We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Nayara Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Volcano Inn(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kokoro Arenal(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Mountain Paradise(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Manoa Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sueno Dorado & Hot Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,237)
Filter reviews
3,237 results
Traveller rating
1,923
1,074
189
38
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,923
1,074
189
38
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot springscosta ricala fortunabeautiful groundsprivate hot springrocking chairsswim up bartowel animalsprivate patiobreakfast buffetback porchevery morningrainy seasonrooms are nicethermal poolsarenal arearestaurant staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,299 - 2,304 of 3,237 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2007

Stayed at the Volcano Lodge for three nights in mid-November. Unfortunately the weather was spotty (rainy, foggy) but expected still for that time of year.

Our stay at the Volcano Lodge was surprisingly enjoyable. Definitely not the five star hotel experience, but the service was excellent, room was clean, and the food was better in some respects (lots of variety, "local" food) than the super fancy places we were visiting throughout our trip. The only downside was the fact that you could hear everything in the rooms next to ours, down to conversations people were having to babies screaming, etc. But that was the only negative thing to report.

Definitely not a fancy experience, but roomy, clean, with excellent service. What more can one ask for?

Stayed: November 2007
3  Thank relucanttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2007

Our driver recommended this place. The ample grounds are beautiful. You feel like you are in a huge resort and yet the cabin-style rooms are very spread apart. We stayed near the second pool where the nice complimentary breakfast was served. What a great setting and peaceful. A great value for these rooms considering the: beautiful grounds, clean and sizeable rooms, very helpful staff, and great location. Their nice lobby even had free computer access for internet and a game table. Last time we were in Arenal we stayed at Silencio Del Campo and although the rooms over there have more character, the grounds at Volcano Lodge are just so pleasant to experience and to walk around. Don't miss the outdoor spa tub near pool #2 as it is tucked away in a nice private setting. Only negative comment I have (and it was not a big deal) was that the servers at the restaurant near pool #2 are very slow and a bit clueless. We ate there 3 times and was consistent.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TravelGuy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2007

The sound of rocks flying down the mountain side at night are amazing. You actually can see fire and lava from your balcony! Freakin' amazing!

Stayed: April 2004
1  Thank TravelMaster9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2007

We spent 3 nights @ the Volcano Lodge and I must say, the workers are very nice and professional. We stayed in the 300 series rooms which is about a 5-7 minute walk from the lobby but you can ask the front desk to send the golf cart to pick you up if you don't like walking.

The rooms are very clean and safe. They have a safe in each room to store passports, money, valuables etc. There's also a porch in the back where you can relax after a long day of tours. We didn't get to see the Volcano cause it was cloudy pretty much all the days we were there.

There are 2 restaurants at this hotel, one in the front (by the lobby) and one in the back (by the swim up pool). We had lunch at both and I liked the one in front the best.

I would definetely stay at the Volcano Lodge again!!

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank famoussd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2007

I stayed at Volcano Lodge and was very happy with my decision to do so. I was impressed with how clean the grounds and rooms were. The staff was excellent and helpful. The rooms were nice and the best part was the patio outside. Great view of the Arenal Volcano! The pool was relaxing and I plan on coming back here with my children. Volcano Lodge and the Arenal area are perfect for a family vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BlueDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews