We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
142 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

My boyfriend and I decided to spend the weekend in this nice resort, and what a good idea it was for us to stay there. First, we upgraded our room for a junior suite, which has jacuzzi in the room, for an inexpensive amount, the room was beautiful but we felt that the beds were a little bit small for us. Each room is surrounded by beautiful gardens and our room particularly speaking had an excellent view of Arenal Vulcano. During the night we went to the pools, there are some and all of them are independent and in the middle of the jungle, but they have good illumination. Being a gay couple we did not feel any discrimintion by the staff. Unfortunately we woke up a little bit late and did not have the chance to have our breakfast. I would come back to this hotel, It is a really good and relaxing place to take a vacation In La Fortuna.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oscar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montaña d, Gerente at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Friends.

Thanks a lot to take your time a write about us and also let to kow the rest of the readers , it was nice to stay in Montaña de Fuego. is of great satisfaction for us to know that we meet your expectations.

Remember we offer significant deals throughout the year, do not forget to ask for them.

Sincerely,

Marielos Madrigal.
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    342
    207
    98
    71
See reviews for
300
451
27
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

I have to admit, while I was searching for hotels I was searching on a tight budget and found this hotel for a great price, expecting nothing more than an average experience. When we arrived, the receptionist was more than caring, even called our room to ensure the room met our standards. The hotel/resort has an awesome Spa (highly recommend Rosa!) and there also are amazing hiking trails right outside the hotel which takes you to a small waterfall. The most beautiful view you could imagine is right outside the bungalows, the Arenal Volcano, it was enchanting! I highly HIGHLY recommend this resort, it's close to everything, the rooms are very nice, and the service is absolutely wonderful, very caring! They even let us stay a little late because we needed the time and there is free breakfast during your stay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabrielle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montaña d, Gerente at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you very much for taking time and comment on your fantastic experience at our hotel. We are very happy to know that you received more than you expected.
We are very pleased that the spa area liked you and it´s important to know Rosa attended you with honors.
True, Hotel Montaña de Fuego has one of the best views of the area and especially the Arenal volcano. It is also known for its beautiful trails and excellent customer service in general.

Thanks a lot once again.

Marielos Madrigal.
Operations Manager.
operacioneshotel@montanadefuego.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
98 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

After a long day we checked into the hotel at about 7pm. Our desk clerk welcomed us and gave the keys. We thought the room would be bigger since it was a suite,but it wasn't. Anyway we turned on the AC and it was blowing out hot air. Returned to the front desk and given another room. That's when the comedy began.The new room had AC not working. Reurned and the desk clerk went out and checked as he had a problem.I am editing alot. I could not get a refund. After back a forth with another room and offering a junior room. I am editing a lot! He said he could not call the manager. Finally the room assigned needed to have freeon to charge up the AC. We had to wait in the lobby for an hour. The AC worked. We met the manager the following morning. She apologized and offered a free massage and dinner. She was trying to fix our miserable expereince with clearly a very inexpereinced front desk person. We took her up on the massages but could not get some money refunded. The rooms need to be updated.Our bathroom tub tile was broken and outside railings were missing and busted. I expected more for $180 a night.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommy745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montaña d, Manager at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Guest.

Thanks a lot for all your comments.
I remember your case , therefore I know very well the situation.
The AC in your room were fine,is true that lacked a bit of gas, but cooled very well. . For the second room only was a wrong use of the control.
I don´t understand why you say the other room you saw had the same trouble, if I was with you and the AC was perfect.
The mision and vision we have with all the clients, is they (you) can come back to at home with a nice memory about us and when we get this kind of situations, we try to the best to compesate the "bad moment" and tha´s why the dinner and spa...
You and me know the AC continued working 100% the rest of your stay. We checked them again and made the correct control program.
We hope you give us a second chance to give you the relaxing trip you were looking for, please remember Montaña de Fuego Offers nice royalties for our frecuently clients.

Thank you very much.
Marielos Madrigal.
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Overall this is a great resort. The grounds are stunning.

We had two bungalows that were well equipped.

Pool was beautiful and the hot springs are not to be missed. The two women in our group LOVED the spa. Great service and excellent price.

Restaurant was excellent albeit a bit a overpriced.

This area of Costa Rica has many resorts. You can choose from 5 star to basic. This resort needs some minor updating especially in the area of wifi in the bungalows.

We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask to view different rooms. They actually have several rooms over a beautiful lagoon. We choose r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montaña d, Gerente at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you very much for your nice comments, they allow us to see that our efforts worthwhile.
Montaña de Fuego Offers nice promotions and better prices for repetitive customers, please ask for them to reservaciones@montanadefuego.com.

Will be waiting for you in your next time.

Marielos Madrigal.
Operationsmanager@montanadefuego.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Room was heavily worn, the sofa bed where my daughter was supposed to sleep was decrepit. Impossible to shower without flooding the bathroom. Breakfast buffet food quality was inedible, we went out everyday someplace else. Major hassle at check out, was charged for a bottle of wine when we had one glass, the corrected it, but it took about 30 minutes. For this price, we expected much better.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MorrisJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montaña d, Gerente at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Guest.


Thanks a lot for all you comments, they help us to be better.
Related with the wine´s cases, this matter was resolved; althoug maybe took a long time to verify with the people. One confusion can happens, the most important is the solution and we did it.

Remeber to ask for the promotions and better prices for repetitive customers.

Great week.

Marielos Madrigal.
Operations Manager.
operacioneshotel@montanadefuego.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atenas, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

This is my third visit to Montana de Fuego Hotel and Spa, and will be my last. First, I made reservations for three nights for a cabin with three beds. It took four tries for the reservations person to successfully "get" my emails with my reservation information and credit card, and they refused to take the information over the phone. I was required to fill out the authorization form. Then, when my guests arrived in the country, we decided to cut the visit short by one day. So when we arrived at the hotel, I asked to remove the third day (more than 72 hours notice). The desk receptionist, after calling someone, said "yes we can help you with that, but there's a penalty." I asked "what's the penalty?" to which she responded "100%." Bad service from the top down, as that was apparently the response she received from her higher up. When we got to the room, there were only two beds, so two of us had to share a bed. Supposedly a no smoking hotel, there were two burned sticks of incense on an incense tray in the room. The room smelled of mold, patchouli, and the sickly sweet smell of pine scented cleaning supplies. Bizarrely, the windows in the room are bolted. shut, so we had to leave the doors open. The so-called business center is a desk in the middle of the very noisy lobby, and the sporadic internet access is limited to these noisy spaces. This was a charming little hotel at one point, but has grown into a large resort. They seem to have kept the small hotel administration attitude. The mandatory wrist-bands and the person reviewing the minibar after you arrive just add insult to injury. Senores, el saco les queda muy grande...

Room Tip: The old cabins facing the volcano have nice views. Be sure to check your room before you accept it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBrownCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montaña d, Gerente at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Customer.
It 's a shame you did not enjoy your visit, but anyway thanks for each of your comments.
Analyzing your case , your reservation was reviewed and from the beginning it says only one type Standard room for 3 people ; include this category of room has two beds and only when a customer reserves for three, it is very common to want to share a bed . In your case you are rather given a free up-grade to a Superior room and gladly did .
All hotels have their reservation policies therefore have ours , which were sent in your confirmation email and be very difficult repayment of a soon to another when your reservation was until as festive as Easter ; one of the strongest seasons in the country . It is normal that you call bad service that we will not return your money when you canceled in advance like this.
Each of our rooms has incense in the room , in this case a customer wants to use it , I clarify that it is not to hide any bad smell in the room ; you could not find it on.
It is true that we have internet in the lobby , which I emphasize is free ; well as in the restaurant area , and a computer for use by our customers at no extra charge. There is currently 99 % of people now have internet on your cell or something similar, however Montaña de Fuego always tries to resolve small details of our beloved guests.
The theme of the bracelet is very normal in many hotels in Costa Rica ; not only our habit . Same is done for safety of our customers and with respect to protocol minibar when your check -out , is just that ; an internal protocol .
Thank you very much for all your comments , it is always important to listen them.
we would like to have you back and you go home with a better memory of us, if you agree, please advise us; we are going to pamper you as you deserve.

Great day!!!

Marielos Madrigal.
Operations Manager.
operacioneshotel@montanadefuego.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

We went to this Hotel as part of a Groupon Package and this was first of 3 on the list. I did not know what to expect. We had been to Maui this year & I was disappointed at almost every turn. The view from our lanai was of a chainlink fence. Here we got up every morning with Arenal Volcano literally out our front door onto a lovely little porch with two rocking chairs. Two, of the three mornings we saw the top of Arenal. They say only 20% of the people that visit the area get to see the Volcano because of the fact it is in a rain forest and is usually covered in clouds. The grounds were immaculate.

We must have had the room Kate L got moved out of because there was a hole in the wall & our A/C barely worked. Maintainance added some freon & it helped some. It is in the RAIN forest and is prone to wood rot. Because of this the staff may need to spend a little extra time doing some repair and cleaning shelf areas. Staff was friendly. Casita is VERY small duplex but adequate for 2 people.

There is much to do in this area and our 4 day & 3 nights were not enough. Of course the first day is driving & arriving there and the DRIVE is an experience all of it's own!


The free breakfast was good for the most part and had a good choice of items including an omlette bar.On our last day we got to breakfast about 15 minutes before it was over. The selection was not what it had been and everything was cold. The girl making the omlett did not know what she was doing and over cooked the eggs & everyghintg inside was cold. Be sure to watch while it is being cooked so that it is made how you like it. We ate one dinner in the dining room and it was good. My husbands steak was cooked to perfection and very tender, I had the shrimp and it was tasty.

We did the zip line canopy tour at this location and had a blast! I had a little trepitation as I am not a small gal, but the guides were VERY helpful and encouraging. They explained everything and were very patient.

Cano Negro river tour which was a lot of fun and we saw many birds and animals.

We also did the Butterfly Conservatory .Very much worth the trip.

All-in-all we enjoyed Costa Rica very much despite the launguage barrier.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CloENote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montaña d, Manager at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear guest.

Thank you for visiting the Fortuna de San Carlos and take the time to write your comments, which are very important for the company.

First, thank you very much for staying at our Hotel Montaña de Fuego. We greatly appreciate your comments, because it encourages us to persevere goal is to achieve maximum satisfaction of our customers.

Moreover, we encourage you to repeat your experience and see for yourself the quality of our services. Sure you will not be disappointed.

Again we appreciate your trust and your positive review of our Hotel Montaña de Fuego Resort & Spa

Marielos Madrigal.
Operation´s Manager
Telephone: (506) 2479 1220
Email: operacioneshotel@montanadefuego.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#20 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
4.7 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
1.6 mi away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#18 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,763 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
1.1 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa

Property: Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa
Address: 142, Costa Rica | 8 km west from La Fortuna downtown. On the way to the National Park., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 824417, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ALL THE SPLENDOR AND ADVENTURE OF LA FORTUNA JUST IN ONE PLACE!Welcome to an experience full of adventure and nature in Costa Rica...Just by the foot of the Arenal Volcano stands Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa, a hotel inspired by its great natural environment, surrounded by 35 hectares of tropical forest on our private reserve.In balance with nature develop a site of rest and fun that makes you feel in a new world.With our All-Inclusive Package in La Fortuna, you can enjoy aholiday full of sustainable adventure and cultural experience.Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa has received the Fordor's Choice Award for several consecutive years, distinguished by Fodor's Travel as the best of hotels in the region of La Fortuna de San Carlos.PURE ADVENTURE IN OUR GO ADVENTURE PARK. Experience the best and exclusive eco adventure tours, feel the extreme nature of tropical forests and the powerful energy of the Arenal Volcano! A BREATH FOR TOUR SOUL... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montana De Fuego Hotel And Spa
Montana De Fuego Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Montana De Fuego Resort
Hotel Montana De Fuego Resort & Spa Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing