey hotel itself is only about two years old and so is up to modern standards and building codes and is very well kept, so you really can't go wrong here, and they pride themselves on being completely wheelchair accessible. The value here was excellent, we paid only $65 per night for three adults in a double room on the third floor with a volcano view, and that included a continental breakfast of toast, fruit plate and coffee, which was served in the bar / restaurant on the ground floor. They had a jazz band performing here one one evening which was very loud in our room, but they were finished by 10pm, so it did not cause us any problem.
Rooms at Hotel Fortuna are bright and clean, the bathrooms are spacious, though the room itself could have been slightly larger. They all have cable TV, A/C and sliding glass doors that open onto a half balcony. Though surrounded by busy streets, the outside noise did not bother us at all in the room with the door closed and the A/C on.
The only negative here, if there is one, is that the place lacks local flavour and ambiance and feels more like a Holiday Inn or Best Western, but even so, now looking back at our three week stay in C.R. in which we traveled around and stayed at several different hotels, this place was one of my favorites and I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scoobabums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.3 mi away
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#29 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#19 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Fortuna
Hotel Villa Fortuna
#37 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Arenal Rossi
Hotel Arenal Rossi
#39 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Jardines Arenal
Hotel Jardines Arenal
#36 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Bosco Inn
San Bosco Inn
#17 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fortuna

Property: Hotel La Fortuna
Address: 1 block south and 1 block east from La Fortuna Park, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 60 Hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Fortuna 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A uniquely designed building and an excellent location, make our hotel stands out in La Fortuna downtown. We have a central area extending up all five floors, with interior balconies looking down to the lobby, creating a sense of openness and freshness. Our lobby area provides computers with free Internet and wireless. Ample and comfortable seating is perfect to relax while you enjoy our well-stocked English books exchange.Just a couple of blocks away, you can find supermarkets, drugstores, restaurants, bars, souvenir shops and everything you need for having a good vacation.And if you are looking for more relaxation or adventure, we offer you a tourist information desk inside the hotel with convenient prices for the guests. Parking lot is free and exclusive for our visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Fortuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fortuna Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing