We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time at Volcano Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 October 2011

I returned yesterday from ten days in Costa Rica - three of those days being at Volcano Lodge. The staff at the hotel was fabulous - very accommodating, helpful and always had a smile on his/her face. My Costa Rican vacation started out fabulous due to the great time at Volcano Lodge.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,000)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,803 - 1,809 of 3,000 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2011

This was our first hotel in Costa Rica and did not disappoint us!! It was much better then expected and couldn't have been more beautiful. The view of the volcano was amazing. And the staff was the friendliest we had met. They were so helpful and made our stay so amazing!!! We were so lucky we got to experience this. Thank you for everything -Lindsey Dopp & Jake Fitzgerald

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindseyRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

This hotel has a beautiful & quiet location about 7 km from La Fortuna. A taxi costs about US$10 one way to town, if you don't have a car. When the volcano was visible, we had great views from the restaurant, the pool & Jacuzzi area, & from our back patio. The room & bathroom were comfortable & modern, & we enjoyed relaxing in the rockers on the private patio. The hotel staff were all very friendly & helpful for arranging our tours & other needs. I loved coming back to the room each day with a unique towel arrangement in the form of animals. It was a nice touch. We had breakfasts, which were included, & dinners there. The quality of food was what I would expect in a more expensive restaurant, & worth the value.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carolynlovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We loved this hotel. Staff was friendly, polite and extremely helpful. The breakfast had all the right choice of foods to get you going on all the hikes, and tours. The restaurant in the hotel was very good and one of the best values in the area. The rooms were neat and clean. The Wi-Fi was only available by the restaurant or the hotel lobby. If your going to be out all day, for the money it's the best hotel in the area. Close by to everything. It has nice grounds and a very casual but private layout. I do believe all the rooms have a great volcano view. It was perfect for our trip.

Room Tip: Get room near to the restaurant. Room numbers 205-210. Easy walk to pool and lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Volcano Lodge is conveniently located between the town of La Fortuna and The Volcano National Park. We had a rental car, so it was easy to get around.

The rooms are ok. The best thing about them is the back door to the ground level patio. When I woke up early, I would sit outside, view the inactive volcano, and watch the colorful birds fly by. Also, the cleaning crew does the towel art garnished with flowers.

My main problem is the uncomfortable mattress. For what I was paying, I expected better. Also, the restaurant seemed a little understaffed and the front desk staff was not very friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emmaleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
volcanolodge, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Volcano Lodge & Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2011

First of all, thank you very much for visiting and helping to feed back to us with your experience.

We will check your room to fix any problems in it. Because it is the first report we have about it.

Thanks again for your comments, have been very helpful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

beautiful grounds, pretty nice folks and at the base of the volcano. the stay was very enjoyable and the food was excellent for the included breakfast as well as one dinner we had at the hotel. it is 7km out of town, so you cannot walk anywhere, but with a car it is no problem, and just a ways down the road from tabacon hot springs''($60.00 for 2 days per person)

Room Tip: v iew of the area is good on all sides, get near Sura restauarant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpearsTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We were in Costa Rica for 7 days just last week. This was by far the best place we stayed. Everyone here was very helpful and very accommodating. The view of Volcano Arenal was spectacular every day. The flowers at the resort were well maintained. Everyone was clean and maintained very well. It was hard to leave from here. I highly recommend you book a reservation here for your stay in the Arenal area.

Room Tip: Ask for a volcano view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 123marge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,574 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#13 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,509 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,870 reviews
3.8 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,367 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Lodge & Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Lodge & Springs

Address: La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £71 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Volcano Lodge & Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At VOLCANO LODGE AND SPRINGS, located in La Palma, La Fortuna de San Carlos, at the foot of the majestic Arenal Volcano, our hot springs and lush tropical garden gives you joy and relaxation to our guests and companions. Undoubtedly, our location allows you to witness the imposing Arenal Volcano from a vantage point. QUALITY SERVICE: Knowing that service is the main reason of hospitality, the Volcano Lodge & Gardens’ team, will do our best to make your stay a very fond memory to take home. FACILITIES: All our 66 rooms are Superior and non smoking, have deluxe finishes, 2 comfortable full size beds or 1 king size bed, TV/cable, telephone, air-conditioned, coffee maker, hot water shower, hairdryer and a nice terrace facing the Volcano. We also offer 4 rooms for handicap. RESTAURANT:Sura Restaurant, capacity: 120 people, we’ll be offering you our traditional local and international food, while you enjoy the majestic view of the volcano, birds surrounded nature. You can ask for room service too. OTHER FACILITIES: *Two swimming pools for adults, two swimming pools for children and two Jacuzzis, all of them with view to the Volcano.*Laundry service, Private parking, Internet Access / Wireless Free, Tours information, nature trail, Playground.* Massages Service from 9 am to 9 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Volcano Lodge & Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Lodge And Gardens
Volcano Lodge & Gardens Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Lodge & Springs Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing