We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 September 2008

Volcano Lodge is a good 3 star hotel. I was there for 2 nights. The grounds were well maintained, everything was very clean, the staff were friendly and helpful. I had a fantastic view of the volcano from my room. A lovely garden, pool w/bar, quiet and relaxed atmosphere.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank userr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,996)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,082 - 2,088 of 2,996 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2008

We really enjoyed our stay at Volcano Lodge and felt we got good value for our money.

The room was a little tight for 4 of us but we managed. We could hear the neighbouring room too well. I think this might have had more to do with their volume level than thin walls. The room also had a peculiar smell when we entered but we would soon get used to it. I never did figure out what it was.

We enjoyed all the meals we had at the restaurant by the pool - plentiful breakfasts and reasonably priced dinners and drinks.

The kids really enjoyed the pool area.

The landscaping was beautiful and of course it was nice to be able to see the volcano. even if we never saw any lava .

The staff was friendly and helpful.

All in all I was happy with our hotel choice. Thank you to the previous reviewers whose reviews helped me choose this hotel.

Bill

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freezinguphere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at Volcano Lodge for 2 nights and had a great experience. The included breakfast is very good, the pool is really nice and the hot tub is even nicer! The staff is friendly and will help you with any questions you have. The rooms come with a back porch that has a great view of the volcano and butterflies fly around the entire time.

We only had one full day in Arenal/La Fortuna. We woke up early (which allowed us to see the volcano before the clouds surrounded it), got breakfast, drove to the La Fortuna waterfall and hiked down. The waterfall is beautiful and you can swim all around it but I recommend wearing good shows because the hike is steep. After that, we walked around La Fortuna (not too much to see but it was fun) and had lunch at the Lava Lounge which i HIGHLY recommend. The food was great and the staff was super friendly and helpful! At 3PM, we met a guide at the hotel and did a hike around the volcano. In the end, it was dusk and we watched the volcano spit out lava and it was incredible. From there, we went to the Tabocon hot springs which was also fantastic.

I don't recommend the restaurant by the entrance at the hotel for dinner but I recommend Volcano Lodge for sleeping and breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brooklyn_mermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2008

We spent a few days at Arenal Volcano Lodge the third week of August 2008. We were extremely pleased with this hotel and would not hesitate to return

The hotel is well located just outside ($5 cab ride) the town of La Fortuna and has an awesome view of the volcano. The grounds are beautiful and lush with a wide variety of plants and trees. There are two swimming pools, one heated with a swim-up bar and a very big hot tub. The pools were immaculate as were the grounds. The rooms are clustered 4 per building and all have a “back porch” with two rocking chairs and a table that look directly on the volcano. Inside the rooms are spotlessly clean and well furnished. Ours had two full beds with excellent mattresses, an electronic in-room safe, a large bathroom with a walk in shower, a coffee maker and a color TV. There was also a desk and two chairs and table in the room. The only odd thing about the room was that there was no dresser with drawers – in fact there were no drawers at all. There were open wire shelves by the safe where one would stack clothing if needed. We just pretty much lived out of our bags during the stay and certainly did not find this to be a big negative.

The food was excellent in the two restaurants and the included breakfast was large and more than adequate. One could easily skip lunch after the breakfast. Prices were quite reasonable for food and drink – our average dinner bill, including local beer, never exceeded $24 for two (including tax and tip). There is a happy hour each day from 4 to 6 at the swim-up bar area which has a selection of mixed drinks (but not beer) 2 for 1. Beer was cheap enough as it was at $2 and $3 depending on the brand (local beers and all quite tasty).

We could find nothing to fault with this hotel and would not hesitate to return. Our only regret is that we did not stay for another couple of days to enjoy the hotel and the Arenal area further. We highly recommend this hotel for anyone, families with children, couples or singles. It is a great place.

Oh and a big hint - for the best view of the volcano get out of bed early like 6 am and it is usually crystal clear with no clouds around the summit so some great photo chances. If you snooze you lose since by about 730 or so the clouds build up and hang around all day.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank WillieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2008

Honestly, this may be a case of the actual location being more beautiful than the website. From looking at the website, I was expecting a nice place, but was surprised at how lovely it was when we arrived. The grounds are immaculately kept and resemble a botanic garden. The pool was lovely; it was great to sit in the hot tub and watch the volcano erupt. THe food was delicious and the staff was friendly.

My husband and I had massages, which were okay. His was better than mine. However, the oil that they used left us coated and needed to be scrubbed off with soap and a washcloth.

We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank StacyCzTu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2008

Volcano Lodge is a beautiful hotel and I was very happy with everything. The grounds were well maintained, everything was very clean, the staff were very friendly and helpful. I had a fantastic view of the volcano from my room and was so happy that one night I was able to see the tip of the volcano red.
My husband and I had a wonderful time and were sad to leave.
I highly recommend this hotel and plan to come back soon!!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank shangie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2008

Our family of four stayed here for 4 nights. The grounds are really gorgeous, with an amazing variety of tropical flowers everywhere. The included breakfast buffet is great and the open-air poolside restaurant a perfect setting.

The room was nice, pretty standard size for two double beds, which fit the four of us without any problem. Nice bathroom and shower. The housekeeping was nice, and they have the most inventive origami towel folders of anywhere, which was a nice touch.

Nice location, a few miles out of La Fortuna on the way to the volcano. Wonderful volcano views, but not of the lava currently (2008).

Nice pool and hot tub area.

The only complaint was that we heard a lot of noise from the neighboring room when the "loud family" returned to their room each night at 10:30.

But overall we really enjoyed our stay there and would easily recommend it. But keep in mind you will have to go elsewhere to view the hot lava at night.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingFamilyTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,573 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#13 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,506 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,869 reviews
3.8 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,367 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Lodge & Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Lodge & Springs

Address: La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £71 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Volcano Lodge & Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At VOLCANO LODGE AND SPRINGS, located in La Palma, La Fortuna de San Carlos, at the foot of the majestic Arenal Volcano, our hot springs and lush tropical garden gives you joy and relaxation to our guests and companions. Undoubtedly, our location allows you to witness the imposing Arenal Volcano from a vantage point. QUALITY SERVICE: Knowing that service is the main reason of hospitality, the Volcano Lodge & Gardens’ team, will do our best to make your stay a very fond memory to take home. FACILITIES: All our 66 rooms are Superior and non smoking, have deluxe finishes, 2 comfortable full size beds or 1 king size bed, TV/cable, telephone, air-conditioned, coffee maker, hot water shower, hairdryer and a nice terrace facing the Volcano. We also offer 4 rooms for handicap. RESTAURANT:Sura Restaurant, capacity: 120 people, we’ll be offering you our traditional local and international food, while you enjoy the majestic view of the volcano, birds surrounded nature. You can ask for room service too. OTHER FACILITIES: *Two swimming pools for adults, two swimming pools for children and two Jacuzzis, all of them with view to the Volcano.*Laundry service, Private parking, Internet Access / Wireless Free, Tours information, nature trail, Playground.* Massages Service from 9 am to 9 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Volcano Lodge & Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Lodge And Gardens
Volcano Lodge & Gardens Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Lodge & Springs Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing