We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Clean, Bad Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2011

During our 2 weeks in Costa Rica, we stayed in Arenal for 2 nights. Our room was very clean, very spacious and extremely comfortable. The restaurant was awful to say the least, so heading into town for dinner would be a good idea. We took a taxi to Tabacon hot springs with our day pass (Highly recommend going there!! - Great Food / Drinks / Pools / Hot Springs).
The pool at the hotel was nice and clean and the front desk staff were very nice. We also used the Laundry service since it was halfway through our trip, it was about $23 to do 15-20 items. A little expensive, but very convenient.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUANVIVA, Manager at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comment. My team and I really do appreciate your feedback to constantly benchmark ourselves and measure our service standards and to ensure that our guest’s expectations are met on each visit.

I can only apologize for the experience you had in the restaurant. We take our guests comments seriously and will look into this matter with the respective department head.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in near future.

Luis Andres Villegas
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

416 - 422 of 1,166 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2011

It was low season and for $113 we got an upgrade for a ''suite''
The staff was very very helpful they speak good English.
Is nice is located near Tabacon and Baldi and other springs
The building needs a little bit of improvement but I say , I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUANVIVA, Manager at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2011

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking your time to provide us your feedback. It is through such feedback that we are able to serve our guest better.

We noticed that in general you enjoyed your stay except for the maintenance of your room. Our sincerest apology. Please be informed that corrective action will be taken to avoid similar situations in the future and to provide you with the best of our services.

Thank you for choosing to stay with Montaña de Fuego Hotel & and we are all looking forward seeing you again on your next stay with us.

If there is anyways that I can be of further assistance on your next visit, please do let me know: luis.villegas@montanadefuego.com

Sincerely,
Luis Andres Villegas
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

My husband and I spent 4 nights at this hotel. The cabin had a great view of Arenal volcano, although, it was covered with clouds for most of the time. The cabin was well appointed and spacious. There were a lot of people staying at the hotel because we saw them in the morning having breakfast, but other than that, every time I went to the pool or to use the jacuzzi I was by myself. The receptionists and people working at the hotel are very nice, cheerful and helpful. They can arrange for activities for you and help you out with any traveling problems. The only complain I have is that 3 times, my husband and I came back to Montana de Fuego after some activities at about 4 or 5 in the afternoon and the room was still undone. We called and they came right away, but it wasn't pleasant to want to relax and take a shower and found the place all messy.
Breakfast was OK, but dinner at the hotel's restaurant was a disaster and the service terrible. Overall, I think Montana de Fuego was a good deal for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Icventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUANVIVA, Manager at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2011

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking your time to provide us your feedback. It is through such feedback that we are able to serve our guest better.

Although I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed our service, staff and pool area during your visit, as well as our breakfast buffet in Acuarelas Restaurant, I am disappointed that we did not seem to have delivered exceptional service to you with the servicing of your room, for which I would like to apologize.

Please rest assured that every feedback is important to us and I have discussed the shortfalls that you have experienced with our Management Team.

Thank you for choosing to stay with Montaña de Fuego Hotel & and we are all looking forward seeing you again on your next stay with us.

If there is anyways that I can be of further assistance on your next visit, please do let me know: luis.villegas@montanadefuego.com


Sincerely,
Luis Andres Villegas
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We stayed here for one night, hoping to see the volcano. We picked it on the recommendation of Fodors, they say it is their pick for the Arenal area. Very disappointing. Right off the bat, the desk clerk shortchanged me. Our room was just disgustingly dirty. The bathroom was filthy, the floors didn't appear to have been mopped in months. We wore our flip flops always. The paint is worn, both interior and exterior. The whole place is in need of a major facelift. We ate at the restaurant for dinner and breakfast. Both meals were dismally boring. Having stayed the night before at Villa Blanca really put this place in a bad light. What a shame, both the hotel and Fodors for recommending this dump.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank co-bikeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUANVIVA, Manager at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time and effort in posting your feedback following your stay in our hotel.

Despite being disappointed that your experience with us was less than satisfactory, we are always grateful for honest comments that we can learn and improve from.

Customer Service is by far our number one priority and as such we have immediately taken steps to address the points you have raised. We have re-trained those concerned, as well as re-briefed the entire team to ensure that this is never repeated.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to demonstrate our normal high level of customer service to you in the future and we are truly sorry for any inconvenience we may have caused.

Sincerely,
Luis Andres Villegas
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We visited in 2007 and had a dreamy vacation so we decided to go back. Big mistake considering how many new hotels are now in the Arenal area. The rooms are depressingly dark, the small AC units don't work well and the bathrooms are mildly and unclean. Little to no help from the front desk or maintenance crews. The view is great and the breakfast buffet was good and the wait staff excellent. I recommend you look around for better, cleaner updated accommodations to spend your vacation time in one of the most special parts of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovetotravel33176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUANVIVA, Manager at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time and effort in posting your feedback following your stay in our hotel.

Despite being disappointed that your experience with us was less than satisfactory, we are always grateful for honest comments that we can learn and improve from.

Customer Service is by far our number one priority and as such we have immediately taken steps to address the points you have raised. We have re-trained those concerned, as well as re-briefed the entire team to ensure that this is never repeated.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to demonstrate our normal high level of customer service to you in the future and we are truly sorry for any inconvenience we may have caused.

Sincerely,
Luis Andres Villegas
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

For the price , it is a bargain. Building a house and staying in Costa Rica as Americans we can appreciate the expense and upkeep on a hotel like this. The staff is very friendly , the spa is passable because of the people, and the food is typical tico. There never were any towels in our room but really towels are not necessary. Tico time is not American time. It is more island time despite Costa Rica not being an island. To go to a place like Montano de Fuego you need to think more like a tico and less like an American. We are a spoiled bunch of kids. We used to rent out our house but we no longer do. It is too hard in the jungle to keep everything up and working for half the renters and torn up by the other half. I say the Montana de Fuego does a good job tico perfect but not American perfect. Unlike many of its competitors it is easy to find and not off a 4 wheel drive only dirt road.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
Thank Pilotdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUANVIVA, Manager at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which I was delighted to receive. I was pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is always very rewarding for my team and I to know that we have met your expectations.

Thank you for choosing to stay with Montaña de Fuego Hotel & and we are all looking forward seeing you again on your next stay with us.

If there is anyways that I can be of further assistance on your next visit, please do let me know: luis.villegas@montanadefuego.com

Sincerely,
Luis Andres Villegas
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

This hotel contracted for our transportation to the canopy tour they had on site. They arrived to pick us up 1 hour late and, worse than anything, the photographer did not take pictures or videos of our ziplining. When we asked him about it, he was extremely arrogant and said that we had never spoken with him directly. When we talked to the guide at the beginning of our tour he said to leave the cameras behind as they said photos were available at the end--we were taken to the hotel to view them. The guide blamed the hotel photographer, the photographer the guide, etc. No apologies from anyone. The staff was completely unhelpful. So glad we didn't stay with them.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Service
2  Thank mrlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUANVIVA, Manager at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2011

Dear "mrlum",

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.com.

I deeply regret that you have not enjoyed your canopy tour, however I would like to inform you that Montana Tours and Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa operate as different companies, I have already passed the message to those responsible about the tours and the neccessary actions have been taken to avoid similar occurances.

Sincerely,
Luis Villegas
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
4.3 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#23 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
829 reviews
1.6 mi away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#19 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,456 reviews
1.1 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,562 reviews
4.7 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,353 reviews
1.8 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa

Address: 142, Costa Rica | 8 km west from La Fortuna downtown. On the way to the National Park., Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 824417, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#14 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £61 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ALL THE SPLENDOR AND ADVENTURE OF LA FORTUNA JUST IN ONE PLACE!Welcome to an experience full of adventure and nature in Costa Rica...Just by the foot of the Arenal Volcano stands Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa, a hotel inspired by its great natural environment, surrounded by 35 hectares of tropical forest on our private reserve.In balance with nature develop a site of rest and fun that makes you feel in a new world.With our All-Inclusive Package in La Fortuna, you can enjoy aholiday full of sustainable adventure and cultural experience.Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa has received the Fordor's Choice Award for several consecutive years, distinguished by Fodor's Travel as the best of hotels in the region of La Fortuna de San Carlos.PURE ADVENTURE IN OUR GO ADVENTURE PARK. Experience the best and exclusive eco adventure tours, feel the extreme nature of tropical forests and the powerful energy of the Arenal Volcano! A BREATH FOR TOUR SOUL... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montana De Fuego Hotel And Spa
Montana De Fuego Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Montana De Fuego Resort
Hotel Montana De Fuego Resort & Spa Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing