We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont Stay at this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dont Stay at this hotel”
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 2 days. The hotel cost were very pricey, but the quality of the room and the reception area was sub-standard for the price range. The hotel is old and the electrical outlets and bathroom fixtures were falling apart. We had to call maintenance twice for a blocked toilet. Our bathroom shower door was also stuck and we had to call the maintenance again. The water from the shower poured into all areas of the bathroom and we had to put towels on the floor to prevent the entire bathroom from getting flooded when someone took a shower.

Our travel agent had an agreement with the hotel for the cost of our room, which the hotel frontdesk manager refused to honor. She demanded 30% more than the cost the travel agent told me to pay. The travel agent sent emails requesting the hotel to honor the previously agreed to cost and the hotel did not respond to him. Finally I had to pay the full cost that the hotel demanded before checkout. Still waiting for the hotel to respond back to the travel agent...

Food in the restaurant is average but the cost was very high. Most of the waiters at the restaurant were friendly with the exception of one man.

The only good thing about the hotel is the view of the Arenal Volcano from the restaurant and the small nature walk area close to the entrance of the hotel.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone I know. Please stay away from this over-priced, worn-down hotel. There are a number of other options in the La Fortuna area.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Safar-Mast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUANVIVA, Manager at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

I deeply regret that you had not enjoyed your stay with us. We will definitely take into consideration your remarks as it is a way for us to improve and provide the finest service to our guests.

I would like to follow up with your stay and would like some more details from you, Which room number were you in?Was the shower incident reported and maintenance arrive to your room? Who were you speaking to at the reception? Please contact me through luis.villegas@montanadefuego,com

Sincerely,
Luis Andres Villegas
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    348
    213
    100
    72
See reviews for
306
461
27
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Front desk service - Poor at best.
Bungalow - Had over a foot deep of water in the walkway leading up to the room which you had to walk through because you couldn't even jump over it. Something wasn't draining properly. Concierge (if you can call him that) actually "rolled" my luggage right through all of the water.
Bungalow Room - Overpowering musky smell. If anything gets damp (which it will - rainforest), it will not dry in the room.
Bungalow Beds - A hard board with cheap 1920 Holiday Inn Bedspread.
Bungalow Shower - Not so nice.
Restaurant - Food was awful. Free Breakfast - Tables weren't cleaned off, food wasn't replenished, find your own silverware.

We were supposed to stay there two nights, but I had to check out early and find another hotel that provided a clean, comfortable environment.

If you are "roughing it" and used to sleeping in tents, this might be acceptable. I would never recommend it to anyone I know, or to anyone I don't know :)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUANVIVA, Manager at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 December 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. Your feedback is much appreciated to ensure that our guest’s expectations are met on each visit to the Montaña de Fuego Hotel & Spa.

We are very sorry to learn that you were inconvenienced during your stay and that the service and facilities in the Hotel did not meet your expectation which of course is unacceptable. We take our guest's comments very seriously and I would like to know if you can provide me with some more details about your stay, for example do you remember the name of the bellboy handling your luggage? The date of your breakfast?

Please contact me through luis.villegas@montanadefuego.com, in order to follow up your stay.

Best Regards,
Luis Andres Villegas
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

We decided to stay here after having spent the day at the hot springs near by. I read the previous reviews and took my chances. I was very happy with our choice. Every room is a private cabin and we had an amazing back view of the forest and front view of the volcano. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pigsNPickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUANVIVA, Manager at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 December 2011
Dear Guest,

It is very pleasing to learn that you found our hotel a “Great Stay” and to read that you found our rooms comfortable,with beautiful and amazing views. Thank you for recommending our hotel and many thanks for posting your experience here on Trip Advisor.

We do look forward to the opportunity of once again welcoming you back to our hotel and I would like to wish you all the best.

Best regards,
Luis Andres Villegas
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rogers, AR
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel our last night in Costa Rica. the negatives definitely outweigh the positives! Upon arrival, it looks beautiful! Great view of the volcano (although we didnt' get to see much of it due to cloud coverage). You go into reception and they bring you a little drink while you are checking in. That's where the good ends. We got to our room, which from the outside looks great. We went in and it was nothing special. Just a small little room with 2 full beds. The walls looked old and worn and could use some pathcwork and paint. There wer no towels in the bathroom. After travelling for 4 hours I wanted a shower. So I call reception and they said they would send some up. I waited and waited and waited. After about an hour I call again. This time with an additional complaint. The remote for the tv didn't work. So again, I waited and waited and waited. We finally got towels, but no batteries. We had to take the batteries out of something else. Then we went to dinner. Nice restaurant. Ok food. Overpriced. Left hungry. Back to our room. AC not working. Had to call reception...AGAIN! He came and "fixed it". We told him again about needing batteries. This time he went and got them. AC never did get cold. Asked for wake up call which was 10 minutes late. Just an overall terrible experience, especially for the price!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mckillip09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUANVIVA, Manager at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 December 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us at Montaña de Fuego Hotel & Spa on Tripadvisor.

I was concerned to read that you left the hotel feeling disappointed. I would like to personally apologize to you for not meeting your expectations. Your comments regarding the towels, batteries and air condition have been noted and shared with the respective departments.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back on your return to Montaña de Fuego Hotel & Spa.

Sincerely,
Luis Andres Villegas
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Despite not seeing any lava due to inactivity it was still a fantastic view of the volcano! The bungalow was great and the grounds were supremely manicured. The included breakfast buffet was excellent and catered to the international palette. The pool area was immaculate and very inviting! Definitely stay here again in our future endeavors!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianCabot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUANVIVA, Manager at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 December 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were happy with the services provided by our colleagues.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your return to Montaña de Fuego Hotel & Spa.

Sincerely,
Luis Andres Villegas
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardmore, OK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

This resort is made up mostly of individual villas with a porch on the front and balcony on the back. Great grounds to stroll around on, original chef prepared dishes in the restaurant and there's nothing like stepping out on the balcony in the morning and watching a flock of toucans frolic in the trees.

Room Tip: Ask for an individual villa on the hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twohumphreys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUANVIVA, Manager at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on tripadvisor.com. We are pleased that you found our location suitable to your needs. Additional we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed our restaurant.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in the nearest future.

Luis Andres Villegas
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Me and my husband stayed in this hotel for 2 days as part of our honeymoon celebration. We came from San Jose, so it was a pretty far trip, around a 4 hour drive, but we felt at home from the minute we had our welcome drinks! We stayed in the Junior Suite, it was beautiful, the volcano from our in-room jacuzzi and king sized bed was fantastic, we couldn´t get enough, however that was only when the clouds would allow us to!
We had a special dinner arranged for us the night of our arrival, I have to be honest, the food was fine, but could be better, however the waiters were fantastic.
Our booking included a couples massage, Rossita did our massage, and she was fantastic! Excellent strong hands! Overall we had a great stay, special thanks to everyone who made us feel so special on our honeymoon, especially Karol at the reception.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tara l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUANVIVA, Manager at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at Montaña de Fuego Hotel & Spa.

We are glad you found the hotel Interesting and was to your liking and it brings me great pleasure that you and your husband had a good honeymoon stay.

Once again would like to thank you for your valued comments and look forward to welcome you back to Montaña de Fuego Hotel & Spa.

Sincerely,

Luis Andres Villegas
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.6 mi away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#18 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,408 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#22 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,264 reviews
0.7 mi away
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Sp...
#31 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,302 reviews
1.8 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,822 reviews
4.3 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#21 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa

Property: Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa
Address: 142, Costa Rica | 8 km west from La Fortuna downtown. On the way to the National Park., Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 824417, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ALL THE SPLENDOR AND ADVENTURE OF LA FORTUNA JUST IN ONE PLACE!Welcome to an experience full of adventure and nature in Costa Rica...Just by the foot of the Arenal Volcano stands Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa, a hotel inspired by its great natural environment, surrounded by 35 hectares of tropical forest on our private reserve.In balance with nature develop a site of rest and fun that makes you feel in a new world.With our All-Inclusive Package in La Fortuna, you can enjoy aholiday full of sustainable adventure and cultural experience.Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa has received the Fordor's Choice Award for several consecutive years, distinguished by Fodor's Travel as the best of hotels in the region of La Fortuna de San Carlos.PURE ADVENTURE IN OUR GO ADVENTURE PARK. Experience the best and exclusive eco adventure tours, feel the extreme nature of tropical forests and the powerful energy of the Arenal Volcano! A BREATH FOR TOUR SOUL... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montana De Fuego Hotel And Spa
Montana De Fuego Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Montana De Fuego Resort
Hotel Montana De Fuego Resort & Spa Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing