We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The design of this hotel is truly captivating in its beauty”
Review of Hotel La Fortuna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Fortuna
Reviewed 14 April 2010

The view from this hotel is amazing. You are able to perfectly see Volcano Arenal from the Hotel. The hotel is also modern and has an open floor plan which adds to the relaxing ambiance of this wonderful hotel. Staying at this hotel really helped me to enjoy my visit in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

385 - 391 of 521 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2010

My boyfriend and I travelled to Fortuna a day before planned. We booked one night at Hotel La Fortuna, as we had already arranged the following three nights at another hotel. Once we checked in we were so pleased to see how accommodating and friendly Enrique at reception was. And how nice and clean the hotel was. The room was comfortable and had a great view.
The next day, we sadly said goodbye to Enrique and walked to our next hotel. When we saw our new room, we grabbed our bags thanked the lady, and ran back to Hotel La Fortuna, where Enrique graciously checked us back in for the remainder of our stay in Fortuna. That should tell you right there, how awesome Hotel La Fortuna was. Its the best choice for the price and location.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohannaTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

If you're looking for a clean, reliable place to stay with American style, this place is good. The owner is great, very friendly. The whole place is completely handicapped freindly, if you're looking for that. I definitely suggest it.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puncle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2010

The family that owns Hotel La Fortuna is very nice and helpful. They answer all questions and will help you find anything around La Fortuna or Arenal. The location of the hotel is right in the middle of La Fortuna so easy access to the bus station, taxis, resturants, stores, park. Rooms were a little small and shower curtain didn´t work so bathroom flooded a little everytime we showered. Beds were also a little hard. But continental breakfast in the morning, air conditioning, and cleanliness made it worm the $70 a night.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauragray14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2010

Balcony rooms on the front have a great view of the Arenal valcano. The 2 young guys that work at the front desk (Manrique and Jose )are freindly and a great help for advice and conversation. They even repaired a pair of glasses for us.

The hotel is new , clear and in a great location to walk around the city.

Roger
Houston Texas

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rbumhouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2010

We settled on the La Fortuna Hotel, because of its price - $15 more per night than the hostel. We weren't expecting much, but they delivered on everything. The rooms were clean, spacious, well-lit (which was not our experience in other hotels), and comfortable. In fact, the beds were probably the most comfortable we slept in during our entire trip. For your reference, that is in comparison with the beds in the Quetzal Inn in Monteverde, Verde Mar Hotel in Manuel Antonio, and the Adventure Inn located just outside San Jose. The last two places are supposed to be a little more upscale, but the beds sucked.

As far as location goes, we were 1/2 a block from the main street. But our room was always quiet. A lot of other hotels advertise that they are in La Fortuna, but are actually a 15 minute drive from the nearest restaurant. Not this hotel. We were half a block away from all the good food and attractions in the town.

The service was great except they don't have a safe in the room (most hotels don't), otherwise, it was the best you could ask for. The waiter, the desk clerk, the maids were all friendly and happy to help. We made friends with the desk boy and he told us the best restaurant to eat at where the locals eat - not the tourists.

And for all the environment friendly people out there, this is one of the most environment friendly hotels out there. They are in the process of becoming green certified (or whatever the Costa Rican equivalent is). This means, you cannot flush toilet paper down the toilet in order to help them filter it for gray water. Instead, you put the toilet paper into a closed lid garbage receptacle and it doesn't stink up the room. Other than that, you don't even notice any inconvenience.

Oh. And free internet and wifi. And the best connections we had in all of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdventureFiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010

Hi,

We were traveling across Costa Rica last week. Our package deal included 2 nights in "Hotel La Fortuna".

We were first not convinced about the quality of this place as it was not mentioned in Lonely Planet + did not find any review / comment online about that place, but the travel agent said it was because the hotel had been re-opened after renovation.
When we got there, we were delighted to see the hotel exceeded our expectations. A lot of places in Costa Rica call themselves hotel but are actually hostels. Hotel La Fortuna is an hotel that would easily be rated 3*/4* in Western European countries,

The place is right in the centre of la Fortuna nearby restaurants, supermarkets, tour operators and in front of an affordable laundry that can wash your clothes within 2 hours (very useful after adventure activities). There is an elevator, rooms are reasonable size with TV, air-conditioning and VERY clean. You even can get a room with the view on the Arenal volcano! Also, staff is very helpful and friendly.
Another advantage is that the internet is free for hotel guests. A lot of hotels with that level of standard charge about $1 for 30mins usage.

The only downside is that nights are not always calm but this is because of the hotel location.

Cheers,

BV,

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BVNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.1 mi away
San Bosco Inn
San Bosco Inn
#18 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
642 reviews
0.3 mi away
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#30 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#23 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Hotel Vista del Cerro
#36 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
244 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#7 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
577 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Jardines Arenal
Hotel Jardines Arenal
#37 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fortuna

Address: 1 block south and 1 block east from La Fortuna Park, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £26 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Fortuna 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A uniquely designed building and an excellent location, make our hotel stands out in La Fortuna downtown. We have a central area extending up all five floors, with interior balconies looking down to the lobby, creating a sense of openness and freshness. Our lobby area provides computers with free Internet and wireless. Ample and comfortable seating is perfect to relax while you enjoy our well-stocked English books exchange.Just a couple of blocks away, you can find supermarkets, drugstores, restaurants, bars, souvenir shops and everything you need for having a good vacation.And if you are looking for more relaxation or adventure, we offer you a tourist information desk inside the hotel with convenient prices for the guests. Parking lot is free and exclusive for our visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Fortuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fortuna Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing