We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 16 November 2010

Very nice hotel wit a unique location and an amazingly friendly and helpful staff! Not expensive at all! Go for it!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cosmopolitanforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,091)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,998 - 2,004 of 3,091 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2010

The hotel is located just several KM from the Volcano Park and most major activities. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. The staff were all very friendly and most helpful. The rooms were nice, spacious and clean. Several nice extras, such a of bottle of wine in the room (gratis) and the towel sculptures put together by the maids each day. Beautiful views of the volcano from every room. The hotel has two restaurants - both were excellent, some of the best in the area. My only complaint is that there were no refrigerators in the room, but at these prices that is a minor issue.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RatDogMonroe_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Location: In the middle of everything - exactly 9mins drive to the centre of La Fortuna and 15mins drive to the Arenal National Park. Near several hotsprings - Los Lagos, Baldi.

Views - from what I can gather, all rooms have some sort of volcano view in the back. Our room backs onto a pond and on a clear day, the view of Arenal was stunning!

Rooms - super clean, housekeeping was fantastic, service at reception and breakfast superb. We drove from Santa Clara and got there at around 10am. Check in is not until 2pm, but since rooms were available, they allowed us to check in and unload our luggage. How amazing is that? Front desk staff was very accommodating and there was excellent WIFI service throughout the property. The rooms were very roomy with a small sitting area and an outdoor patio with two fantastic rocking chairs.

Breakfast is included and was more than adequate, with a couple of hot items, fresh fruits, cereal, bread etc. There is laundry facility on site, but we drove into La Fortuna and had someone else do it for us (1500 colones/Kg as opposed to per item). Did not eat at hotel for dinner or lunch as we were always out somewhere.

For the price and location, this hotel beats most 4* establishments in the Canada/US.

Will definitely return the next time we are in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SSC-CP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

When we first arrived, we were amazed that we would be staying in such a beautiful place. The gardens are amazing and the rooms are spread out over one level so you get a private and peaceful feel. Lovely brick walkways through the gardens lead you from your room to the pools, front desk building, restaurant and parking lot. Our room was spacious and clean with a nice patio with rocking chairs, perfect for enjoying the relaxing sounds of frogs in the evening. All of the staff people we encountered (from restaurant wait staff to garden keepers) were very friendly and personable. The food, drinks, pools, and hot tubs were luxurious. We had perfect views of Arenal Volcano from our room and the restaurant. We felt spoiled while at the same time very much surrounded by the beautiful nature of Costa Rica. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessMKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

The Volcano Lodge is a large property with a few pools and two? large dining areas. Our room had a perfect view of the volcano and we were able to see it from our bed. The bed was a little on the hard side. The room was nice and large and we had a private patio facing the volcano. The one bad issues was since the properly was so large it was a long walk from our room to the reception desk where the 2 public computers are located. The hotel is only about a 10 minute drive from La Fortuna and all of our tours picked us up for free at our hotel. For the price of $70/per night this place was perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CurranWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

We stayed here three nights, but could have stayed a few more. We had a warm welcome. The rooms, recently refurbished, were exceptionally comfortable: A/C, TV, twin king beds, comfortable bedding, phone, safe, laundry service, very good lighting, private patio and flower garden to entice the humming birds. Not to mention that the view from your room is of the Arenal Volcano which spurts smoke every 30 mins. The place feels secure and generally quiet too.

There are several small pools, and two restaurants. The food quality is fantastic, priced just about right for the quality. The bar sells snacks too. Two internet computers are available for use in reception, wifi is available throughout most of the park too. The gardens are meticulously landscaped, with beautiful flowers and a nature trail too featuring large birds overhead (like Montezuma's Oropendola) and small birds (hummingbirds) frequenting the flowers.

The tours are great and well organised. We went on a ATV ride to the La Fortuna waterfall viewpoint and down a trail to an old bridge (great rustic Costa Rica countryside). We also took the volcano hike (with an enthusiastic, friendly and knowledgable guide) followed up by the exclusive Tabacon hot springs. One day we also went on the Cano Negro boat tour (including the amusing Iguana Tree cafe and local farm). The guide for that tour (Jose) was brilliant, keen to learn from us about our culture and more than capable of giving us a complete history of Costa Rican society, culture and spotting wildlife.

For us, it was nice to have this comfort combined with stays in other more wildlife-centred hotels in the country. Incidentally, there is also a nature park 5 minutes round the corner from the hotel which we thoroughly recommdend called 'Arenal Natura', the reception can provide a discount leaflet.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theallknowingduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

thanks to the staff for such great attention. could not ask for better service. special thanks to Joshua at the bar-restaurant for his great service!!!! Hope he gets recognized for his excellant service to us!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twodumies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.7 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,906 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,377 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,922 reviews
1.3 mi away
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort &...
#24 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
887 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#14 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Lodge & Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Lodge & Springs

Address: La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#10 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £83 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Volcano Lodge & Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At VOLCANO LODGE AND SPRINGS, located in La Palma, La Fortuna de San Carlos, at the foot of the majestic Arenal Volcano, our hot springs and lush tropical garden gives you joy and relaxation to our guests and companions. Undoubtedly, our location allows you to witness the imposing Arenal Volcano from a vantage point. QUALITY SERVICE: Knowing that service is the main reason of hospitality, the Volcano Lodge & Gardens’ team, will do our best to make your stay a very fond memory to take home. FACILITIES: All our 66 rooms are Superior and non smoking, have deluxe finishes, 2 comfortable full size beds or 1 king size bed, TV/cable, telephone, air-conditioned, coffee maker, hot water shower, hairdryer and a nice terrace facing the Volcano. We also offer 4 rooms for handicap. RESTAURANT:Sura Restaurant, capacity: 120 people, we’ll be offering you our traditional local and international food, while you enjoy the majestic view of the volcano, birds surrounded nature. You can ask for room service too. OTHER FACILITIES: *Two swimming pools for adults, two swimming pools for children and two Jacuzzis, all of them with view to the Volcano.*Laundry service, Private parking, Internet Access / Wireless Free, Tours information, nature trail, Playground.* Massages Service from 9 am to 9 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Volcano Lodge & Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Lodge And Gardens
Volcano Lodge & Gardens Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Lodge & Springs Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing