We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TERRIBLE RESTAURANT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Orange County
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE RESTAURANT”
Reviewed 12 January 2008

We decided to have dinner at the Volcano Lodge where we ate at the night before and had a fine time this was a TERRIBLE experience. With all of the lobsters people were eating last night we asked if they had some. The server said they did, but it’s not on the menu and he came back to tell us that it was $40 USD. Ok, that’s how much it costs in the States. We were going to go for it, but then some other guy (who seemed to be managing everyone) came to us and said that the lobster was $60! Excuse me, the other guy just said it was $40. So the he proceeded to negotiate with us and said he’d give it to us for $50. After seeing our frustration at the audacity he proceed to try to sell us their “Christmas Banquet” – a price fixed menu that had the option for lobster. Whatever, we didn’t want to pay $65 for a Christmas cafeteria meal! So, without having a car, we were a bit stuck and wasted their time by taking another 15 minutes (furious) ordering.

After placing our order – shrimp with fruit and pork tenderloin and waiting to try to think positive in spite of being angry. I see that a colorful plate that could have been mine is being served to a table away from us, we were here first yet their were getting their food before us – hmmm. I’m watching as they enjoy their food, that REALLY looked like mine. And when we are being served our food, which in fact was their food, I pointed out their error. They take our food to the back. They picked up my shrimp from the woman that was already 4 minutes into eating it and take it away. I guess they decided to let the husband keep the pork he was already digging into it. Then I see them 2 minutes later try to serve me THE SAME FOOD that the woman had already eaten from and give my husband the other man’s right food. Of course I’m livid at this point, and they play stupid not understanding the English that I’m saying even though they very well know what happened – how they were trying to serve me food that was half eaten, I saw them take it away and give it to me. And the ‘manager’ who tried to rip us off on the lobsters asked what we wanted. We said, we wanted our right food. He said, our kitchen is very busy and he was protesting doing so because they had too much to do in there and if we wanted a Christmas lobster instead. UGH. Needless to say we left. Definitely no pura vida in this place, they were jerks (I have more chioce words that I will keep)! And the sad part is, this really sticks out in our mind when we remember what should have been a great adventure.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank goingplllaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,885 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,685
    980
    172
    35
    13
See reviews for
769
1,419
71
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado, USA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2008

This was a great place to stay for anybody visiting the area. I really think the Volcano Lodge did an excellent selection of their tour companies. I went there on a girls' trip and did the waterfall canyoneering, volcano hike, and Tabocon with dinner there. The drivers were always prompt to pick us up for our excursions and the guides with the companies were polite, friendly, and knowledgable.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank kimpunzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2008

The photo's on Volcano Lodge's website does not do the place justice. The gounds are beautifully groomed. The rooms were spaced out so that it was private and quiet. The rooms were large and the bathroom was roomy. In addition, there were rocking chairs in the fromt "porch" where you could just relax and watch the humming birds. We stayed there for 4 night during Christmas and it was wonderful. The staff were friendly, very accomodating, mostly bilingual in Spanish & English. They had 2 restaurants on site which were fairly priced. The typical meals were fantastic and the buffet breakfast was amazing and fresh. You could exchange US dollars for Collones at a much better rate than the bank or FX chanages in small quantities. Which was not a problem since most places accept US$ and gave back collones at a fair rate. There was free internet and an excursion desk on site. They even called hotels that were facing the lava flow so that we could tell if it was worth it to pay a cab to take us to the volcano at night to see the balls of lava roll down the hill. The front desk called everynight for us and we finally saw it on out last night there. The staff really took care of us. We definetly would stay there again. We loved La Fortuna and this place was exception value for the price and the food. It's location was nice since it was close to Baldi Hotspring which is fantastic as well!!! My only regret was that we didn't spend more time in La Fortuna it's a very nice town with a lot of adventurous things to do.

  • Liked — Rooms were nice, clean and big, staff friendly, restaurant fantastic and reasonably priced
  • Disliked — nothing, we loved the place
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank EcoTravellersToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2008

I received a word of mouth recommendation of the Volcano Lodge and proceeded to check it out on Trip Advisor and it was great! The grounds are beautiful and well manicured, the rooms were spacious, very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was wonderful, plantains every day, hurray! The pool area was relaxing, and my Pina Colada delicious. The front desk staff was a little flakey but they made up for it in friendliness. We also booked excursion trips through the front desk and those went nicely. I highly recommend visiting Tabacon Hot Springs over the Baldi Hot Springs which are also in the area. Overall, a great experience.

  • Liked — The grounds.
  • Disliked — Longer walks to get around.
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank onesunnyday77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2008

This place was amazing. We booked our room from a Costa Rica travel agency website that had only 1 small photo of the hotel. Turns out the place is like a resort! When we got there, they drove us around the premises in a golf cart pointing out the 2 restaurants, pool, poolside bar, mini spa (really a guest room with 2 massage tables), and an amazing view of the volcano. All for $78/night!! The fresh water lobster was the best meal we had in 1 week in Costa Rica. The lobby has free internet. About the only bad thing we have to say is that the hotel is not w/in walking distance of anything. You are completely dependent on a rental car or a tour service. Then again, I think just about all the hotels in the area are the same way.

  • Liked — It was beautiful
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MeloNYello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2007

This lodge was truly a paradise. The service was excellent, the landscaping was amazing and the view of the volcano was incredible. La Fortuna is a magical place. The people are very friendly and helpful. When you go there, make sure to visit La Fortuna Waterfall. It is an awesome sight. No need to take a tour there. Just grab a cab and go to the waterfall on your own cause it is way cheaper.
If you want to go on a tour, the one that is a must is the Cano Negro Wildlife Refuge. it is worth it. We are ready to go back to the lodge.

  • Liked — the friendly service, the breakfast, and surrounding gardens
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank karhov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2007

This hotel was fair.

On the negative side: it rained torrentially at night here and it was quite noisy inside the room during the rains. That made it difficult to sleep. We noticed some buildings had tin roofs and some had the Spanish tile roofs. Our building had a tin roof so surely that had something to do with the noise.

Also, we could hear the neighbor snoring one night so that also hampered our sleep. The service seemed indifferent at times so I can't give outstanding marks for that, either.

On the positive side: the grounds are beautiful, the rooms themselves are quite nice and the beds were comfortable. The view of the volcano, from what I hear, is quite nice (we had to go to the nat'l park on the other side of the volcano to see any of the volcano itself as the hotel is on the windward side and therefore the clouds never retreated on this side of the mountain during our stay).

The location is approximately midway between La Fortuna (the nearest town) and the Arenal National Park. Cabs were a little pricey in this area so if you're cost-conscious, organize trips wisely. If I recall correctly, it was about $7 USD to get to/from La Fortuna and the hotel.

  • Liked — Room cleanliness, view.
  • Disliked — Noise, service.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yike73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,510 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,435 reviews
0.7 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,290 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,869 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Lodge & Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Lodge & Springs

Property: Volcano Lodge & Springs
Address: La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Volcano Lodge & Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At VOLCANO LODGE AND SPRINGS, located in La Palma, La Fortuna de San Carlos, at the foot of the majestic Arenal Volcano, our hot springs and lush tropical garden gives you joy and relaxation to our guests and companions. Undoubtedly, our location allows you to witness the imposing Arenal Volcano from a vantage point. QUALITY SERVICE: Knowing that service is the main reason of hospitality, the Volcano Lodge & Gardens’ team, will do our best to make your stay a very fond memory to take home. FACILITIES: All our 66 rooms are Superior and non smoking, have deluxe finishes, 2 comfortable full size beds or 1 king size bed, TV/cable, telephone, air-conditioned, coffee maker, hot water shower, hairdryer and a nice terrace facing the Volcano. We also offer 4 rooms for handicap. RESTAURANT:Sura Restaurant, capacity: 120 people, we’ll be offering you our traditional local and international food, while you enjoy the majestic view of the volcano, birds surrounded nature. You can ask for room service too. OTHER FACILITIES: *Two swimming pools for adults, two swimming pools for children and two Jacuzzis, all of them with view to the Volcano.*Laundry service, Private parking, Internet Access / Wireless Free, Tours information, nature trail, Playground.* Massages Service from 9 am to 9 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Volcano Lodge & Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Lodge And Gardens
Volcano Lodge & Gardens Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Lodge & Springs Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing