We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Volcano Lodge & Springs Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My friends and I had a great stay at Volcano Lodge. The staff were very amenable and prompt to respond to needs. The location is great with respect to the volcano and hot springs. There is a small hot springs on site and some swimming pools. The complimentary breakfast was delicious. Overall great place to stay for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank katrina918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,997)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,163 - 1,169 of 2,997 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

Booked 3 nights at Volcano Lodge and Springs as part of a Groupon Costa Rica trip package.
Beautiful grounds and room, about 10 minutes from the nice little town of La Fortuna. The buffet breakfasts in the poolside dining area were wonderful, with a variety of Costa Rican dishes which changed every day ...... fruits, veggies, pancakes, egg dishes. Multi-tiered hot spring pools, multiple swimming pools, beautifully landscaped and foliated grounds.

The only downside to staying at this Lodge during the rainy season : the risk that you will never see the top of the nearby Mt. Arenal volcano, and I am disappointed to say that this was the case for us. We made up for it, however, by taking advantage of the many activities - available thru the hotel, directly through the adventure outfits in town, or 'on your own'. We hiked the cloud forest, went rafting on the Sarapiqui River (I have rafted in Yosemite, Colorado, Montana, WV, and PA, and this was as awesome as any, especially in the 'context' of the environment : sloths in the trees, parakeets and Toucans flying overhead, and some seriously fun rapids that were a real challenge) and enjoyed beers and good food in the local restaurants.
A great 3 days / nights

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank jim w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Enjoyed all of our 4 days and 3 nights at Volcano Lodge. Customer Service and food were wonderful. View of the Volcano is awesome and the garden is beautiful. Took pictures of birds, butterflies and lavish plants/fruits trees.
We are planning to take our children on our next visit.

Room Tip: Get the Arenal Volcano view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sison2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Volcano Lodge and Springs was like a mini resort. It has restaurants, hot springs, excursions, pools. The grounds were beautiful, but unfortunately we didn't get the beautiful views that people talked about because it was rainy season. All the staff was helpful and courteous. Restaurant had great food and very reasonable prices. They also had great suggestions for good, cheap food in La Fortuna. The hotel room was great -- clean and included everything that you could need (including pool towels). The only cons were that the wifi can be spotty in the rooms and that it would be difficult to get to without a car. We rented one because it seemed harder to get to otherwise (they have plenty of free parking). I would definitely recommend and stay there again myself! 4.5 stars

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lactosefree11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We loved this hotel! We were able to see amazing views of Arenal Volcano from our patio and of course from the main pool/hot springs area. The grounds and gardens were beautiful and full of colorful plants and animals! The room is cozy and the staff is very courteous and helpful!! Cannot say enough good things about this hotel!!

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Cheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Excellent location in la Fortuna. Very clean and tidy rooms with everything you need to be very comfortable. The breakfast was excellent with very big portions and variety of Costa Rican dishes. The pool, jacuzzi and thermal water are very clean and relaxing.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silvia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

This place is better in person! I looked at a bunch of different places and am so glad we decided on Volcano Lodge. My girls loved the thermal pool especially after a long day!! It was a great place to get away and relax. The food was great as well as the entire hotel staff . Our room was clean, modern and very comfortable. We will most definitely stay here again in the future!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,573 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#13 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,506 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,869 reviews
3.8 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,367 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Lodge & Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Lodge & Springs

Address: La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £71 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Volcano Lodge & Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At VOLCANO LODGE AND SPRINGS, located in La Palma, La Fortuna de San Carlos, at the foot of the majestic Arenal Volcano, our hot springs and lush tropical garden gives you joy and relaxation to our guests and companions. Undoubtedly, our location allows you to witness the imposing Arenal Volcano from a vantage point. QUALITY SERVICE: Knowing that service is the main reason of hospitality, the Volcano Lodge & Gardens’ team, will do our best to make your stay a very fond memory to take home. FACILITIES: All our 66 rooms are Superior and non smoking, have deluxe finishes, 2 comfortable full size beds or 1 king size bed, TV/cable, telephone, air-conditioned, coffee maker, hot water shower, hairdryer and a nice terrace facing the Volcano. We also offer 4 rooms for handicap. RESTAURANT:Sura Restaurant, capacity: 120 people, we’ll be offering you our traditional local and international food, while you enjoy the majestic view of the volcano, birds surrounded nature. You can ask for room service too. OTHER FACILITIES: *Two swimming pools for adults, two swimming pools for children and two Jacuzzis, all of them with view to the Volcano.*Laundry service, Private parking, Internet Access / Wireless Free, Tours information, nature trail, Playground.* Massages Service from 9 am to 9 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Volcano Lodge & Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Lodge And Gardens
Volcano Lodge & Gardens Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Lodge & Springs Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing