We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2008

Right under volcano. Beautiful view from the room. Grounds beautiful. Nice pool. Great food.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank Dutchgirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,749 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,585
    951
    166
    34
    13
See reviews for
705
1,369
68
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
woolwich, new jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2008

I don't want to repeat the previous review too much, they were right on! My husband and I spent 5 nights here and hated leaving. The staff and the hotel and Sur restaurant were magnificent! The view of the volcano from our room was spectacular, even though it was the green season the rain never really got in the way (remember it is a rainforest.) Although there is no visible lava from the hotel you can see the smoke during the day and orange glow at night. You can easily get a taxi driver to drive you to the Mirador (lookout point) to see lava, our guy drove us and waited an hour until the clouds lifted and the lava flowed!
Make sure you make it to Ecotermales (say hi to Orlando!) Don't miss dinner at La Choza de Laurel and a casado lunch at Sur.

PURA VIDA!!!

  • Liked — clean accomodations, friendly service, and great food
  • Disliked — dim lighting in rooms
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank n0rth_0r_s0uth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2008

What a gem! We booked this hotel through a Costa Rican website and I have to say, this hotel was a most pleasant surprise! We loved the landscape, the views, the staff. We felt extremely safe the entire time. Their breakfast buffest was delicious, generous and best of all, included in the price of the room.

On day 1, our 8 year old son went exploring behind our hotel room. There is a vegetable garden as well as several fruit trees. My son made friends with a little girl staying next door and one of the gardeners gave them guayabas, limes and sugar cane which he even cut for them to eat on the spot.

My son promptly took his guayabas over to the restaurant by the pool and asked the bartender to make him a drink which he did free of charge. The maids made masterpieces out of our towels each day and it was a pleasure to get back to our room each night.

The only issue we had, which was really just a minor inconvenience, was booking a tour to the hot springs through the on-site agency that the hotel has. The young woman booked us for the wrong date so the shuttle bus showed up the day before. She said that she corrected the mistake but the next day our shuttle bus did not show up at the slotted time. After working with the reception desk to fix the problem (because the on-site agent wasn't there), the shuttle arrived and took us to our destination. All in all, we only lost about 40 minutes, but the hot springs are booked in 4 hour increments. Eco Termales was so serene, and very private and secluded. Another interesting and pleasant touch was that they don't keep tabs of what you drink. When you check out, you tell them what you had and they charge you. And the drink prices were fairly reasonable for the area.

Oh, another small thing was that the phones weren't working for outgoing calls in the hotel rooms so I had to walk to the reception to use their phone. It was a nice little walk. Also, there is no local bus so if you want to go to town, and you should, it will cost around $6 each way.

One word of caution: My husband and son went exploring behind the hotel and encountered a Pit Viper in the river! It was one of the most memorable parts of our trip. Very scary!

The restaurant food was good and fairly reasonable also. There is not a whole lot of variety in town so not really worth it to go into town to eat, but great to go for shopping and just walking around. And of course you must go to the volcano. Otherwise, why go to Arenal?

  • Liked — great location, great view, great service
  • Disliked — no public transportation in the area
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Megencita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2008

Glad we used tripadvisor and picked this hotel !!!

Stayed for four nights in late June/early July. Paid $84 per night for 2 people, including taxes and buffet breakfast.

Upon arrival, room had a small bottle of Italian Chianti and “animal towel art” decorated with fresh orchids.

There are 2 restaurants at Volcano Lodge. The one at the hotel entrance is not part of the hotel. The restaurant named Sura is part of the hotel and is excellent.

The breakfast buffet at Sura included omelets to order, scrambled eggs, rice mixed with black beans, some warm meat (tasted like a cross between hot dogs and keilbasa), fried plantains, granola cereal, corn flakes, strawberry yogurt, sweet pineapple slices, papaya chunks, sliced cold ham, some type of cheese, bread/toast, sweet cake, juices, coffee, an assortment of herbal teas, and other stuff I just don’t remember. Buffet food was the same each day.

The dinners at Sura were tasty and reasonable priced. A ten ounce filet mignon entrée, served with vegetables and bread, cost about $16, including the 13% tax and 10% service fee. Service was excellent.

Taxi between Volcano Lodge and downtown La Fortuna (taxi stand at the park) cost 3200 to 3500 colones (about $7) each way.

The travel agent in the reception area works for Sunset Tours. I booked two excursions through this person: (1) Sky Trek/Sky Tram zip lines in Arenal and (2) Selvatura canopy tour/zip lines for our next stop in Monteverde. The prices through Sunset were the same as advertised on the zip line companies' web sites, and included transportation from my hotel. Rates for these two zip line companies are priced differently for adults, students, and children. If your party includes a student too old to fall into the child category, be sure to make a point of letting the agent know you want the student rate (you save about $10 from the adult rate). The Sky Trek and Selvatura web sites indicated that you needed to show a student ID for the student rate, but no one asked or cared upon our arrival at the zip lines.

One computer is available in the reception area for free internet access.

When at the pools (there are two), the jacuzzi’s (again, there are two) are hidden from view by plants and landscaping. There is also a small kiddie pool beside each pool.

Staff has some golf carts and will gladly move you and your luggage between room and reception.

Easy to get taxi at the hotel – contact reception, and wait about 10 minutes.

Very clean. Large bathroom and large shower. Nice fluffy towels.

We were there for four days in the rainy season. Mornings were nice. Light rain some afternoons. Rain some evenings. Heavy rain some nights.

All lighting in the room appears to be compact fluorescent bulbs, and is somewhat dim. Only the bathroom lighting was bright. With sunrise at 5:30AM, early risers can sit on the porch and read or watch the clouds dance around the volcano.

The only negative aspect of our stay was noise from an adjacent room one night.

Hotel’s web site says… “At Volcano Lodge you and your family will have a unique view of the Arenal volcano… at night with unforgettable live colored eruptions worth photographing.” A few years ago, the lava flow moved form the north to the west side of the volcano. Consequently, you won’t see any red lava unless you drive 20 minutes away from the hotel.

  • Liked — volcano views from room and Sura restaurant
  • Disliked — thin walls between us and noisy neighbor one night
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank whereRwegoinext?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2008

I can't express enough how satisfied our stay at the Volcano Lodge was. Great location with great volcano views, freindly service, and the breakfast buffet was spectacular.

The smallest details sometimes are left unsaid. But, during our stay we had excursions planned daily. The Volcano Lodge placed a confirmation of the next days excursion at the door of our room every evening. The Volcano Lodge really goes the extra mile to make your stay worry free.

  • Liked — Price & Location
  • Disliked — Long Walk from Room to Reception Office.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Alfie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kutztown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2008

I used Trip advisor heavily before booking our trip and I am so glad I followed the advice of other members and selected the Volcano Lodge

My partner and I along with our two sons age 8 and 14 arrived in San Jose, and we had a van already booked to take us to the Volcano Lodge. It was a 3 hour trip but it went quickly. Our driver stopped a few times and our first meal in CR was at a locals favorite place. It was a long day of travel but I am glad we went right to Arenal area.

The Volcano Lodge is heaven. It’s not a 5 star luxury place, but then again we didn’t go to CR to get what we could have had in a hotel in NY. The place and the grounds are open and beautiful. The reception desk was good. They were quick and efficient which we wanted after a long day of travel. The room was big and the bathroom was great, love the walk in shower stall. The little porches you see are really nice.

The volcano is the star in town and we had a great view of it. The weather was hot and dry in the morning and afternoon and around 4 each day it poured for a few hours, then all nice again by morning. We were there for 4 days and we saw the volcano with no clouds at all, full view 60% of the time. It was partial about 20% and hidden the rest of the time. The view from Volcano Lodge is great.

We took a taxi into town once and ate at a local place and saw what the little town had to offer. It is touristy, but then again we are tourists there for the first time so we loved it all.
We went on the lodge recommended volcano hike/hot springs/dinner turn. The hike was nice and we saw a few animals but not as good as the tours we got in other parts of CR. We chose the Eco Termale hot springs. It was outstanding and we had the place almost to ourselves. The is opposed to what we saw when we dropped off others at Baldi. It’s like the difference between going to Chuckee Cheese and an intimate nice French restraint. If you like theme parks go to Baldi, if you like very personal quiet relaxing hot spring experience go to Eco.

The staff at the Volcano Lodge were great, the lower down the rung they are the nicer they are.

We will go back to Arenal and when we do, I couldn’t be convinced to stay anywhere other than Volcano Lodge

  • Liked — Everything from start to finish
  • Disliked — Their international phone services are poor
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank wayne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2008

By far, this was the best hotel deal for us in Costa Rica, and was our favorite place to stay at.

The grounds are very beautiful, the staff are all excellent, the food was some of the best we had during our 8 day stay in the country. The room was very clean. We enjoyed the generous breakfast buffet every morning.

Overall, you will get great value for your money at the Volcano Lodge.

  • Liked — Amazing landscaping of hotel grounds, excellent food, helpful and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Our room had a partially blocked view of the volcano, although we weren't in the room too much of the time to enjoy it anyhow during daylight.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Kero33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.7 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,180 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,306 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Lodge & Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Lodge & Springs

Property: Volcano Lodge & Springs
Address: La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Volcano Lodge & Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At VOLCANO LODGE AND SPRINGS, located in La Palma, La Fortuna de San Carlos, at the foot of the majestic Arenal Volcano, our hot springs and lush tropical garden gives you joy and relaxation to our guests and companions. Undoubtedly, our location allows you to witness the imposing Arenal Volcano from a vantage point. QUALITY SERVICE: Knowing that service is the main reason of hospitality, the Volcano Lodge & Gardens’ team, will do our best to make your stay a very fond memory to take home. FACILITIES: All our 66 rooms are Superior and non smoking, have deluxe finishes, 2 comfortable full size beds or 1 king size bed, TV/cable, telephone, air-conditioned, coffee maker, hot water shower, hairdryer and a nice terrace facing the Volcano. We also offer 4 rooms for handicap. RESTAURANT:Sura Restaurant, capacity: 120 people, we’ll be offering you our traditional local and international food, while you enjoy the majestic view of the volcano, birds surrounded nature. You can ask for room service too. OTHER FACILITIES: *Two swimming pools for adults, two swimming pools for children and two Jacuzzis, all of them with view to the Volcano.*Laundry service, Private parking, Internet Access / Wireless Free, Tours information, nature trail, Playground.* Massages Service from 9 am to 9 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Volcano Lodge & Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Lodge And Gardens
Volcano Lodge & Gardens Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Lodge & Springs Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing