We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for Arenal/Fortuna Visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Volcano Lodge & Springs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Redsox1981
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place for Arenal/Fortuna Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed here for the first 3 nights of our Costa Rica vacation. This was a very nice place right in between the Volcano in Arenal and La Fortuna. Although the weather was quite rainy, as expected during the rainy season, the lodging itself was very good. There are 2 restaurants, 2 pools, and 2 jacuzzi's. They also serve a wonderful breakfast. The Lodge is very spread out and has wonderful views of the volcano, if it is visible, which unfortunately it was not during our stay. The rooms were quite spacious and very clean. All rooms offer a patio that overlooks the volcano. The bathroom had a nice big shower, and there was a safe in the room to store valuables. The front desk was very helpful in booking tours for us and giving advise on places to eat, etc. The Lodge is about a 3 minute cab ride to Baldi Hot Springs and about a 10 minute ride into La Fortuna. Overall we were very pleased with the accomodations and would definitely stay here again if we were to come back to Arenal. Only complaint I have is the food. Besides breakfast which was fantastic, the other meals were nothing special. Also, some people aren't aware that most places, including the Lodge, include 10% gratuity on their food bills.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Redsox1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,543
    938
    160
    34
    13
See reviews for
680
1,341
67
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
houston, texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2009

There for 5 days with my husband. Staff was excellent. Provided breakfast was very good. Loved the view of the volcano. Staff VERY helpful in setting up excursions. Great choice for a place to stay btw Arenal and La Fortuna. But, only 3 days would have been enough time. The place is really quiet at this time of years. Not much to do in La Fortuna - maybe an hour or 2 of shopping and places to eat. Turned in early every night because not much to do. Hot tub had a funky odor though!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank panamagrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2009

Our family of four (adults) just returned from CR and this was one of our FAVORITE lodges. The grounds are just gorgeous. The included breakfast was perfect - great food served beside the beautiful pool. The towel animals were a fun touch, as well. Highly recommended lodging!! (ps- take a horseback ride to the La Fortuna waterfall)

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pritchke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2009

My boyfriend and I just came back from CR and this spot was our first stop during our trip. The volcano itself is fabulous and surreal, and this hotel only plays off of that. The room was small but cozy, air conditioned, with a little verandah with a view of the volcano, and huge stone bathroom.One-story, maybe 4-room buildings are scattered around a gorgeously manicured compound of lawn and breathtaking flowers-- orchids, hydrangea, habiscus, you name it-- hummingbirds everywhere. We even saw an armadillo on the path! In addition to the grounds, the pool/hot tub/ restaurant area is also a beautifully maintained open-air affair. From the pool and hot tub the volcano is looming over you, and having a cocktail in the jacuzzi, watching the volcano glow at night was absolutely amazing. Breakfast buffet is huge and delicious, everything you could want, and the food at both restaurants is wonderful. Drinks are, unfortunately, a little pricey. TONS to do in this area-- hot springs, rafting, hiking, the waterfall-- however be aware that Volcano Lodge is not walkable to anywhere, due to distance and a lack of sidwalks. But the front desk is happy to call cabs and you furthest ride is 10 dollars. We did Baldi Springs (drinks are ridiculously pricey and weak but the pools are great and the water slide is insane!), as well as a volcano hike. Very laid back hike but once on the volcanic side of the mountain we were there for a tremendous rumble, rockfall, etc. Also a gorgeous view of the lake. Lastly, La Fortuna is a nice little town to go visit and walk around, although mostly good for eating at a Soda, souvenirs, or booking trips. In short, we LOVED this place!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kdunners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2009

We stayed for three days in early April. Although we had the choice to stay at more luxurious (read expensive) places, we chose this. We were pleasantly surprised. The hotel is absolutely beautiful with well-maintained landscaping. Note that walking distances between our rooms (near the back by the pool) and the front desk are not short; we didn't have a problem with that. The room itself is nice, clean, and comfortable; yes, there is no clock in the room, but you'll know it's 6am when you turn on the TV and hear the Costa Rican national anthem being played.

The staff was attentive and responsive to our needs. They can make reservations to different activities; we booked a dinner and time at the Ecothermales Hot Springs through them. We also booked a taxi to La Fortuna through them without any problems.

The food is quite good. Breakfast at Restaurant Sura definitely filled us up for the day. We also had dinner in Restaurant Arenal in front; the food selection is better (and a little cheaper) than Sura.

One thing you cannot beat is waking up in the morning and seeing the volcano right in front of you.

Overall, I recommend this place, and it's definitely worth the price.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jevangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oviedo, Fl
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2009

Volcano Lodge has the most beautiful landscaping and view of the volcano. The front desk staff were so helpful and friendly. One of the highlights of our trip for sure. My husband and I stayed for 2 nights and wished we could have stayed longer. We will stay at this awesome hotel again for sure. The rooms are clean and cozy, the view from the patio is amazing! I can't say enough, also the breakfast is very good too! I want to go back soooo bad!!! Pura Vida!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wannadriveabmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Triangle ,NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2009

We spent 2.5 days in this area and managed to squeeze in plenty of adventure from whitewater rafting, thermal baths, volcano hikes, hanging bridges, ECOglide, and some good ole R+R.

The Lodge is gated, and felt safe and secure. There are free in-room safe boxes for belongings/passports. Our room had a spacious walk-in shower and the rooms were well kept!

Setup a charge account when you check-in and this will cover activites, lodging and meals! Stress reliever!


You will need to drive to the other side of the volcano to see lava activity at night, or go on a walking twilight volcano tour.

There are two restaurants associated with the Volcano Lodge, we preferred Restaurant Sura, as it was quieter. Restaurant Sura is open for all meals, including a swim up bar, a good spread at the breakfast buffet and Happy Hour.

The staff was very helpful in making arrangements for tours and events, we found we did not need a car to get around, we used a shuttle service to avoid driving and renting a car betweent our two destinations. If you like flexibility, renting a car may still be your best bet, however since we stayed fairly close to our hotel and used the transportation provided by the tours. This reduced the stress of the trip tremendously .

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skip_e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.8 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,720 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Lodge & Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Lodge & Springs

Property: Volcano Lodge & Springs
Address: La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Volcano Lodge & Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At VOLCANO LODGE AND SPRINGS, located in La Palma, La Fortuna de San Carlos, at the foot of the majestic Arenal Volcano, our hot springs and lush tropical garden gives you joy and relaxation to our guests and companions. Undoubtedly, our location allows you to witness the imposing Arenal Volcano from a vantage point. QUALITY SERVICE: Knowing that service is the main reason of hospitality, the Volcano Lodge & Gardens’ team, will do our best to make your stay a very fond memory to take home. FACILITIES: All our 66 rooms are Superior and non smoking, have deluxe finishes, 2 comfortable full size beds or 1 king size bed, TV/cable, telephone, air-conditioned, coffee maker, hot water shower, hairdryer and a nice terrace facing the Volcano. We also offer 4 rooms for handicap. RESTAURANT:Sura Restaurant, capacity: 120 people, we’ll be offering you our traditional local and international food, while you enjoy the majestic view of the volcano, birds surrounded nature. You can ask for room service too. OTHER FACILITIES: *Two swimming pools for adults, two swimming pools for children and two Jacuzzis, all of them with view to the Volcano.*Laundry service, Private parking, Internet Access / Wireless Free, Tours information, nature trail, Playground.* Massages Service from 9 am to 9 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Volcano Lodge & Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Lodge And Gardens
Volcano Lodge & Gardens Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Lodge & Springs Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing