We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place... just go and find a restaurant elsewhere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place... just go and find a restaurant elsewhere”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The hotel is really cool. The rooms are comfortable and the pools are nice. What I didn't like was the food of the restaurant, it was really expensive and it was not good. We asked for steaks and they tasted like nothing, they didn't even had salt. It was not good.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms that are in front of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jair R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montaña d, Manager at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Customer.

Thank you very much for visiting us and also to comment on the nice stay with us. We are very sorry that our retaurant was not good for you. We´ll let you know that on these days we´ll have a new menu-based on delicious and new dishes.
We hope you return to Costa Rica again and remember Montaña de Fuego is expecting for you.

Have a nice day!!!

Marielos Madrigal.
OPerations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    346
    211
    100
    71
See reviews for
303
459
27
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We loved the resort the room and the view. The warm water pools and mud were fun. Amazing waking up to hummingbirds buzzing around the flowers around our cottage View of the volcano was simply breathtaking. Staff was very friendly waving and talking to you every time they saw you made you feel at home. Would go back again

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrelmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montaña d, Gerente at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Customer.

Thank you very much for writing about your wonderful experience with us.
We are pleased that you had a great time and that our staff managed to make your stay even more enjoyable.
We want you come back soon.

Marielos Madrigal.
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Rooms are quite spacious and well equipped including a small refrigerator. Front desk employees are very helpful… don’t hesitate to ask for ice or a pair of wine glasses. You will have a very nice view from your room if the Arenal Volcano is clear and not too cloudy. All rooms have wide windows just in front of the Volcano. If you decide to do the walking in the trails is better that use adequate shoes and take any beverage with you. The trail to the river gives you the opportunity to admire the tropical rain forest and of course, do some good exercise. Don’t miss it! The hot springs are not so hot as I would expect compared with others around. If you don’t find enough tropical fruits for breakfast, ask for it.

Room Tip: Choose a room on top of the hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonaldVega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montaña d, Gerente at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Customer.

Thank you very much for visiting us and have commented about your beautiful experience in our hotel. We appreciate knowing that you took the trails and enjoyed the beautiful surroundings that adorn this lush place.
Also thanks for the tips you provide the readers, ( (: ).
we hope you can return again and again to consent you.

Thanks a lot.

Marielos Madrigal.
Operatios Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
163 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My boyfriend and I decided to spend the weekend in this nice resort, and what a good idea it was for us to stay there. First, we upgraded our room for a junior suite, which has jacuzzi in the room, for an inexpensive amount, the room was beautiful but we felt that the beds were a little bit small for us. Each room is surrounded by beautiful gardens and our room particularly speaking had an excellent view of Arenal Vulcano. During the night we went to the pools, there are some and all of them are independent and in the middle of the jungle, but they have good illumination. Being a gay couple we did not feel any discrimintion by the staff. Unfortunately we woke up a little bit late and did not have the chance to have our breakfast. I would come back to this hotel, It is a really good and relaxing place to take a vacation In La Fortuna.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oscar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montaña d, Gerente at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Friends.

Thanks a lot to take your time a write about us and also let to kow the rest of the readers , it was nice to stay in Montaña de Fuego. is of great satisfaction for us to know that we meet your expectations.

Remember we offer significant deals throughout the year, do not forget to ask for them.

Sincerely,

Marielos Madrigal.
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I have to admit, while I was searching for hotels I was searching on a tight budget and found this hotel for a great price, expecting nothing more than an average experience. When we arrived, the receptionist was more than caring, even called our room to ensure the room met our standards. The hotel/resort has an awesome Spa (highly recommend Rosa!) and there also are amazing hiking trails right outside the hotel which takes you to a small waterfall. The most beautiful view you could imagine is right outside the bungalows, the Arenal Volcano, it was enchanting! I highly HIGHLY recommend this resort, it's close to everything, the rooms are very nice, and the service is absolutely wonderful, very caring! They even let us stay a little late because we needed the time and there is free breakfast during your stay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabrielle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montaña d, Gerente at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you very much for taking time and comment on your fantastic experience at our hotel. We are very happy to know that you received more than you expected.
We are very pleased that the spa area liked you and it´s important to know Rosa attended you with honors.
True, Hotel Montaña de Fuego has one of the best views of the area and especially the Arenal volcano. It is also known for its beautiful trails and excellent customer service in general.

Thanks a lot once again.

Marielos Madrigal.
Operations Manager.
operacioneshotel@montanadefuego.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
123 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

After a long day we checked into the hotel at about 7pm. Our desk clerk welcomed us and gave the keys. We thought the room would be bigger since it was a suite,but it wasn't. Anyway we turned on the AC and it was blowing out hot air. Returned to the front desk and given another room. That's when the comedy began.The new room had AC not working. Reurned and the desk clerk went out and checked as he had a problem.I am editing alot. I could not get a refund. After back a forth with another room and offering a junior room. I am editing a lot! He said he could not call the manager. Finally the room assigned needed to have freeon to charge up the AC. We had to wait in the lobby for an hour. The AC worked. We met the manager the following morning. She apologized and offered a free massage and dinner. She was trying to fix our miserable expereince with clearly a very inexpereinced front desk person. We took her up on the massages but could not get some money refunded. The rooms need to be updated.Our bathroom tub tile was broken and outside railings were missing and busted. I expected more for $180 a night.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommy745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montaña d, Manager at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Guest.

Thanks a lot for all your comments.
I remember your case , therefore I know very well the situation.
The AC in your room were fine,is true that lacked a bit of gas, but cooled very well. . For the second room only was a wrong use of the control.
I don´t understand why you say the other room you saw had the same trouble, if I was with you and the AC was perfect.
The mision and vision we have with all the clients, is they (you) can come back to at home with a nice memory about us and when we get this kind of situations, we try to the best to compesate the "bad moment" and tha´s why the dinner and spa...
You and me know the AC continued working 100% the rest of your stay. We checked them again and made the correct control program.
We hope you give us a second chance to give you the relaxing trip you were looking for, please remember Montaña de Fuego Offers nice royalties for our frecuently clients.

Thank you very much.
Marielos Madrigal.
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Overall this is a great resort. The grounds are stunning.

We had two bungalows that were well equipped.

Pool was beautiful and the hot springs are not to be missed. The two women in our group LOVED the spa. Great service and excellent price.

Restaurant was excellent albeit a bit a overpriced.

This area of Costa Rica has many resorts. You can choose from 5 star to basic. This resort needs some minor updating especially in the area of wifi in the bungalows.

We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask to view different rooms. They actually have several rooms over a beautiful lagoon. We choose r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montaña d, Gerente at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you very much for your nice comments, they allow us to see that our efforts worthwhile.
Montaña de Fuego Offers nice promotions and better prices for repetitive customers, please ask for them to reservaciones@montanadefuego.com.

Will be waiting for you in your next time.

Marielos Madrigal.
Operationsmanager@montanadefuego.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#22 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,254 reviews
1.8 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,803 reviews
4.7 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#18 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,393 reviews
1.1 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,825 reviews
1.5 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa

Property: Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa
Address: 142, Costa Rica | 8 km west from La Fortuna downtown. On the way to the National Park., Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 824417, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ALL THE SPLENDOR AND ADVENTURE OF LA FORTUNA JUST IN ONE PLACE!Welcome to an experience full of adventure and nature in Costa Rica...Just by the foot of the Arenal Volcano stands Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa, a hotel inspired by its great natural environment, surrounded by 35 hectares of tropical forest on our private reserve.In balance with nature develop a site of rest and fun that makes you feel in a new world.With our All-Inclusive Package in La Fortuna, you can enjoy aholiday full of sustainable adventure and cultural experience.Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa has received the Fordor's Choice Award for several consecutive years, distinguished by Fodor's Travel as the best of hotels in the region of La Fortuna de San Carlos.PURE ADVENTURE IN OUR GO ADVENTURE PARK. Experience the best and exclusive eco adventure tours, feel the extreme nature of tropical forests and the powerful energy of the Arenal Volcano! A BREATH FOR TOUR SOUL... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montana De Fuego Hotel And Spa
Montana De Fuego Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Montana De Fuego Resort
Hotel Montana De Fuego Resort & Spa Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing