We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous landscapes and stunning views of Arenal -- what more do you need?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 April 2011

The views of Arenal in the morning from your bed are all you need to give this hotel five stars. It is something I could not get enough of. I also loved watching the sunset on the Volcano from our back porch sitting on the little leather and wood rockers having a cocktail with my husband. The landscaping around each room and villa is very thoughtful and provides a very real sense of intimacy and privacy.

The pool is lovely, as is the hot tub. This is a family friendly hotel, so there were plenty of children enjoying the pool and around the restaurant as well. The food was excellent as was the bar service. We really enjoyed the friendly staff throughout the hotel.

The rooms are simple, clean and modestly appointed. They felt lodge-y. One challenge I had was with the noise. There seems to be little or no insulation between rooms, so when our neighbors chose to watch very loud tv or argue about plans for the next day, we felt like we were right there with them. fortunately, you can make a quick exit to the gorgeous grounds, but this was an oversight in the construction I'd say.

I would stay there again in a heartbeat, it's a great location with stellar views. It feels safe, clean and offers good food/drink.

Room Tip: All rooms are good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zingsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,091)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,966 - 1,972 of 3,091 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2011

I can't say enough good things about Volcano Lodge! I tend to be picky about places and this was where my husband and I decided to spend our honeymoon....and we couldn't have been more pleased!

The rooms are simple and nice, well appointed with everything you need. There was a little porch off of our room that had two rocking chairs and a great view of the volcano and all the abundant gardens around the property which was wonderful on mornings where you just wanted to sit outside and listen to nature. The entire property is surrounded by lush gardens and there’s even a small walking path that you shouldn’t miss! It leads to a small pond and a few sets of chairs and porch-type swings that you can just sit on and enjoy nature.

As far as the restaurant is concerned, we ended up getting the meal plan which included lunches and dinner and the food was fabulous. There were great things to choose from and they didn’t skimp on portions. Not to say that it was a typical massive resort type food though. It was all super high quality and tasted wonderful. We stayed at the hotel probably longer than most people (5 nights) and were craving a bit more variety than regular menu towards the end and the hotel staff was more than accommodating. (Octavio was an awesome waiter, FYI!)

Which leads me to another point, the staff is awesome! The rooms and grounds are kept meticulously clean. My hubby and I were often hanging by the pool for hours on end and there was typically someone cleaning, sweeping, dusting, etc. Not obtrusively, just something I noticed that went to show with what excellent care they treat the property. Everyone we encountered was nice, friendly, and wanting to make our stay a good one. All the guys at the front desk were there to explain and book any excursions, which made life easy for those of us that just want to enjoy and not plan to the nth degree (Alejandro rocked!). We were even surprised when the night before our departure we booked our taxi for a 4:30 am departure (yuck) and there someone waiting for us with a golf cart as we departed our room the next morning at 4:15 am to take us to the front desk. So thoughtful and unexpected!

I just can’t say enough nice things about this place. It was small, welcoming, well-appointed and a stress-free place to spend your vacation no matter how long your stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MeganM76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2011

We stayed here two nights. It was nice but the location is not ideal. You can't really walk anywhere, you almost always need a taxi. However the fact that your room stares straight at the volcano is pretty cool. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful. The staff is great too. They are super helpful at booking tours, which pick you up at the hotel. Our room was just okay. It was a little stuffy and not as modern as we expected. We also requested one king or queen bed but got two doubles. Not a huge deal but not what we wanted. The bathroom was not very modern and I wore flipflops in the shower (enough said). The grounds of the lodge are beautiful. The pool is small but we didnt really use it so it was not a big deal. I got a massage from the spa but was not very impressed. Also, the walls are super thin. I know the hotel could not control the fact that there was a screaming baby in the next room but we literally could not sleep because of it. Overall nice place but I might try somewhere else if we come back to La Fortuna.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nomster13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

This hotel exceeded our expectations. The gardens were beautiful and the view from room was amazing. The staff was welcoming and the breakfast offered a good variety. Overall, it's hard to beat.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Wanting a place to relax and get away from the hustle bustle of our very busy lifes I ran across a fabulous deal for a 3 night stay....Having stayed in many 4 and 5 star resorts wondered how this would compare. We fell in love with the small, quaintness of the place. Everything is convenient and easy to get to. The food at the restaurant is outstanding and prepared with a beautiful presentation! The breakfast buffet is out of this world with the best fruit imaginable. All facilities are kept spotlessly clean. It was refreshing to sit on our very private patio and see the volcano and enjoy the gorgeous gardens and birds. The staff was friendly and always ready to help. We went to book a massage and realized they came to us! We did not even have to leave our rooms!! Very professional and much lower in price than what most resorts charge. Had a massage and mini facial for I believe $80 and it was about an hour and half long! I suppose the thing we liked best was that it did not tire you out to walk the entire premises and we so enjoyed the beautiful gardens and nature walks...the view out our room and enjoying it from the rocking chairs on our patio though was perhaps the best...hard to say! The least and this was absolutely no big deal was that the beds did not have down comforters and pillows, but other than that...it was perfect!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbkf1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

Stayed here for a few nights with my husband. We had our own transportation but you could easily visit La Fortuna without it. Volcano Lodge was very easily accessible, about halfway between "downtown" and the more remote areas by Lake Arenal. All paved roads to hotel, really the location could not have been any better at all.

Rooms were not luxurious but clean and serviceable. Only real complaint is that the mattresses were a bit uncomfortable and we had two doubles (or two queens, not sure) when we would've much preferred a single king.

Gardens and grounds are well kept, pool was rarely used and was quite nice.

Buffet breakfast was complete (egg station, meat, pancakes, cereal, breads, fruit, gallo pinto, plantains, etc) if a little boring by the last day. We ate dinner twice in the hotel restaurant (which I hardly ever do) and were quite pleased both days with the quality and price of the food. Service around the hotel was very charming, genuinely friendly, and polite, if occasionally a bit slow. (Don't go expecting a quick bite to eat for dinner!)

We booked early and got a good deal- if we ever travel again to Arenal I can almost certainly say that we will stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Dylaness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2011

I stayed with my daughter for three nights at the Volano Lodge. The rooms themselves aren't much as far as luxury goes. They are very basic but clean. We did have some ants in our room when we got there but they addressed that and we didn't see them again. Again, we were in the rainforest so that is to be expected. The gardens, the service, the food and the pool made up for what the room was lacking. They were all excellent. The gardens were spectacular.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coconut17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.7 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,906 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,378 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,923 reviews
1.3 mi away
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort &...
#24 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
888 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#14 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Lodge & Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Lodge & Springs

Address: La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#10 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £83 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Volcano Lodge & Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At VOLCANO LODGE AND SPRINGS, located in La Palma, La Fortuna de San Carlos, at the foot of the majestic Arenal Volcano, our hot springs and lush tropical garden gives you joy and relaxation to our guests and companions. Undoubtedly, our location allows you to witness the imposing Arenal Volcano from a vantage point. QUALITY SERVICE: Knowing that service is the main reason of hospitality, the Volcano Lodge & Gardens’ team, will do our best to make your stay a very fond memory to take home. FACILITIES: All our 66 rooms are Superior and non smoking, have deluxe finishes, 2 comfortable full size beds or 1 king size bed, TV/cable, telephone, air-conditioned, coffee maker, hot water shower, hairdryer and a nice terrace facing the Volcano. We also offer 4 rooms for handicap. RESTAURANT:Sura Restaurant, capacity: 120 people, we’ll be offering you our traditional local and international food, while you enjoy the majestic view of the volcano, birds surrounded nature. You can ask for room service too. OTHER FACILITIES: *Two swimming pools for adults, two swimming pools for children and two Jacuzzis, all of them with view to the Volcano.*Laundry service, Private parking, Internet Access / Wireless Free, Tours information, nature trail, Playground.* Massages Service from 9 am to 9 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Volcano Lodge & Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Lodge And Gardens
Volcano Lodge & Gardens Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Lodge & Springs Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing