We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Was Okay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Was Okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2007

This hotel was fair.

On the negative side: it rained torrentially at night here and it was quite noisy inside the room during the rains. That made it difficult to sleep. We noticed some buildings had tin roofs and some had the Spanish tile roofs. Our building had a tin roof so surely that had something to do with the noise.

Also, we could hear the neighbor snoring one night so that also hampered our sleep. The service seemed indifferent at times so I can't give outstanding marks for that, either.

On the positive side: the grounds are beautiful, the rooms themselves are quite nice and the beds were comfortable. The view of the volcano, from what I hear, is quite nice (we had to go to the nat'l park on the other side of the volcano to see any of the volcano itself as the hotel is on the windward side and therefore the clouds never retreated on this side of the mountain during our stay).

The location is approximately midway between La Fortuna (the nearest town) and the Arenal National Park. Cabs were a little pricey in this area so if you're cost-conscious, organize trips wisely. If I recall correctly, it was about $7 USD to get to/from La Fortuna and the hotel.

  • Liked — Room cleanliness, view.
  • Disliked — Noise, service.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yike73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,583
    951
    166
    34
    13
See reviews for
705
1,367
68
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2007

This place was as close to the bottom of the volcano as you can get. The rooms were nice, my only complaint wa when it rains, which it did everyday, with the tin roof it was loud. The breakfast was ok, same thing everyday. Look at my profile, I haven't been to as many places as others, but I have been all over the US, Mexico, Central America, and Caribean; I have never been to a place where the staff, and locals were nicer. I couldn't believe how nice they were. Before you go to Arenal, find out which way the lava is flowing, it changes throughout the year. So make sure you stay at a hotel that is on the right side.

  • Liked — The people were amazing
  • Disliked — Not on the side of lava flow
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adam_uh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2007

This place was awesome! the best hotel on our trip. Great price, Good breakfast, huge comfortable bed, big bathroom, very quiet. Well I should say very quiet until 4 am when Carlos, the golden retriever from the cattle ranch next door started barking. We talked to Carlos about his barking and he settled in to guard our back door and was quiet for about 10 minutes. I called the front desk and asked them come get the dog. They said, "oh that's Carlos" and laughed. They never came and my husband ended up walking Carlos to the front desk.

Probably not a reason to book somewhere else, just a funny story about the hotel.

We didn't see any activity from the volcano but there is a perfect view from the back porch.

  • Liked — big room, nice folks, perfect view of the volcano
  • Disliked — Carlos the barking dog
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank cybperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2007

Stayed at the Volcano Lodge for three nights in mid-November. Unfortunately the weather was spotty (rainy, foggy) but expected still for that time of year.

Our stay at the Volcano Lodge was surprisingly enjoyable. Definitely not the five star hotel experience, but the service was excellent, room was clean, and the food was better in some respects (lots of variety, "local" food) than the super fancy places we were visiting throughout our trip. The only downside was the fact that you could hear everything in the rooms next to ours, down to conversations people were having to babies screaming, etc. But that was the only negative thing to report.

Definitely not a fancy experience, but roomy, clean, with excellent service. What more can one ask for?

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank relucanttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2007

Our driver recommended this place. The ample grounds are beautiful. You feel like you are in a huge resort and yet the cabin-style rooms are very spread apart. We stayed near the second pool where the nice complimentary breakfast was served. What a great setting and peaceful. A great value for these rooms considering the: beautiful grounds, clean and sizeable rooms, very helpful staff, and great location. Their nice lobby even had free computer access for internet and a game table. Last time we were in Arenal we stayed at Silencio Del Campo and although the rooms over there have more character, the grounds at Volcano Lodge are just so pleasant to experience and to walk around. Don't miss the outdoor spa tub near pool #2 as it is tucked away in a nice private setting. Only negative comment I have (and it was not a big deal) was that the servers at the restaurant near pool #2 are very slow and a bit clueless. We ate there 3 times and was consistent.

  • Liked — Pleasant grounds, sizeable rooms, and overall how peaceful it was
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelGuy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2007

The sound of rocks flying down the mountain side at night are amazing. You actually can see fire and lava from your balcony! Freakin' amazing!

Stayed April 2004
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelMaster9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2007

We spent 3 nights @ the Volcano Lodge and I must say, the workers are very nice and professional. We stayed in the 300 series rooms which is about a 5-7 minute walk from the lobby but you can ask the front desk to send the golf cart to pick you up if you don't like walking.

The rooms are very clean and safe. They have a safe in each room to store passports, money, valuables etc. There's also a porch in the back where you can relax after a long day of tours. We didn't get to see the Volcano cause it was cloudy pretty much all the days we were there.

There are 2 restaurants at this hotel, one in the front (by the lobby) and one in the back (by the swim up pool). We had lunch at both and I liked the one in front the best.

I would definetely stay at the Volcano Lodge again!!

  • Liked — Clean, Staff VERY knowledgeable and friendly
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank famoussd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.7 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,765 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,304 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,799 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Lodge & Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Lodge & Springs

Property: Volcano Lodge & Springs
Address: La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Volcano Lodge & Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At VOLCANO LODGE AND SPRINGS, located in La Palma, La Fortuna de San Carlos, at the foot of the majestic Arenal Volcano, our hot springs and lush tropical garden gives you joy and relaxation to our guests and companions. Undoubtedly, our location allows you to witness the imposing Arenal Volcano from a vantage point. QUALITY SERVICE: Knowing that service is the main reason of hospitality, the Volcano Lodge & Gardens’ team, will do our best to make your stay a very fond memory to take home. FACILITIES: All our 66 rooms are Superior and non smoking, have deluxe finishes, 2 comfortable full size beds or 1 king size bed, TV/cable, telephone, air-conditioned, coffee maker, hot water shower, hairdryer and a nice terrace facing the Volcano. We also offer 4 rooms for handicap. RESTAURANT:Sura Restaurant, capacity: 120 people, we’ll be offering you our traditional local and international food, while you enjoy the majestic view of the volcano, birds surrounded nature. You can ask for room service too. OTHER FACILITIES: *Two swimming pools for adults, two swimming pools for children and two Jacuzzis, all of them with view to the Volcano.*Laundry service, Private parking, Internet Access / Wireless Free, Tours information, nature trail, Playground.* Massages Service from 9 am to 9 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Volcano Lodge & Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Lodge And Gardens
Volcano Lodge & Gardens Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Lodge & Springs Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing