We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service in a clean Comfortable Hotel in the middle of the City”
Review of Hotel La Fortuna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Fortuna
Reviewed 26 March 2010

Balcony rooms on the front have a great view of the Arenal valcano. The 2 young guys that work at the front desk (Manrique and Jose )are freindly and a great help for advice and conversation. They even repaired a pair of glasses for us.

The hotel is new , clear and in a great location to walk around the city.

Roger
Houston Texas

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rbumhouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

389 - 395 of 522 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2010

We settled on the La Fortuna Hotel, because of its price - $15 more per night than the hostel. We weren't expecting much, but they delivered on everything. The rooms were clean, spacious, well-lit (which was not our experience in other hotels), and comfortable. In fact, the beds were probably the most comfortable we slept in during our entire trip. For your reference, that is in comparison with the beds in the Quetzal Inn in Monteverde, Verde Mar Hotel in Manuel Antonio, and the Adventure Inn located just outside San Jose. The last two places are supposed to be a little more upscale, but the beds sucked.

As far as location goes, we were 1/2 a block from the main street. But our room was always quiet. A lot of other hotels advertise that they are in La Fortuna, but are actually a 15 minute drive from the nearest restaurant. Not this hotel. We were half a block away from all the good food and attractions in the town.

The service was great except they don't have a safe in the room (most hotels don't), otherwise, it was the best you could ask for. The waiter, the desk clerk, the maids were all friendly and happy to help. We made friends with the desk boy and he told us the best restaurant to eat at where the locals eat - not the tourists.

And for all the environment friendly people out there, this is one of the most environment friendly hotels out there. They are in the process of becoming green certified (or whatever the Costa Rican equivalent is). This means, you cannot flush toilet paper down the toilet in order to help them filter it for gray water. Instead, you put the toilet paper into a closed lid garbage receptacle and it doesn't stink up the room. Other than that, you don't even notice any inconvenience.

Oh. And free internet and wifi. And the best connections we had in all of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdventureFiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010

Hi,

We were traveling across Costa Rica last week. Our package deal included 2 nights in "Hotel La Fortuna".

We were first not convinced about the quality of this place as it was not mentioned in Lonely Planet + did not find any review / comment online about that place, but the travel agent said it was because the hotel had been re-opened after renovation.
When we got there, we were delighted to see the hotel exceeded our expectations. A lot of places in Costa Rica call themselves hotel but are actually hostels. Hotel La Fortuna is an hotel that would easily be rated 3*/4* in Western European countries,

The place is right in the centre of la Fortuna nearby restaurants, supermarkets, tour operators and in front of an affordable laundry that can wash your clothes within 2 hours (very useful after adventure activities). There is an elevator, rooms are reasonable size with TV, air-conditioning and VERY clean. You even can get a room with the view on the Arenal volcano! Also, staff is very helpful and friendly.
Another advantage is that the internet is free for hotel guests. A lot of hotels with that level of standard charge about $1 for 30mins usage.

The only downside is that nights are not always calm but this is because of the hotel location.

Cheers,

BV,

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BVNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2010

We enjoyed our stay here very much. It was nice to be right in the middle of town and have access to all the restaurants, the art shops, and the central park. The hotel was clean, the staff were very friendly, and the room provided a great view of the Arenal volcano.

We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petvet069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2010

Flying solo is not my idea of vacation.. but hey, i survived in costa rica... Hotel La Fortuna gave me the confidence.. they are very welcoming... the place is very clean.. very convenient to a lot of various resto, bar, transportation, souvenir shops... Jose and Mandrique will be your bestfriends..they are very helpful.. Thanks guys for encouraging me to do canyoning and rafting, twas an awesoem experience...

I recommend this place to evrybody. Though they are new, they still have room for improvement but its worth your money and experience...

Pura Vida

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krissy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2010

We traveled to the area to see the volcano and other sites in the area. Throughout our stay it rained and we were not able to see the volcano. However, we just loved being there and we liked our hotel. The hotel Fortuna is aiming to represent an environmentally conscious establishment and as such it is built in a rugged and basic way. The main necessities can be found, including internet access. Our room did not have a phone and a dresser; instead it had a basic wood structure for placing items on. Beds were comfortable.We liked the location which was right in the center of Fortuna. We took taxis to various places which was quite convenient. The food in the restaurant was OK. Staff was more than pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelWorldSeeWithin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2010

Service was good, rates were reasonable, food was good and the view of the Arenal volcano cannot be beat. Also located right in the middle of town so walking to anywhere in town is easy. Website is:http://www.lafortunahotel.com

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RLC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.1 mi away
San Bosco Inn
San Bosco Inn
#17 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
642 reviews
0.3 mi away
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#30 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#22 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Hotel Vista del Cerro
#36 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
244 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#7 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
576 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Jardines Arenal
Hotel Jardines Arenal
#37 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fortuna

Address: 1 block south and 1 block east from La Fortuna Park, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £26 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Fortuna 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A uniquely designed building and an excellent location, make our hotel stands out in La Fortuna downtown. We have a central area extending up all five floors, with interior balconies looking down to the lobby, creating a sense of openness and freshness. Our lobby area provides computers with free Internet and wireless. Ample and comfortable seating is perfect to relax while you enjoy our well-stocked English books exchange.Just a couple of blocks away, you can find supermarkets, drugstores, restaurants, bars, souvenir shops and everything you need for having a good vacation.And if you are looking for more relaxation or adventure, we offer you a tourist information desk inside the hotel with convenient prices for the guests. Parking lot is free and exclusive for our visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Fortuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fortuna Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing