We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly Good, But Not Ideal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel as part of a tour package. It seems that several tour operators use this hotel. I cannot comment on the price. The rooms are large, functional, and clean. The grounds are spectacular. The view of the volcano is awesome (it was clear). The hotel internet was very spotty. The hotel is located about 5-6 miles from town. Near the town is an awesome waterfall. I asked the desk about seeing the water fall and they immediately tried to sell me an overpriced tour through them. I asked about taxi service and was quoted $15 each way (the going rate was $8). I walked to the fall (I do not recommend this) and the waterfall was truly impressive (do not go unless you are reasonably fit as the walk to the fall is challenging). If the hotel had a van taking people around the area (for a reasonable fee) rather than trying to overcharge the guests this would be better.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TOG11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,398 - 1,404 of 3,151 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2014

Stayed here for one night and were pleasantly surprised.
Great location in an attractive setting. Staff were all very helpful.
Negatives.....
The walls of the rooms are paper thin and we were awoken at 2am when folks arrived late. You heard everything including the hair dryer and chatting;
The bar was very uninteresting and uninviting
the breakfast bar was very slow at refilling after a bus tour had been thro

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quailsroost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We picked this hotel based on Tripadvisor review and both families loved it!! Each family had a very spacious room with beautiful tropical garden in backyard. We were just a few steps from the hot spring but no noise at all. All we heard was bird singing!

A pleasant surprise was a small playground in front of Sura restaurant - my 3-year-old played there for an hour, with humming birds surrounding us. It would be perfect if there's more hot water in shower. Seems it's a nature friendly design.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BabaluluQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We were there a week ago and its a very nice hotel. The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly(especially Daniella), and the price were very reasonale. Restaurants was great and inexpensive compare to the Manuel Antonial areas, and people here are very nice(even the taxi driver!). They also has spring here in a smaller set up and there's a jacuzzi pool as well. The room was ok, certainly not the fancy type but giving the fact that there's a vocanal view from the window, i'd still recommand this hotel.
One major draw back is taxi out are very expensive if you need to go downtown or attractions, so again, bring enough us dollars with you(or your magic plastic) for there's no ATM around.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trius718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We chose this hotel out of so many not knowing what to expect. It was just in a great location. We very close to Arenal park and Tabacon Spa (2 places we really wanted to go). Our rooms, and I think most of their rooms have a great view of the volcano. One of the thing we like best about this hotel is their backyards to every room. It was so nice drinking our coffee every morning watching this tropical beauty nature and the volcano at the same time. Rooms were standard rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Afiroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We came back a 2nd time 6 yrs later and its even better. A new hot springs, several pools, jacuzzi, excellent service, food, and the reforestation of the gardens attracts many birds. Spending time as birders we have found it right outside our room. The view of the volcano from our room is magnificent. We have been from one end of Costa Rica to the other. From San Gerdardo de Dota to Guanacaste to Corcovado. We love this place and it suits all types of travellers

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Tica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

My husband booked all of the travel, so I wasn't sure what I was getting myself into. The locals told us it was a "very nice hotel" - one of the best in the town, in fact. When we pulled up, we encountered the open-air lobby, which was very clean but didn't scream 'luxury'. The room itself was bare (wood furniture and tile made it seem less than comfortable), but the view in our room looked directly to the volcano and my husband was captivated by the wildlife and the view. Their hotel restaurant was good; in fact, the had the best arroz con pollo we ate all week! I would caution you against mixed drinks; they couldn't seem to make a decent one (and trust me, we tried!). If you're expecting the kind of place where you'll get robes or more than two towels in your room, skip Volcano Lodge. But if you're into rustic, scenic views, lots of flora and fauna, this is one of the best places you can stay in LA Fortuna.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank AmyTurner15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.7 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,950 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,408 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,951 reviews
1.3 mi away
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort &...
#25 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
909 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#13 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Lodge & Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Lodge & Springs

Address: La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#10 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £67 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Volcano Lodge & Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At VOLCANO LODGE AND SPRINGS, located in La Palma, La Fortuna de San Carlos, at the foot of the majestic Arenal Volcano, our hot springs and lush tropical garden gives you joy and relaxation to our guests and companions. Undoubtedly, our location allows you to witness the imposing Arenal Volcano from a vantage point. QUALITY SERVICE: Knowing that service is the main reason of hospitality, the Volcano Lodge & Gardens’ team, will do our best to make your stay a very fond memory to take home. FACILITIES: All our 66 rooms are Superior and non smoking, have deluxe finishes, 2 comfortable full size beds or 1 king size bed, TV/cable, telephone, air-conditioned, coffee maker, hot water shower, hairdryer and a nice terrace facing the Volcano. We also offer 4 rooms for handicap. RESTAURANT:Sura Restaurant, capacity: 120 people, we’ll be offering you our traditional local and international food, while you enjoy the majestic view of the volcano, birds surrounded nature. You can ask for room service too. OTHER FACILITIES: *Two swimming pools for adults, two swimming pools for children and two Jacuzzis, all of them with view to the Volcano.*Laundry service, Private parking, Internet Access / Wireless Free, Tours information, nature trail, Playground.* Massages Service from 9 am to 9 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Volcano Lodge & Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Lodge And Gardens
Volcano Lodge & Gardens Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Lodge & Springs Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing