We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“was very pleased”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 12 December 2012

this hotel was chosen by Gate 1 travel and we were very pleased. Dining room was nice - food was good, garden walk was beautiful. View of volcano was excellent. room was trendy and modern. I recommend buying excursions directly from the supplier, though. buying thru the hotel was alot more expensive.

Room Tip: ask for room with patio facing the volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,996)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,565 - 1,571 of 2,996 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2012

The room was fine (though you can her your neighbor snore as the walls seem paper thin) but the service not so good and the food not so good either. The area has lots of hotels so read and choose carefully. The gardens are pretty but this is common of many of the hotels and resorts in Costa Rica so look around, read comments from other tourists and travelers and find a place that suits your needs. I wouldn't recommend Volcano Lodge and Gardens mainly due to the rude front desk personnel, the poor service at the restaurant and the food .

Room Tip: Maybe try somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IlovebelizeCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
volcanolodge, Public Relations Manager at Volcano Lodge & Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

Dear Guest,

We always appreciate feedback from all our guests, because we think that is the only way to improve.

Also respect your opinion when writing a review. So like many other guests, which may differ from your comment.

But this is a democracy, we hope you spend a Happy Holidays.

On our staff, we will take steps to prevent a disservice to future guests.

Thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012 via mobile

Great location. Clean. Great staff. BEAUTIFUL! Highly recommend! Great price... I can't believe this jewel was this inexpensive. I want to come back. The hot tub is great. The lush vegetation is picturesque.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLeeRush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Good place to stay off the main drag ~5-6 km north of town. So it helps to have a car to get into town. Easy drive to most of the local attractions. Nice pool and jacuzzi - although the jacuzzi could have been warmer. Happy Hour 2-for-1 drinks with good drink menu options. Breakfast buffet is basic with scrambled eggs, sausage, pancakes, potatoes, and gallo pinto. Good value for the money when purchased online off one of the travel sites.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We stayed 2 nights in room#316 during off season. The 1st night was very quite I think bcs no one next to our room. The 2nd night was not so quite; I think the room has brick walls, but somehow we could hear people next door talking, their tv & even the snore! Other than that it's a simple nice room, clean, nice garden, good for the price.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suntergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

This place is beautiful. The rooms are neat and very clean. The kitchen staff were great, ready to meet your every need My husband and I had a great stay for 4 nights. The only negative experience we had is that there are no ironing boards.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madeline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We just returned from Costa Rica and stayed for three nights at the Volcano Lodge and Gardens. We have a very nice stay and would recommend it highly. The rooms, as stated in other reviews, are basic but clean and comfortable. Each porch had two of the comfy Costa Rican rocking chairs that were a perfect way to enjoy a drink and stare at the incredible gardens and volcano views. We had two rooms (one for my husband and me and the other for our two daughters) and they both had great views of the volcano. I'm not sure why another reviewer had trouble with the no-flush toilet paper issue; we found that pretty standard throughout Costa Rica. I don't care about the whole wristband thing -- just not a big deal. The staff was friendly and helpful. The food was very good and plentiful (especially the breakfast). I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CQGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,573 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#13 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,506 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,869 reviews
3.8 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,367 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Lodge & Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Lodge & Springs

Address: La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £71 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Volcano Lodge & Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At VOLCANO LODGE AND SPRINGS, located in La Palma, La Fortuna de San Carlos, at the foot of the majestic Arenal Volcano, our hot springs and lush tropical garden gives you joy and relaxation to our guests and companions. Undoubtedly, our location allows you to witness the imposing Arenal Volcano from a vantage point. QUALITY SERVICE: Knowing that service is the main reason of hospitality, the Volcano Lodge & Gardens’ team, will do our best to make your stay a very fond memory to take home. FACILITIES: All our 66 rooms are Superior and non smoking, have deluxe finishes, 2 comfortable full size beds or 1 king size bed, TV/cable, telephone, air-conditioned, coffee maker, hot water shower, hairdryer and a nice terrace facing the Volcano. We also offer 4 rooms for handicap. RESTAURANT:Sura Restaurant, capacity: 120 people, we’ll be offering you our traditional local and international food, while you enjoy the majestic view of the volcano, birds surrounded nature. You can ask for room service too. OTHER FACILITIES: *Two swimming pools for adults, two swimming pools for children and two Jacuzzis, all of them with view to the Volcano.*Laundry service, Private parking, Internet Access / Wireless Free, Tours information, nature trail, Playground.* Massages Service from 9 am to 9 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Volcano Lodge & Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Lodge And Gardens
Volcano Lodge & Gardens Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Lodge & Springs Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing