We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange setup but a nice quiet place”
Review of Hotel Las Colinas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Las Colinas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Strange setup but a nice quiet place”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The downstairs rooms seem to all be what used to be shops - they still have shopfront style windows from a mall, as in huge windows and curtains that you can't quite close all the way. AC was great and the rooms were huge, food was nice too. Seemed to be very family friendly and had a very central feel due to the open plan layout. The terrace on the 1st floor was great but felt quite awkward enjoying a drink there in case families were trying to get children to sleep in the rooms nearby.

Room Tip: Upstairs - downstairs rooms seem to all be what used to be shops - they still have shopfront style w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nordydave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    188
    67
    20
    5
See reviews for
78
215
53
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel from July 28 - July 31. When we checked in we were welcomed by Flor with a much needed drink as we had been on the road from San Jose for 2 1/2 hours. Flor told us that we were now on the 3rd floor as a big group was coming in and they needed the 2nd floor which was what we had reserved as it had the terrace. We were disappointed to hear this but on entering room 30 with a private balcony and a view of the volcano we were happy. It was a quieter area than the terrace. Plenty of hot water available and the room was cleaned very well by the maid staff.Breakfast was served each morning by a very pleasant young man. We were greeted by all the staff whenever they saw us. Javier proved to be a great help with anything we needed. He let us use his computer to print our travel documents for our next location stop.

They are plenty of restaurants and shopping in walking distance from the hotel. In fact there is a couple just across the street from the hotel. This proved helpful for us as we did not rent a car. There is grocery store next door to the hotel and another 5 minutes away from the hotel.

When we reached our next location in Playas del Coco, my husband realized he forgot his ipad cable and charger. He immediately contacted the hotel by email and they advised him that they had found it. They agreed to mail it us at the post office in Jaco which was our next location stop. They refused to charge us to send the package. We picked up the cable and charger in Jaco as promised. They had used a courier service...simply amazing! These guys are the best.
If we are in La Fortuna again we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: 3rd floor for private balcony, 2nd floor if you want the terrace area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MKE
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Nice place. My room had a nice-sized balcony overlooking downtown so that was a bonus. Very clean and "open air" concept. That is, the floors were exposed to the outside on the street side of the hotel. It made you feel as if you were downtown because you can hear the sounds and see the sights from each floor. Nice chaise lounges on each floor. Internet was perfect and was even free. Nice breakfast. There is a grocery store right next door.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaime000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotel was our pit stop on a long, leisurely drive from San Jose to the ferry terminal in Puntarenas. The room was an excellent value at $62 USD per night for a two bed suite, and also was equipped with air conditioning. Wifi is free and the signal was adequate in our corner room on the second floor. The premises are cleanly and there is a nice upper deck area with lounge chairs to relax in. The stay was overall quiet, despite being on a road filled with shops and eateries. We ended up parking on the street, but were able to get a space right across fro the hotel. The hotel offers discounted tickets to the hot springs. Breakfast is complimentary and will be enough to get your day going (think scrambled eggs, potatoes, plantains, sausage, fruit, coffee, juice)

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back will likely be quieter than those facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nica1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Forks, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We really lucked out with this place!
Clean, spacious, and you couldn't get better front desk staff! Above and beyond helpful.
Thank you, thank you, thank you.
Breakfast was yummy, and the location was the best!
Nice to have a comfortable bed, hot water, a/c, and a common area to relax.
The Volcano is in plain view.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone
Stayed May 12-15th 2014.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1travellers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This hotel is owned by a family tha put a lot of heat in making the place clean, confortable and eco-friendly.

A/C and hot water functionning, very clean, nice terrasse partially covered, very helping staff, delicious breakfast.

Since every activities and tours are very expensive in Fortuna-Arenal, you don't want to pay too much for your hotel. Las Colinas is really the perfect place. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wausau, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The front desk staff is wonderful. They will help you with anything you need. The hotel is in good condition considering what you are paying. Rooms are clean and adequately maintained. Open common area was great for us to have a beer (purchased from down the street - LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION) and watch the April storms.

Downsides? Light/noise from the road. No point deduction as it didn't bother us much as we were tired from walking around! I could see it disturbing very light sleepers, especially during high season.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,510 reviews
8.5 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#21 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
821 reviews
3.6 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#7 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
571 reviews
3.4 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,436 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Colinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Colinas

Property: Hotel Las Colinas
Address: Calle 468, entre Avenida 325 y Ruta 142 | Half a block from the central park, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Las Colinas 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Colinas Arenal Hoteleco-friendly accommodation, Arenal Volcano, Costa Rica Las Colinas Arenal Hotel offers quality accommodation and all the facilities of a small hotel. We are an eco-friendly, family run hotel. Located only 1 block away from La Fortuna central park and 10 minutes driving from the famous Arenal Volcano, our hotel combines the truly local hospitality with the lovely natural attractions.Our accommodation provides comfortable en-suite rooms all with Wi- Fi access, Cable television, Decor stylish Eco-rooms and an open-air terrace offering a refreshing volcano view. To complete a relaxing stay we can also offer in-house beauty treatments.From us you can visit the Arenal Volcano Hot Springs, the Volcano itself, interesting attractions the Fortuna Waterfalls, the hanging bridges or enjoy the adventure tours as zip-lines, horseback ridings, raftings or rappelling and much more.Las Colinas Arenal Hotel is conveniently situated to visit both tourist attractions and shops. We are minutes walk from center; Enjoy a walk into town to get immerse in the typical life of La Fortuna.Flor and Ivette are the proprietors of this family run hotel and have many years experience in tourism and hotels and will personally supervise all your arrangements during your holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Las Colinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Colinas Hotel
Hotel Las Colinas Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing