We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, location, and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 January 2011

Location was very convenient to both town of La Fortuna and Volcano Park. Staff was very friendly (best of anywhere I stayed in Costa Rica). Hotel grounds and room patio were beautiful. Included breakfast very nice. Only complaint would be thin walls where you could hear neighbors. Also, not sure if it was hotel or area, but very humid with moisture, so there was general dampness in the room. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rde619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,091)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,983 - 1,989 of 3,091 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2011

The staff at Volcano Lodge & Gardens are superb - the staff takes effort to ensure you have the best service and do their best to assist you.

I am used to backpacking -- but all of the hotels/B&Bs in the Arenal/La Fortuna area were booked. After contacting a number of places found through TripAdvisor - Arenal Volcano Lodge & Gardens responded promptly via email and assisted me with booking a room. I really enjoyed it!

The Volcano Lodge has a jacuzzi, a pool, a kiddie pool, bar and restaurant. The prices for the hotel & bar are OK in american dollars (e.g. a cocktail will run about $6) but pricey compared to other locations in Central America; that said - pricey hotel bar drinks are not uncommon.

The restaurant serves a buffet breakfast with local fruits such as papaya & soursops along with gallo pinto (rice & beans), eggs, sausages -- it would vary from time to time...one morning there was an omelette station. I loved the yummy passion fruit juice and coffee - no one rushed me to finish breakfast and move on -- it's a nice feeling not to be rushed. For dinner -- you won't find greasy appetizers which is refreshing. The entrees are prepared with much thought and effort and I thoroughly enjoyed my meal (grilled fish). Plus: wifi is available in the restaurant area & there are computer terminals w/ internet in the lobby for guest use.

Our room was immaculate with a wonderful wooden roof, new bathroom with wonderful hot water. Our room was one of the closer rooms to the pool & bar/restaurant, but we had no noise issues with either, nor any people staying nearby.

In the Arenal Area, you will need to have your own car, have a # to a driver, or like us, rely on the hotel to assist with calling taxis. When you aren't en route to an activity, you might as well hang out at your hotel after hiking or exploring -- that said, I found the Inn a great place to stay for that reason.

The lodge is a short cab ride to the Hot Springs and La Fortuna (the main town). Taxis will charge you for pickups based on La Fortuna as the point of origin - this is just the way it is and that's the way it works wherever you'll stay.

The lodge has a security gate and feels very safe -- if you have a car, you can park in the lodge area and have easy access to your car (I'm not sure if there is a fee). If you're fly into San Jose and drive into La Fortuna/Arenal, you are probably going to arrive during the late afternoon/early evening and will want to relax -- it was really nice to unwind after traveling and have the luxury to plan the next day of activities.

In the Arenal Area, you will need to have your own car, have a # to a driver, or like us, rely on the hotel to assist with calling taxis. I think that tips are appreciated by all staff.

The staff is wonderful & can assist with organizing activities such as hiking, hot springs -- there are also spa services, but maybe that's for next time.

In short, I really enjoyed the stay and found the staff to provide excellent service & hospitality.

In terms of seeing the volcano -- our room had a great view, unfortunately the weather was a bit overcast and we only saw a portion of it -- but seeing the volcano is no fault of the lodge! I'd recommend staying at Volcano Lodge & Gardens to anyone and everyone.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loidissima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We only stayed 2 nights as part of a fly and drive package but this was our favorite hotel on the trip. The grounds are beautiful!!! The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The location is central to everything you might want to do around Arenal. Breakfast was yummy too. We did not eat dinner at the restaurant, but many did. And it looked and smelled tasty. While maybe not the best bed in the world, it was still large and everything else at the Lodge made up for it :) I would highly recommend.
The view of the volcano is the luck of the draw with regards to the weather. It cleared up on our last morning and it looked amazing (could see through window in our bed).

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coliver73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2011

First and important things to know are that the volcano has been dormant for 2 months so don't expect to see any lava eruptions. Also, the weather in Arenal is notoriously bad. It was about 15 degrees and wet in the dry season!

Ok, the hotel... The grounds and pool areas are lovely. Rooms however are basic and not worth the money compared to other similar places. The reception staff are also slow and inefficient so expect to wait a long time for even a basic request.

Would suggest staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexTara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2010

The hotel is in a gorgeous location, lying right below the Arenal volcano. The hotel itself has a beautiful garden and swimming pool. The staff was friendly, the rooms were spacious, and overall the place was very clean. However, there were also a few glitches:

1) No hot water in the showers in the evening (between 5 and 7 pm)
2) No wifi in the rooms or in the swimming pool area, contrary to what was advertised.
3) One day we left early for a tour and asked the staff to make reservations for the Ecotermales hot springs. The place opened only at 10, and they were supposed to call at that time to make the reservation. When we came back at 4 pm, we found out that no reservations were made. It's possible that the place was fully booked for that night, but we suspect that they simply forgot to call the place.

Altogether, though, these small inconveniences did not detract from a very positive experience.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MDP03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2010

The view of the Volcano though the gardens was incredible. You can enjoy a peaceful setting on the patio outside your room; get a great breakfast in the morning; and depend on a helpful staff. We haven't been to the area before, but would definitely recommend this hotel. Thanks to the staff for helping us get my son from the San Jose airport to the hotel after a day's delay in arrival! I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssnowjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2010

This hotel is set in lovely gardens about 5km outside of La Fortuna. It doesn't have any thermal springs, unlike some in the local vicinity, but it does have beautiful gardens, This also means insects - so don't forget the insect repellent.

We ate in the hotel one evening - I wouldn't recommend it. The food took ages to come and mine was overcooked. The breakfast selection was good, and the service there much better. If you need the internet then their routers are up and down a bit - so be prepared for that, otherwise there is internet in the hotel lobby. Also the phone reception was also a bit touch and go if that is important to you.

The rooms were clean and well maintained, although the shower took a bit of persuading one morning. There is air con, and there is a little patio are outside with 2 rocking chairs and a little table. Perfect for volcano watching. We bought our own beer from the supermarket - and although the hotel doesn't have fridges in the room, there are ice machines that are dotted around.

There is a pool and a playpark for the kids, as well as a jacuzzi. I didn't try any - but they looked safe enough. I would certainly come here again. Beware you really need a car, and also unless you want to hear loads of stuff about the volcano that you can't be bothered to read, you can do the walk near the bottom of the volcano in the national park for about 10 bucks, plus the hot springs at Baldi for 28 bucks - which saves a fair amount on the hotel list price for the same tour (obviously you are paying then for the transport and the guide).

By the way - if you are a resident of Costa Rica - always ask for the resident price, as this is cheaper, and you have to produce your residents card or passport.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KTJMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.7 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,906 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,378 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,923 reviews
1.3 mi away
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort &...
#24 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
888 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#14 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Lodge & Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Lodge & Springs

Address: La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#10 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £83 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Volcano Lodge & Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At VOLCANO LODGE AND SPRINGS, located in La Palma, La Fortuna de San Carlos, at the foot of the majestic Arenal Volcano, our hot springs and lush tropical garden gives you joy and relaxation to our guests and companions. Undoubtedly, our location allows you to witness the imposing Arenal Volcano from a vantage point. QUALITY SERVICE: Knowing that service is the main reason of hospitality, the Volcano Lodge & Gardens’ team, will do our best to make your stay a very fond memory to take home. FACILITIES: All our 66 rooms are Superior and non smoking, have deluxe finishes, 2 comfortable full size beds or 1 king size bed, TV/cable, telephone, air-conditioned, coffee maker, hot water shower, hairdryer and a nice terrace facing the Volcano. We also offer 4 rooms for handicap. RESTAURANT:Sura Restaurant, capacity: 120 people, we’ll be offering you our traditional local and international food, while you enjoy the majestic view of the volcano, birds surrounded nature. You can ask for room service too. OTHER FACILITIES: *Two swimming pools for adults, two swimming pools for children and two Jacuzzis, all of them with view to the Volcano.*Laundry service, Private parking, Internet Access / Wireless Free, Tours information, nature trail, Playground.* Massages Service from 9 am to 9 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Volcano Lodge & Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Lodge And Gardens
Volcano Lodge & Gardens Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Lodge & Springs Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing