We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Lomas del Volcan(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Manoa Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$296
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$252
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$227
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano Lodge & Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Observatory Lodge & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel El Silencio del Campo(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$507
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nayara Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$848
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$338
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,255)
Filter reviews
1,255 results
Traveller rating
436
383
247
114
75
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
436
383
247
114
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsarenal volcanosuperior bungalowcosta ricahot springsvolcanic mudhorseback ridingpool barcanopy tourbeautiful viewbreakfast was includedstayed for two nightsstandard roomspring poolsrocking chairshanging bridgestown of la fortunapura vida
Filter
Updating list...
443 - 448 of 1,255 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2012

This is a great hotel in the perfect spot! It's just outside of town where it's a bit quieter and makes it feel like you're more in the middle of the jungle.

The rooms were awesome! I'd suggest spending a couple dollars more and getting the junior suite with a jacuzzi in the room. Your aching body might need it after some of the adventures you'll be going on while on Costa Rica!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank www_bd-photos_com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUANVIVA, Gerente at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your trip.

I am happy to hear that you have enjoyed our services and facilities

We are looking forward to welcoming you in the future.

Luis Andres Villegas
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

If your looking to have great views, a sustainable experience and a true Costa Rican adventure trip than Montana de Fuego is for you. All the staff was extremely nice and the tours operated our of the hotel were fantastic. Their horses are extremely well taken care of and loved, which is not true for all of Costa Rica. The tour guide Alex made the experience even better, his love for his country and knowledge was Pura Vida :)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jallos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUANVIVA, Gerente at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Dear Guests

I am very happy to hear that you really enjoyed your trip to Costa Rica, we always try our best and make sure that meet your expectations. For Montaña de Fuego Resorts & Spa has been a pleasure to be on your vacations.We would love to welcome you back and live another Pura Vida experience!!

Best Regards,
Luis Andres Villegas
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

The service at the hotel was simply not helpful; from not providing linens and towels to not being able to answer basic tourists' questions. The breakfast provided is basic but nice.
We had issues with our pullout sofa which was unusable. The mattress was bent, dirty and shredded.
The hotel seems to gear itself toward large groups. The hotel looks like it was thoughtfully landscaped and designed but has not maintained itself well throughout the years.

Also, before traveling to the Arenal area to see an active volcano check to see if it is active. We were disappointed to find out that it has been inactive for the past 8 months (as of 1/1/12

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUANVIVA, Gerente at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback!

It is with regret to note of your dissatisfaction particulary on the hotel facilities and services.
While I am disappointed, I appreciate receiving comments from our valued guests, as this type of feedback will definitely help us in improving our services and facilities.
Please accept my sincere apologies for the all incoviniences caused to you.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to the Montaña de Fuego Hotel & Spa.

Best Regards,
Luis Andres Villegas
Operations Manage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I recently visited Costa Rica with mom. It was a package deal and we had only 3 nights at Montana de Fuego, but it was our favorite 3 nights of the 7 night trip and we absolutely loved it! The views were magnificent, the people were extremely hospitable and friendly, the breakfast buffet was fantastic, and the pool/jacuzzi/spa were great! I would highly recommend this hotel! We also booked the zip line through the hotel - the zip line is located on the grounds of the hotel. This was a great time, the guides were awesome (Cristian and Allen) and overall we had a wonderful time. We did not want to leave!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the best view of the Arenal Volcano - beautiful!!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Summer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUANVIVA, Gerente at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Dear Guest,


Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your kind review. I am happy that we have met your expectations during your visit and would love to welcome you back. I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Montaña de Fuego Hotel & Spa sometime in the near future.

Sincerly
Luis Andres Villegas
Operations Manager


Luis Andres Villegas
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Just need foam topped for beds. A bit hard. Resturant was just ok. Go into town for dinner.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel_dianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUANVIVA, Gerente at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your trip.

We will make sure to improve in those areas that you mentioned for make our services the best!

My Best Regards
Luis Andres Villegas
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews