We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome staff, awesome place, awesome location, awesome view, awesome!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 22 January 2014

My friends and I found this hotel through groupon and I must say it passed our expectations!! We were sooo in love with everything they offered. Great view of the hotel, awesome staff!!!!! (Especially the guy at the front desk whom I unfortunately forgot his name by now), loved the pool and hot tub area, and the restaurant was also really good. The rooms were very comfortable and spacious and I loved that we had access to a "backyard" from our room (every room has it). I must agree that the walls are thin so you do hear a lot but you can't beat the price and ambiance of this awesome hotel. Take advantage of the nature walk around the hotel. Such a great way to admire and experience Costa Africa's rich nature and environment. It's definitely not far from town, about a 10 minute car ride, and it's in a very convenient location honestly. The reason I give it 4 stars is because when we stayed here the internet did not work at all in our room or towards the end of the hotel. Only in the pool area and strongly at the lobby or office area. But I hope they fixed the problem by now. Overall, I recommend this hotel to anyone! Great for friends, family, and couples especially if you want an awesome view of the volcano during breakfast, lunch, dinner, pool time, or hot tub time!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Katteryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,997)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,321 - 1,327 of 3,000 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014

We got a nice room with a view of the volcano. Rooms are very spacious and well maintenanced with a cozy veranda outside to enjoy volcano view and all humming birds looking for nectar.
Quite good beds, but the walls are really thin so if you have noisy neighbors you will get disturbed. During the two nights we stayed here we had a couple next door that were partying first night and the next night they had a huge fight all over the place, so the reception had to call securitas. I think the staff here handled it all very well.

Over all we had very good service, both in reception and in the restaurant, the breakfast was tasty and plenty to choose from.
Dinner and lunch are a bit pricey but the food is so good that you don't mind. This is a good choice when you are in this area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malin_o_Jonas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed here two days. Day one we booked a zip line adventure. Day two a horseback ride. Both were available by calling the front desk at the Volcano Lodge. The resturaunt at the lodge was fantastic. The bars were available for a beverage. The lodge has a Thermal swimming pool great for the body. The grounds were amazing. The flowers and plant life are beautiful if you take the time to look at it. The room was clean and had a view of the vocano. We took a taxi into town one evening to shop, eat and walk around. Staying at the Volcano Lodge was a great idea.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Westcoastweirdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

The people at the Volcano Lodge & Gardens make this place. The location itself is beautiful and easy to get to town, and the amenities are very nice, but its the staff, who go the extra mile to make every effort to ensure the stay is wonderful.

The rooms are basic, clean and the beds were very comfortable, and as we were in Costa Rica for the scenery and activities, that was all we needed. All the rooms are on ground level and have outdoor space to relax and enjoy the view. The restaurant had wonderful food, and again, great staff. The pool areas and walkways are beautiful with cold and thermal pools in each area. It very friendly to adults and children as well.

The grounds are lovely, with flowers and fauna everywhere that attract humming birds, other birds and other critters...and the view of the volcano is spectacular from the room, pool and restaurant.

Overall its a lovely place to spend a few days or a week.

Room Tip: ask for a volcano view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The rooms were surrounded by gardens and offered a view of the volcano, weather permitting. The gardens are extensive and beautiful--don't miss the hiking/running path that skirts the property. The onsite restaurant was excellent. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We would certainly stay here again.

Arenal is the "adventure capital" of Costa Rica and this hotel is in the middle of it all. Ziplining, rafting, horseback riding, hiking, and forest canopy tours were all nearby and easily booked through the hotel. The town of Fortuna is less than 10km away. Check out the ice cream shop & chocolatier on the north side of the main square and the artisans' market just northeast of the square.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to have a view of the volcano, but ask for the view, just in case. Rooms closest to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sakrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We spent three nights here and it was very comfortable and clean. The price was excellent. $80 per night which included a good breakfast buffet. They have two happy hours and a very reasonable lunch and dinner menu at the hotel restaurant. The food at the restaurant was very good. The service was very accommodating and spoke English well. In fact, most of the people of Costa Rica spoke very good English. This hotel is in a good location for the excursions in the area. I plan to return to Costa Rica and will stay here again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Vitamin_Vito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Look at the photo. The tub is tucked away in the garden area close to the main swimming pool that most guests miss it. Get in the hot tub with your partner, drink some cocktails, listen to the birds, watch the hummingbird flutter around and gaze at the magnificent views of the Arenal volcano. Can it get more romantic than this?

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have better views of the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MidlifeF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,573 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#13 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,509 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,869 reviews
3.8 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,367 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Lodge & Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Lodge & Springs

Address: La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £71 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Volcano Lodge & Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At VOLCANO LODGE AND SPRINGS, located in La Palma, La Fortuna de San Carlos, at the foot of the majestic Arenal Volcano, our hot springs and lush tropical garden gives you joy and relaxation to our guests and companions. Undoubtedly, our location allows you to witness the imposing Arenal Volcano from a vantage point. QUALITY SERVICE: Knowing that service is the main reason of hospitality, the Volcano Lodge & Gardens’ team, will do our best to make your stay a very fond memory to take home. FACILITIES: All our 66 rooms are Superior and non smoking, have deluxe finishes, 2 comfortable full size beds or 1 king size bed, TV/cable, telephone, air-conditioned, coffee maker, hot water shower, hairdryer and a nice terrace facing the Volcano. We also offer 4 rooms for handicap. RESTAURANT:Sura Restaurant, capacity: 120 people, we’ll be offering you our traditional local and international food, while you enjoy the majestic view of the volcano, birds surrounded nature. You can ask for room service too. OTHER FACILITIES: *Two swimming pools for adults, two swimming pools for children and two Jacuzzis, all of them with view to the Volcano.*Laundry service, Private parking, Internet Access / Wireless Free, Tours information, nature trail, Playground.* Massages Service from 9 am to 9 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Volcano Lodge & Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Lodge And Gardens
Volcano Lodge & Gardens Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Lodge & Springs Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing