We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Las Colinas
Nearby Hotels
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$273
US$264
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano Lodge & Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$200
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$531
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$499
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$290
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lavas del Arenal(La Fortuna de San Carlos)(Great Value!)
US$226
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$127
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$554
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$123
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (515)
Filter reviews
515 results
Traveller rating
206
204
73
23
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
206
204
73
23
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla fortunaarenal volcanofriendly hotelg adventures tourcentral locationlarge supermarketfirst floora family run hotelno elevatorcosta ricarainforest cafehot waterrestaurants and shopsprivate balconybreakfast was includedlocation is greatsan jose
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
265 - 270 of 515 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Las Colinas is a small family-run hotel. Service was extremely friendly and efficient, excellent English was spoken, rooms were very comfortable and everything worked well ( including shower with reliable hot water).An unbeatable view of the volcano from the terrace and from some of the rooms. On a quiet street but the main shopping strip is just at the end of the street. Helpful advice and efficient booking of tours and shuttle bus. Altogether I highly recommend Las Colinas. Across the road is "Restaurant Y Soda Viquez" which I strongly recommend for good, authentic Costa Rican food at a good price and with very welcoming and warm service.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catherine p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flower1989, Owner at Hotel Las Colinas, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!
We are so happy to recieive this great review!!!
We really are happy than our hotel, services and attention were good for you, this reviews help us to keep proud and keep improving our services to be better every day!!!

Thank you ver y much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

The main reason this has been given a 5 is because of the staff; they are really excellent!

The room, was nice, nothing wrong with it, a touch impersonal, but it was certainly comfortable. The food the provide is very good; but as said before the staff make it a 5. They were so helpful, in booking activities for us they can't be faulted.

This is not really a b&b it is a hotel that offers breakfast, but our stay was pleasant, and the rooms are clean and a good size. We were fortunate enough to get upgraded, so we did have a good room with a view of the volcano.

If you are looking for a cosy, quaint establishment, this isn't your place, but if you are looking for a comfortable place to sleep and get some down time, Las Colinas is your place. It is also located in the middle of town so this also helps.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flower1989, Owner at Hotel Las Colinas, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

Thank you so much!!!
We feel very proud of our job to know than you give us 5 stars in guest service!!!
Thats really great, we are a real flocal and costarican family hotel, where mother, sons and daughter woks together to offer you the best we can give and a little more!!!

Thank you for your review, it really helps!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

we spent 2 nights at Las Colinas. We were out most of the day bit came back to a very comfortable terrace where we enjoyed our Imperial. Yvette was very helpful with tours and directions. Price was well worth it. Breakfast was very good as well.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank agurranimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flower1989, Owner at Hotel Las Colinas, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

Thank you very much for your review!!
We are glad than you have enjoy your stay in our hotel!

For our family is very important to help our guest with tips and directions, La Fortuna is our town so we have all the information to help you to enjoy your time!!
Please, feel free to ask for any information before, during and after your stay with us!
Thanks!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I'm female and was traveling solo on this trip so was looking to find a clean, safe and central location. I booked an economy room away from the street. Beware that the economy rooms have only enough room to just walk around the bed - I was barely able to open and access my suitcase. That said, the room was clean and the hotel is centrally located in town with an outdoor terrace with a view of the volcano (unfortunately, it was dormant when I was there). The two big issues I had: 1) the shower wasn't working properly and although I reported it, it did not get fixed during my 2-night stay; 2) I was ripped off on a tour I signed up for as I was quoted a higher price than that listed in the activity booklet and when I pointed it out was still not accommodated but told prices changed. However, I found out that the listed prices were even higher than what others on the tour who had booked elsewhere paid. I would not recommend booking any tours through the hotel!! For these reasons, I am rating the service and value as Poor.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMSF1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flower1989, Owner at Hotel Las Colinas, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Thank you for your review!
We are going to take care about this issues, it is not like we normally work and we are very sorry for this.
The only think about tours, is than some tour desk offer better rates than others, for example could be than a tour operator offers a better rate to a good seller.In our case, we have very good agreements with the tour operator in the area, but speccially with those certicated in Sustainable Tourism and those than we are sure than works with excellence and have all insurances in order.
Thank you, beccause these details are the reason why we improve every day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Small family run hotel in a centeral position in La Fortuna. We had a fantastic view of the volcano from our room 27, as there is from the large communal balcony. The friendly, helpful staff gave advice and organised excellent excursions. Our room was clean, comfortable with maid service giving attention to detail. There was a good, well presented breakfast in a downstairs dining area. Situated on a fairly quiet side road within a few minutes walk to the bus station, large supermarket and town centre. Very close to excellent coffee shops and eating establishments. Highly recommended hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the volcano.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flower1989, Owner at Hotel Las Colinas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Thank you very much for your beautifull review!

We are glad to know than you have a good stay with us and a fantastic view from our balcony!!
Part of our service is to offer the possibility to reserve tours from our front desk and add them to the bill, so the guests can pay once all together, which is easy and cheaper for them.
Breakfast is very important and a member of the family put a little touch in every meal!
Thank you to choose our hotel!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews