We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“El saco les queda muy grande...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This is my third visit to Montana de Fuego Hotel and Spa, and will be my last. First, I made reservations for three nights for a cabin with three beds. It took four tries for the reservations person to successfully "get" my emails with my reservation information and credit card, and they refused to take the information over the phone. I was required to fill out the authorization form. Then, when my guests arrived in the country, we decided to cut the visit short by one day. So when we arrived at the hotel, I asked to remove the third day (more than 72 hours notice). The desk receptionist, after calling someone, said "yes we can help you with that, but there's a penalty." I asked "what's the penalty?" to which she responded "100%." Bad service from the top down, as that was apparently the response she received from her higher up. When we got to the room, there were only two beds, so two of us had to share a bed. Supposedly a no smoking hotel, there were two burned sticks of incense on an incense tray in the room. The room smelled of mold, patchouli, and the sickly sweet smell of pine scented cleaning supplies. Bizarrely, the windows in the room are bolted. shut, so we had to leave the doors open. The so-called business center is a desk in the middle of the very noisy lobby, and the sporadic internet access is limited to these noisy spaces. This was a charming little hotel at one point, but has grown into a large resort. They seem to have kept the small hotel administration attitude. The mandatory wrist-bands and the person reviewing the minibar after you arrive just add insult to injury. Senores, el saco les queda muy grande...

Room Tip: The old cabins facing the volcano have nice views. Be sure to check your room before you accept it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBrownCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montaña d, Gerente at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Customer.
It 's a shame you did not enjoy your visit, but anyway thanks for each of your comments.
Analyzing your case , your reservation was reviewed and from the beginning it says only one type Standard room for 3 people ; include this category of room has two beds and only when a customer reserves for three, it is very common to want to share a bed . In your case you are rather given a free up-grade to a Superior room and gladly did .
All hotels have their reservation policies therefore have ours , which were sent in your confirmation email and be very difficult repayment of a soon to another when your reservation was until as festive as Easter ; one of the strongest seasons in the country . It is normal that you call bad service that we will not return your money when you canceled in advance like this.
Each of our rooms has incense in the room , in this case a customer wants to use it , I clarify that it is not to hide any bad smell in the room ; you could not find it on.
It is true that we have internet in the lobby , which I emphasize is free ; well as in the restaurant area , and a computer for use by our customers at no extra charge. There is currently 99 % of people now have internet on your cell or something similar, however Montaña de Fuego always tries to resolve small details of our beloved guests.
The theme of the bracelet is very normal in many hotels in Costa Rica ; not only our habit . Same is done for safety of our customers and with respect to protocol minibar when your check -out , is just that ; an internal protocol .
Thank you very much for all your comments , it is always important to listen them.
we would like to have you back and you go home with a better memory of us, if you agree, please advise us; we are going to pamper you as you deserve.

Great day!!!

Marielos Madrigal.
Operations Manager.
operacioneshotel@montanadefuego.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 1,219 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014

We went to this Hotel as part of a Groupon Package and this was first of 3 on the list. I did not know what to expect. We had been to Maui this year & I was disappointed at almost every turn. The view from our lanai was of a chainlink fence. Here we got up every morning with Arenal Volcano literally out our front door onto a lovely little porch with two rocking chairs. Two, of the three mornings we saw the top of Arenal. They say only 20% of the people that visit the area get to see the Volcano because of the fact it is in a rain forest and is usually covered in clouds. The grounds were immaculate.

We must have had the room Kate L got moved out of because there was a hole in the wall & our A/C barely worked. Maintainance added some freon & it helped some. It is in the RAIN forest and is prone to wood rot. Because of this the staff may need to spend a little extra time doing some repair and cleaning shelf areas. Staff was friendly. Casita is VERY small duplex but adequate for 2 people.

There is much to do in this area and our 4 day & 3 nights were not enough. Of course the first day is driving & arriving there and the DRIVE is an experience all of it's own!


The free breakfast was good for the most part and had a good choice of items including an omlette bar.On our last day we got to breakfast about 15 minutes before it was over. The selection was not what it had been and everything was cold. The girl making the omlett did not know what she was doing and over cooked the eggs & everyghintg inside was cold. Be sure to watch while it is being cooked so that it is made how you like it. We ate one dinner in the dining room and it was good. My husbands steak was cooked to perfection and very tender, I had the shrimp and it was tasty.

We did the zip line canopy tour at this location and had a blast! I had a little trepitation as I am not a small gal, but the guides were VERY helpful and encouraging. They explained everything and were very patient.

Cano Negro river tour which was a lot of fun and we saw many birds and animals.

We also did the Butterfly Conservatory .Very much worth the trip.

All-in-all we enjoyed Costa Rica very much despite the launguage barrier.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CloENote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montaña d, Manager at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear guest.

Thank you for visiting the Fortuna de San Carlos and take the time to write your comments, which are very important for the company.

First, thank you very much for staying at our Hotel Montaña de Fuego. We greatly appreciate your comments, because it encourages us to persevere goal is to achieve maximum satisfaction of our customers.

Moreover, we encourage you to repeat your experience and see for yourself the quality of our services. Sure you will not be disappointed.

Again we appreciate your trust and your positive review of our Hotel Montaña de Fuego Resort & Spa

Marielos Madrigal.
Operation´s Manager
Telephone: (506) 2479 1220
Email: operacioneshotel@montanadefuego.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This was a lovely property with a first class view of Arenal Volcano from every room. Our initial room has issues -- a hole in the wall and air conditioner that didn't work. But they switched us to a much nicer room which was wonderful. Our front porch area had two rocking chairs and a small table, our room had a mini-bar fridge (which was overpriced, of course, but we used the fridge for our groceries instead). The pool/hot springs area was lovely, and we saw and heard so many birds each morning. The breakfast was great as well. And the desk staff was great -- especially Shirley. She had recommendations and was great at suggesting places to see and things to eat.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montaña d, Manager at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Customer.

Thanks a lot for your nice comments.
For us is a pleasure to know your visit and stay was wonderful.
Thank you so much to mention the nice staff we have and how so helpfull they were.
For your next trip remember to contact us and please ask us for the special rates for us frequent customers.
THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!

Marielos Madrigal.
Operations Manager.
operacioneshotel@montanadefuego.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

we arrived to this place the is built beautifully in a great location. the rooms are very nice, especially the suits by the lagoon. Service however is really bad, out shower wasn't working and they didn't fix it until the next day, they had us switch room, to a room that had no hot water. people at the restaurant didn't smile and weren't to helpful, they also seamed to be working way to much, as the whole time we were there, 3 days, we has the same waiters for breakfast lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveling_moon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montaña d, Manager at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Customer.

Thank you very much for visiting us.
We apologize if you are not so comfortable with some details.
With regard to the staff of our restaurant was not friendly or smiling, that really surprise us, if there is something strong for this company , is the service of our employees, but since you mention it, rest assured that we will be given the follow-up.
We are very grateful for your time and write us.

Marielos Madrigal.
Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Nice hotel, our room was a little dated, just needed redecoration though was perfectly fine otherwise. Like the mozzie net over the bathroom window was very ripped and the porch was a bit shabby. Our door lock kept breaking too!! Lovely location and setting though. The pool was shut as it was being re-done but the hot springs and jacuzzi were lovely. Breakfast was great with an omelette station. We didn't book any tours here but its a great location for getting to the volcano and the lake and is only a short drive from town.Could do with thicker curtains and lots of windows in the room. Not very sound proof and despite not being that busy they had put people next door to us who bickered loudly in the night and then sang loudly at dawn!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montaña d, Manager at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you very much for your nice comments, it really is satisfying to see that despite all, you had a good time.
We have always believed that when one goes for vacations, is not stressed, it´s to have fun and relax.
Glad you liked our breakfast!
We regret about the am singer .

Thank you very much.

Marielos Madrigal.
Operationsmanager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

It gives me no pleasure to criticize someone's business so harshly, but no one should book a vacation here.

It started at check-in. There was barely any welcome - the staff's first priority was to explain we were responsible for checking the inventory lists for our rooms and the strict towel-tracking system. I know theft is a problem for hotels, but I felt like a criminal, not a guest.

The hot water was unreliable; I had to microwave a glass to shave.

The rooms look very airy with huge floor-to-ceiling windows and vaulted ceilings, but you can't open the windows, and there are walking paths in front of the window so you have to close the curtains for any privacy. It got so stuffy!

My biggest complaint: there was a trail of ants leading from my bungalow's side door to the bathroom all night. There were dozens within view at any time. I squished all the ones I could see, but they kept coming. I had to wear my shoes to get out of bed.

I'm not unreasonable; I know it's the tropics and nature finds a way. But after I complained politely at the front desk, I hoped they'd take a look at the door's weather-stripping or at least wash the trail of pheromones away! But it seems the hotel did nothing about it because I had the same problem the next night. Gross.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blurgeshmurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montaña d, Manager at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Guest.

We regret very much that you had not had a pleasant stay.
The case of ants, is a bit uncontrollable at times, due to rainforest around us.
We apologize if your need was not attended as you expected; really always the satisfaction of our customer is our goal gold. We will thoroughly investigate what happened in your case.
Thank you very much for your time and comments, they help us to be better.

Marielos Madrigal.
Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed here for part of our honeymoon - the pool was under construction and the hots springs were the only thing that were working. The staff does not speak great English. The property is pretty but not worth the money. Good breakfast in the mornings but not great food for dinner.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LambChicago1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montaña d, Manager at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear guest.

Thank you for visiting the Fortuna de San Carlos and take the time to write your comments, which are very important for the company.

We regret that your stay has not reached the goal you had in mind. Our main target is that all guests leave our facilities pleased.

These situations are not common and we are working on all the observations you made to not happen again.



Marielos Madrigal.
Operation´s Manager
Telephone: (506) 2479 1220
Email: operacioneshotel@montanadefuego.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.6 mi away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#18 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,536 reviews
4.3 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#23 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
868 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort &...
#25 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
909 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#20 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,381 reviews
0.7 mi away
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Sp...
#32 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa

Address: 142, Costa Rica | 8 km west from La Fortuna downtown. On the way to the National Park., Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 824417, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#14 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £60 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ALL THE SPLENDOR AND ADVENTURE OF LA FORTUNA JUST IN ONE PLACE!Welcome to an experience full of adventure and nature in Costa Rica...Just by the foot of the Arenal Volcano stands Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa, a hotel inspired by its great natural environment, surrounded by 35 hectares of tropical forest on our private reserve.In balance with nature develop a site of rest and fun that makes you feel in a new world.With our All-Inclusive Package in La Fortuna, you can enjoy aholiday full of sustainable adventure and cultural experience.Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa has received the Fordor's Choice Award for several consecutive years, distinguished by Fodor's Travel as the best of hotels in the region of La Fortuna de San Carlos.PURE ADVENTURE IN OUR GO ADVENTURE PARK. Experience the best and exclusive eco adventure tours, feel the extreme nature of tropical forests and the powerful energy of the Arenal Volcano! A BREATH FOR TOUR SOUL... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montana De Fuego Hotel And Spa
Montana De Fuego Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Montana De Fuego Resort
Hotel Montana De Fuego Resort & Spa Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing