We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right down Town”
Review of Hotel Las Colinas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Las Colinas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 6 March 2013

The good / bad news is this is right down town. Therefore it is a very easy walk to everything, but there will be a little traffic noise(nothing like San Jose though).
This is a family owned hotel, Been in the family for 25 years now and you can see they take pride in their hotel. There are 3 types of rooms. economy, standard, and the Jr. Suite. The econ. size is only $56 (with taxes) The others step up by $20. The rooms and bathrooms were very clean. We rented the econ, as we only sleep in the room. Yes, that one is small but the others are noticeably larger. We had a car and the daughter, a very delightful lady, had parking spots marked off so customers could park right in front of the hotel. The breakfast included eggs, pancakes, french toast etc. The day was rainy so we weren't able to take advantage of the 2nd floor deck and view of the volcano. The shower had decent water pressure and although the water was not scalding hot was plenty warm.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank russ3950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (480)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Las Colinas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 480 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2013

We stayed for two nights - our first stop in Costa Rica - in Feb 2013. The hotel is right in the centre of La Fortuna so gets a bit noisy during the day but the town isn't rowdy so it's actually nice to have a bit of life around and it's great for people watching from the chairs out on the terrace. We stayed in one of the suite rooms and had the most perfect view of Arenal from our many windows. The staff, especially the daughter, were really helpful, friendly and competent. We had a lovely relaxing stay, breakfast was really tasty too - I'd recommend the omlette.

We walked up Cerro Chato one day - taking a taxi for $7 from the town - which was great and you can swim in the lagoon at the top. Go early to avoid the heat.
We then got the local bus out to Arenal ranger station the next day and had a nice morning walk in the forest there. It's alright but nothing compared to Monteverde so it's worth it if it's your first jungle but maybe not so much after that. We hitched back to Fortuna from the ranger station - lots of tourists doing the journey, otherwise it would've been a taxi again as we had no car.
Take the 'jeep-boat-jeep' to Monteverde (but go to the loo before setting out, it's bumpy!)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Last week my son and I stayed at the Hotel Las Colinas in La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano, Costa Rica. We stayed in a large room with two beds which included breakfast. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was comparable to breakfasts in larger well known chain hotels with eggs (scrambled or cooked to order), beans, rice, sausage, toast, fruits, juice and coffee. The location is in the heart of La Fortuna. I would also like to point out the friendly staff.

The greatest pleasure for me was the patio on the second floor. There was a tour staying there as well as people from all over the globe. In the evening we sat out on the patio with an incredible view of the volcano and met most of the people staying there. It is a great place to relax, either reading or talking to other guests.

If you are staying in La Fortuna I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We just got back from an amazing trip to Costa Rica, three days of which were spent at Las Colinas. The staff was incredibly helpful and set us up with some amazing local excursions. Plenty of hot water, complementary breakfast and the view from the terrace was spectacular. It's right in the middle of the city with a super market only two blocks away and about a 15 minute drive from the volcano and hot springs. Highly recommend this hotel, especially for the price!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Very clean - within walking distance of great food and stores. Really enjoyed the breakfast each morning. The deck was nice and had it not been so cloudy we would have had a great view of Arenal Volvanon. Several tours would pick up from the hotel lobby.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Loved our stay here. Clean, affordable, convenient and very helpful staff. Had everything we needed. Breakfast was great. Enjoyed the common areas and the wi-fi. Could walk to everything in town easily. Really enjoyed the waterfalls close to the hotel. Was a very nice surprise.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MNtravelersscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

This hotel was located half a block away from the central park and downtown main street. The staff were helpful and obliging and they had a really good breakfast included in the reasonable price . They had a first floor deck that is very nice and gives you a wonderful frontal view of the Arenal Volcano

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
Thank frannie1155040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,530 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,344 reviews
3.6 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#21 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
828 reviews
3.4 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,470 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#7 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Colinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Colinas

Address: Calle 468, entre Avenida 325 y Ruta 142 | Half a block from the central park, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £41 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Las Colinas 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Colinas Arenal Hoteleco-friendly accommodation, Arenal Volcano, Costa Rica Las Colinas Arenal Hotel offers quality accommodation and all the facilities of a small hotel. We are an eco-friendly, family run hotel. Located only 1 block away from La Fortuna central park and 10 minutes driving from the famous Arenal Volcano, our hotel combines the truly local hospitality with the lovely natural attractions.Our accommodation provides comfortable en-suite rooms all with Wi- Fi access, Cable television, Decor stylish Eco-rooms and an open-air terrace offering a refreshing volcano view. To complete a relaxing stay we can also offer in-house beauty treatments.From us you can visit the Arenal Volcano Hot Springs, the Volcano itself, interesting attractions the Fortuna Waterfalls, the hanging bridges or enjoy the adventure tours as zip-lines, horseback ridings, raftings or rappelling and much more.Las Colinas Arenal Hotel is conveniently situated to visit both tourist attractions and shops. We are minutes walk from center; Enjoy a walk into town to get immerse in the typical life of La Fortuna.Flor and Ivette are the proprietors of this family run hotel and have many years experience in tourism and hotels and will personally supervise all your arrangements during your holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Las Colinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Colinas Hotel
Hotel Las Colinas Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing