We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay”
Review of Hotel Las Colinas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Las Colinas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A good place to stay”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Stayed one night only as a break-up trip between Tamarindo on the Pacific side and Cahuita on the Caribbean side. It is smack in the center of the town, thankfully it has the outdoor patio where you can see the volcano. The restaurant across the street is good and good value for the money spent. The owners are very kind and their kid speaks English well!

The rooms are large, clean and the beds are comfortable. We walked to La Fortuna waterfall, about 5 km each way and it was a nice afternoon excursion.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdaPia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flower1989, Owner at Hotel Las Colinas, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Thanks for you nice review!
is nice to know than you enjoy our hotel and you stay in La Fortuna, our town is small and is so rich in nature like the waterfall, rivers, national parks and of course all the nature and adventure activities for all people!!
Only in la Fortuna you are able to do raft safari, visit Arenal Volcano, Tenorio and caño negro national refuge and parks in one day, canopy, ATV, canyoneering,rafting, stand up paddling, kayaking, birdwatching, frogs tours... Volunteering services, organic and reforestation projects between others.
Definatly one the palces to visit in Costa Rica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    188
    67
    20
    5
See reviews for
78
215
53
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Hotel Las Colinas has a wonderful view of the Arenal Volcano. Our room had a direct view out our front window. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We had AC which was very important as it was very hot in La Fortuna. Our room was clean and comfortable, but because we were in the center of town and on a main street, it was very noisy. We also could hear a lot of noise from the second story patio outside our room. The breakfast was mediocre.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flower1989, Owner at Hotel Las Colinas, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Thank you for your review!
We are glad you got good views from our balconyes rooms, and than our services works well for you!!
Our location is great for poeple who want to have all services close and yes could be a little noisy during the day.
What we try to do, is always ask the hotel guests than stays in the terrace area to keep silence after 10 pm, so the rest of the guest than are already in their rooms can rest easily!
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We arrived late afternoon with 2 kids, check in process was simple and efficient. Staff was friendly although not too forthcoming with information, specifically about parking. When we asked at check-in if there was parking for the hotel, the reception said just park on the street and that they've never had any problems before (anyone who knows Costa Rica, knows that nobody ever leaves a car parked on the street overnight). When we arrived back after dinner, we found out that there was a hotel parking lot right across the street for the VERY modest sum of $5 a night. We couldn't figure out why they didn't mention it before. Good breakfast included in price of room. Not cheap, but better than other options we saw in similar price range.

Room Tip: Third Floor is above the "roof-top" patio area, less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmcccr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flower1989, Owner at Hotel Las Colinas, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Thank you for your review!
Is good than you mencioned, because yes, la Fortuna is in Costa Rica, but still being very safe, safe to walk arround, and to park on the streets.
We have an arrange with the parking lot accross the street, so one choice is to park in the street where we have a security guard full night and security camaras, or pay the $5 and uses the parking lot across the street.

Very sorry than the clerk did´nt explain you well all the options, thanks to your review, we are putting more attention and we are explian both choices!

Thank you, we keep improving thanks to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

After fighting insane Friday traffic on the Interamerican Highway and Highway 142 all day, the promise of a well-rated hotel in La Fortuna sounded great. Upon arrival, the exterior (particularly the balcony, canopied with blooming orchids) looked promising. Check-in went smoothly enough, and all seemed well.

However, once we got into our room, we were assailed with an odor that can only be described as a combination of a high school locker room combined with a pile of souring, wet towels. Even turning on the air conditioning made little difference. We probably should have made a fuss but were too tired.

Breakfast was pretty skimpy (only 1 egg and no gallo pinto) but prepared well and tasty enough, but checking out was a pain. Either the computer was down or the clerk was inexperienced, so it took longer than seemed reasonable. Another customer behind us in line was nearly frantic, as it looked as if he'd miss his tour bus.

We'd like to re-visit the town and surrounding area but will definately find other lodging!

Room Tip: Find a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeadingOut98229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flower1989, General Manager at Hotel Las Colinas, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Thank you for your review, we realized than during the rainy days, (because the 100% of humidity) is better to leave the rooms opened, so the humidity don´t get into the room.

About the check out, we still remember that day, because the computer was not working at all, and the billing system neather. The clerk was really the hotel owner with more than 25 years of experienced but very embarrass about the situation....because she wasn´t able to make checkouts or using the credit card machine, so, yes, it is true it was a pain, but, it was awful also for us!
The same day, the computer technic came to fix the computer, so at the end we had to change the PC memory and to add another hardware.... now, everything is fine!!

Very sorry for all the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

It is a very nice experience! Its the best hotel that we stay in Costa Rica, one thing to improve will be the wifi signal, but generally the hotel is ok! the Service is the best!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pabloechava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flower1989, Owner at Hotel Las Colinas, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Thank you ... and Wow, being the best hotel in Costa Rica for you is so great, THANK YOU!!

Well, good news, we already upgrade our WI-FI Signal, we decided to put a outdoord antena in the mittle of the terrace area, so NOW all the rooms, corridors,areas and balconies of our hotel have an excellent signal and faster also.
Very happy to make this improvement, thank you for your advise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Very nice people running this hotel, useful location and good prices on the rooms. Street noise gets a little loud in the morning, but this place IS in the middle of town, so I can't really complain. The breakfast was pretty decent as well. I miss gallo pinto.

Would definitely recommend this place. I already miss their friendly faces.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flower1989, Owner at Hotel Las Colinas, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Is very nice from you to take the time to write this review, we really appreciated!!
Thank you !!
All the family comes to make a the difference every day, so if you like it... is not a job !
That is why we receive guest from all parts of the world every day and it make us feel happy, proud and try to improve every day!
You must came back to Costa Rica to taste Gallo pInto one more time!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

This is a very clean, comfortable, brilliantly located, and accommodating hotel. The employees are very very nice and GO OUT OF THEIR WAY to make you feel at home. For example, when my girlfriend and I stayed there for several days, they upgraded us to a very nice room merely because we stayed there for an extended period of time.

Also, there patio has an amazing view of the volcano!

Room Tip: Ask for the one on the balcony facing the volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flower1989, Owner at Hotel Las Colinas, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Thank you for your lovely review!!!
It make us feel very proud about our job and our service, we are a family run bussines so makes you feel like home, means makes you feel like part of our family !
The terrace area was our best idea during the remodel progect, as our sustainable dedication like to uses Solar Enegy for the showers and all the architecture decision we have made so the guest can enjoy beautifully Arenal Volcano views, open corridors and green plants all over the hotel!
Very happy than you have enjoy your stay!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
8.5 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#21 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
819 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,508 reviews
3.6 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,432 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#7 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
571 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Colinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Colinas

Property: Hotel Las Colinas
Address: Calle 468, entre Avenida 325 y Ruta 142 | Half a block from the central park, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Las Colinas 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Colinas Arenal Hoteleco-friendly accommodation, Arenal Volcano, Costa Rica Las Colinas Arenal Hotel offers quality accommodation and all the facilities of a small hotel. We are an eco-friendly, family run hotel. Located only 1 block away from La Fortuna central park and 10 minutes driving from the famous Arenal Volcano, our hotel combines the truly local hospitality with the lovely natural attractions.Our accommodation provides comfortable en-suite rooms all with Wi- Fi access, Cable television, Decor stylish Eco-rooms and an open-air terrace offering a refreshing volcano view. To complete a relaxing stay we can also offer in-house beauty treatments.From us you can visit the Arenal Volcano Hot Springs, the Volcano itself, interesting attractions the Fortuna Waterfalls, the hanging bridges or enjoy the adventure tours as zip-lines, horseback ridings, raftings or rappelling and much more.Las Colinas Arenal Hotel is conveniently situated to visit both tourist attractions and shops. We are minutes walk from center; Enjoy a walk into town to get immerse in the typical life of La Fortuna.Flor and Ivette are the proprietors of this family run hotel and have many years experience in tourism and hotels and will personally supervise all your arrangements during your holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Las Colinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Colinas Hotel
Hotel Las Colinas Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing