We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in a beautiful area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Volcano Lodge & Springs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Halmstad, Sweden
Level Contributor
128 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a beautiful area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We got a nice room with a view of the volcano. Rooms are very spacious and well maintenanced with a cozy veranda outside to enjoy volcano view and all humming birds looking for nectar.
Quite good beds, but the walls are really thin so if you have noisy neighbors you will get disturbed. During the two nights we stayed here we had a couple next door that were partying first night and the next night they had a huge fight all over the place, so the reception had to call securitas. I think the staff here handled it all very well.

Over all we had very good service, both in reception and in the restaurant, the breakfast was tasty and plenty to choose from.
Dinner and lunch are a bit pricey but the food is so good that you don't mind. This is a good choice when you are in this area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malin_o_Jonas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,549
    942
    160
    34
    13
See reviews for
684
1,346
67
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed here two days. Day one we booked a zip line adventure. Day two a horseback ride. Both were available by calling the front desk at the Volcano Lodge. The resturaunt at the lodge was fantastic. The bars were available for a beverage. The lodge has a Thermal swimming pool great for the body. The grounds were amazing. The flowers and plant life are beautiful if you take the time to look at it. The room was clean and had a view of the vocano. We took a taxi into town one evening to shop, eat and walk around. Staying at the Volcano Lodge was a great idea.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Westcoastweirdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

The people at the Volcano Lodge & Gardens make this place. The location itself is beautiful and easy to get to town, and the amenities are very nice, but its the staff, who go the extra mile to make every effort to ensure the stay is wonderful.

The rooms are basic, clean and the beds were very comfortable, and as we were in Costa Rica for the scenery and activities, that was all we needed. All the rooms are on ground level and have outdoor space to relax and enjoy the view. The restaurant had wonderful food, and again, great staff. The pool areas and walkways are beautiful with cold and thermal pools in each area. It very friendly to adults and children as well.

The grounds are lovely, with flowers and fauna everywhere that attract humming birds, other birds and other critters...and the view of the volcano is spectacular from the room, pool and restaurant.

Overall its a lovely place to spend a few days or a week.

Room Tip: ask for a volcano view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

The rooms were surrounded by gardens and offered a view of the volcano, weather permitting. The gardens are extensive and beautiful--don't miss the hiking/running path that skirts the property. The onsite restaurant was excellent. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We would certainly stay here again.

Arenal is the "adventure capital" of Costa Rica and this hotel is in the middle of it all. Ziplining, rafting, horseback riding, hiking, and forest canopy tours were all nearby and easily booked through the hotel. The town of Fortuna is less than 10km away. Check out the ice cream shop & chocolatier on the north side of the main square and the artisans' market just northeast of the square.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to have a view of the volcano, but ask for the view, just in case. Rooms closest to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sakrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
373 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

We spent three nights here and it was very comfortable and clean. The price was excellent. $80 per night which included a good breakfast buffet. They have two happy hours and a very reasonable lunch and dinner menu at the hotel restaurant. The food at the restaurant was very good. The service was very accommodating and spoke English well. In fact, most of the people of Costa Rica spoke very good English. This hotel is in a good location for the excursions in the area. I plan to return to Costa Rica and will stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Vitamin_Vito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Look at the photo. The tub is tucked away in the garden area close to the main swimming pool that most guests miss it. Get in the hot tub with your partner, drink some cocktails, listen to the birds, watch the hummingbird flutter around and gaze at the magnificent views of the Arenal volcano. Can it get more romantic than this?

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have better views of the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MidlifeF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Moody, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed at the Volcano Lodge for four nights at the beginning of January 2014. We had never been to this part of Costa Rica before and we were pleasantly surprised by the quality of this establishment. The grounds are extensive, with a nice trail around the perimiter. There are lots of varieties of jungle plants and flowers, which attract tons of birds. There are two pool areas - we spent most of our pool time at the one fed by the hot springs. The room we had (204) had a nice little back yard with a small deck and a couple of rocking chairs. I would sit out there early in the morning and watch all the birds, including several varieties of humming birds, come to the flowering plants right outside our room. We also saw Toucans in the evening in the larger trees. The volcano was clouded in most days, but one day it cleared off and view was amazing. The inclusion of breakfast in the morning at the onsite restaurant was nice. We also ate a lunch and a couple of dinners at the restaurant and were generally satisfied with the food. The service was very friendly.

Only negative was the way they managed the pool towels. You got a voucher for a pool towel at check-in with a note that if you didn't return the towel you would be charged $20. You have to go to the front desk to exchange towels (and you have to exchange if you want a dry towel since things don't dry very well in the rainforest atmosphere). The housekeepers would occassionally swap out our towels, but would only give us two in place of the three they would pick up. We'd then have to go to the front desk and explain that we were shortchanged towels before they would give us the third towel.

However, that did not affect our enjoyment of this property and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: choose a room where the back door faces south, towards the volcano, as they provide spectacular view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank highflier2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.8 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,722 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,271 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Lodge & Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Lodge & Springs

Property: Volcano Lodge & Springs
Address: La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Volcano Lodge & Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At VOLCANO LODGE AND SPRINGS, located in La Palma, La Fortuna de San Carlos, at the foot of the majestic Arenal Volcano, our hot springs and lush tropical garden gives you joy and relaxation to our guests and companions. Undoubtedly, our location allows you to witness the imposing Arenal Volcano from a vantage point. QUALITY SERVICE: Knowing that service is the main reason of hospitality, the Volcano Lodge & Gardens’ team, will do our best to make your stay a very fond memory to take home. FACILITIES: All our 66 rooms are Superior and non smoking, have deluxe finishes, 2 comfortable full size beds or 1 king size bed, TV/cable, telephone, air-conditioned, coffee maker, hot water shower, hairdryer and a nice terrace facing the Volcano. We also offer 4 rooms for handicap. RESTAURANT:Sura Restaurant, capacity: 120 people, we’ll be offering you our traditional local and international food, while you enjoy the majestic view of the volcano, birds surrounded nature. You can ask for room service too. OTHER FACILITIES: *Two swimming pools for adults, two swimming pools for children and two Jacuzzis, all of them with view to the Volcano.*Laundry service, Private parking, Internet Access / Wireless Free, Tours information, nature trail, Playground.* Massages Service from 9 am to 9 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Volcano Lodge & Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Lodge And Gardens
Volcano Lodge & Gardens Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Lodge & Springs Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing