We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Nearby Hotels
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$264
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$499
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$290
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lomas del Volcan(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$163
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Manoa Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$330
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel El Silencio del Campo(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$177
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$554
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,244)
Filter reviews
3,244 results
Traveller rating
1,927
1,077
189
38
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,927
1,077
189
38
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot springscosta ricala fortunabeautiful groundsprivate hot springrocking chairsswim up bartowel animalsprivate patiobreakfast buffetback porchevery morningrainy seasonrooms are nicethermal poolsarenal arearestaurant staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,301 - 2,306 of 3,244 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2008

This place was amazing. We booked our room from a Costa Rica travel agency website that had only 1 small photo of the hotel. Turns out the place is like a resort! When we got there, they drove us around the premises in a golf cart pointing out the 2 restaurants, pool, poolside bar, mini spa (really a guest room with 2 massage tables), and an amazing view of the volcano. All for $78/night!! The fresh water lobster was the best meal we had in 1 week in Costa Rica. The lobby has free internet. About the only bad thing we have to say is that the hotel is not w/in walking distance of anything. You are completely dependent on a rental car or a tour service. Then again, I think just about all the hotels in the area are the same way.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MeloNYello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2007

This lodge was truly a paradise. The service was excellent, the landscaping was amazing and the view of the volcano was incredible. La Fortuna is a magical place. The people are very friendly and helpful. When you go there, make sure to visit La Fortuna Waterfall. It is an awesome sight. No need to take a tour there. Just grab a cab and go to the waterfall on your own cause it is way cheaper.
If you want to go on a tour, the one that is a must is the Cano Negro Wildlife Refuge. it is worth it. We are ready to go back to the lodge.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank karhov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2007

This hotel was fair.

On the negative side: it rained torrentially at night here and it was quite noisy inside the room during the rains. That made it difficult to sleep. We noticed some buildings had tin roofs and some had the Spanish tile roofs. Our building had a tin roof so surely that had something to do with the noise.

Also, we could hear the neighbor snoring one night so that also hampered our sleep. The service seemed indifferent at times so I can't give outstanding marks for that, either.

On the positive side: the grounds are beautiful, the rooms themselves are quite nice and the beds were comfortable. The view of the volcano, from what I hear, is quite nice (we had to go to the nat'l park on the other side of the volcano to see any of the volcano itself as the hotel is on the windward side and therefore the clouds never retreated on this side of the mountain during our stay).

The location is approximately midway between La Fortuna (the nearest town) and the Arenal National Park. Cabs were a little pricey in this area so if you're cost-conscious, organize trips wisely. If I recall correctly, it was about $7 USD to get to/from La Fortuna and the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yike73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2007

This place was as close to the bottom of the volcano as you can get. The rooms were nice, my only complaint wa when it rains, which it did everyday, with the tin roof it was loud. The breakfast was ok, same thing everyday. Look at my profile, I haven't been to as many places as others, but I have been all over the US, Mexico, Central America, and Caribean; I have never been to a place where the staff, and locals were nicer. I couldn't believe how nice they were. Before you go to Arenal, find out which way the lava is flowing, it changes throughout the year. So make sure you stay at a hotel that is on the right side.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adam_uh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2007

This place was awesome! the best hotel on our trip. Great price, Good breakfast, huge comfortable bed, big bathroom, very quiet. Well I should say very quiet until 4 am when Carlos, the golden retriever from the cattle ranch next door started barking. We talked to Carlos about his barking and he settled in to guard our back door and was quiet for about 10 minutes. I called the front desk and asked them come get the dog. They said, "oh that's Carlos" and laughed. They never came and my husband ended up walking Carlos to the front desk.

Probably not a reason to book somewhere else, just a funny story about the hotel.

We didn't see any activity from the volcano but there is a perfect view from the back porch.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank cybperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews