We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome service! Beautiful surroundings! Comfortable stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rochester Hills, MI
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Awesome service! Beautiful surroundings! Comfortable stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

We have travelled many places, stayed in many hotels and lodges and I can say this is the BEST we have stayed in. The best of it all is their "service"...always willing to serve and with a smile.
We had an unfortunate accident while in the La Fortuna area and when they came to know about it, before our return to our room, they put a sweet card on our bed saying 'we know it has been a difficult day for you but we are so glad to have you back' with a bottle of wine and some chocolates. This note was so touching and we felt so good...like someone cares in the unknown place far away from our country. After that incident, every service member we met always enquired about our well being....it seemed like everyone knew about what we had gone through and tried their best to make our stay comfortable. I give the maximum + rating for their hospitality. I consider service the essential ingredient in lodging and they surpassed in this area!

Next is the beautiful surroundings...well manicured gardens. I have almost 200pics of their beautiful gardens...u can have a beautiful walk around this place. You will find every variety of plant here...amazingly beautiful flowers. You can rock in the backyard watching the plant life..different kinds of birds and animals.....very pleasing to the eye.

The complimentary breakfast is very good....lots of varieties and tastes very good. We stayed at the place for 5 days(had to extend because of the accident) and were not bored with the breakfast....fabulous spread. Food at the restaurant was very good...good quality and good service. On one of the days we had to leave to a tour before the breakfast time and they had packed Togo breakfast for my family. Absolutely thoughtful! Even those days when I used to dine in their facility for breakfast, the waiters would come forward to pack breakfast for my husband who couldn't walk to the place. They never did this for a tip.....I noticed each and every service member was helpful.

Pools, thermal spring and jacuzzi facilities was good. Didn't try the spa. Everything was just fabulous. We were glad that we had to extend our stay here....Thumbs up to them!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 310, close to the restaurant, pools and play area
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ttaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,583
    951
    166
    34
    13
See reviews for
705
1,367
68
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prince George, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Room has gorgeous view of volcano... Paths all around resort to see wildlife & small enough to see lots & staff are all very helpful. Even had to use the medic services for a busted toe! Ricardo did a great job taking care of the situation..food at restaurant was delicious, good breakfast included.
Spa services were also fabulous, Maria & Maricell did a wonderful job, we had papaya brown sugar scrub, & Arenal massage, & mini facial... Wonderful

Room Tip: Room 305 in back & very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssw61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

This place was perfect for what we needed. The room was clean and the view was gorgeous. Walking around the grounds felt like I was in a story book, with its plush greens and beautiful flowers. The restaurant was great (we had Juan Carlos both nights and breakfast), breakfast buffet is a must and grabbing dinner later as well. We decided to hike (Cerro Chato) the day we got there, so luckily we were just about 15-20 mins from the Arenal Observatory. Also we were there to check out the hot springs, which there are quite a few hot springs resorts that are close by. I would highly recommend staying here as I will try and come back real soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

A wonderful facility. We spent two nights, and really enjoyed our stay. It's close to the Arenal Volcano and to other sites (Arenal National Park, Arenal Lake, Nuevo Arenal). The food was outstanding, the pool, pool side bar and restaurant were also great.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IL7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yellowstone, Montana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

The gardens that surround your rooms are amazing and well kept. It was cool that all the patios faced the nearby volcano. The breakfast buffets were delicious every morning, and the service was great. Jonathan is a great server, answering our questions and keeping our glasses full. Would recommend this resort highly!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rainbowponybeats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

This hotel (although more of a resort) is phenomenal. The grounds are AMAZING, sprawling manicured gardens (boasting all sorts of wildlife in and of themselves), gorgeous pool area (complete with swim-up bar), excellent restaurant (fantastic food, exceptional service from the waitstaff), and great common area with bar and games (foosball/pool). The room was incredible, so clean and so nice, with a back porch looking out the volcano. Such an amazing stay, this place was a 5-star dream. There is also spa services available, although we did not have the time to fit in massages. Also, they made our towels into origami art.

Room Tip: i'm sure they are all amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abby K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

After a long, stressful day of traveling, my friend and I were relieved to arrive at such a beautiful place. From the moment we arrived the front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was a perfect size, and the view from the back patio was gorgeous! We went during the rainy season, so it was too cloudy to see the volcano, but you would have a perfect view if it weren't cloudy! And all of the plants and flowers on the premises makes you feel like you are in paradise! The restaurant had good food, and they give you a free welcome cocktail upon your arrival. The breakfast was the best I had in Costa Rica! It's a buffet, so there is a huge variety. The ONLY bad thing I would say about this place is that it's a $10 cab ride to and from downtown La Fortuna, and there isn't a lot within walking distance. We did go to the Baldi hot springs one day, and we walked there. It was about a mile which isnt bad but there are no sidewalks. We stayed here for 3 nights but got kind of bored after 2. But the pool and restaurant give you something to do if you want to stay at the hotel for the night. We got a Groupon for this place for half price so it was DEFINITELY worth the money. Highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daralyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.7 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,180 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,306 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Lodge & Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Lodge & Springs

Property: Volcano Lodge & Springs
Address: La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Volcano Lodge & Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At VOLCANO LODGE AND SPRINGS, located in La Palma, La Fortuna de San Carlos, at the foot of the majestic Arenal Volcano, our hot springs and lush tropical garden gives you joy and relaxation to our guests and companions. Undoubtedly, our location allows you to witness the imposing Arenal Volcano from a vantage point. QUALITY SERVICE: Knowing that service is the main reason of hospitality, the Volcano Lodge & Gardens’ team, will do our best to make your stay a very fond memory to take home. FACILITIES: All our 66 rooms are Superior and non smoking, have deluxe finishes, 2 comfortable full size beds or 1 king size bed, TV/cable, telephone, air-conditioned, coffee maker, hot water shower, hairdryer and a nice terrace facing the Volcano. We also offer 4 rooms for handicap. RESTAURANT:Sura Restaurant, capacity: 120 people, we’ll be offering you our traditional local and international food, while you enjoy the majestic view of the volcano, birds surrounded nature. You can ask for room service too. OTHER FACILITIES: *Two swimming pools for adults, two swimming pools for children and two Jacuzzis, all of them with view to the Volcano.*Laundry service, Private parking, Internet Access / Wireless Free, Tours information, nature trail, Playground.* Massages Service from 9 am to 9 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Volcano Lodge & Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Lodge And Gardens
Volcano Lodge & Gardens Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Lodge & Springs Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing