We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful! Affordable! A piece of Heaven!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cabinas la Catarata
Certificate of Excellence
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful! Affordable! A piece of Heaven!”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

What an amazing place this was! We rented a cabin here for two nights in Feb. 2012 and we wanted to stay longer. The cabins were adorable and clean. There were 5 of us and we had a two bedroom cabin with a bathroom, kitchen, living room and back patio that faced the river. we each paid $10 a night! There was a little hammock set up on the patio. By our surprise there was a TV. We never tuned it on though. There was a $2 Tico breakfast. The owner and his wife cook every morning and they are lovely people. You could also get internet if you sat on or near their patio. The owner periodically would grab his binoculars and show us 4ft Iguanas that were high up in the trees as well as sloths. The property is simple and quaint. You really get a feel of the Pura Vida life style here. La Fortuna Falls is hiking distance up the road and is gorgeous! We swam and were able to get behind the falls. You can also zip line up there. It's quiet and not super crowded. There is a small river that runs off La Fortuna Falls and comes on the backside of the property from the cabins. We met Jonny and Sofia who run Paradise Adventures (PACR) from one of the cabins on the property. They set up a zip line for us in Arenal for $75 each! It was amazing with views of the Volcano and Lake Arenal! This Zip line is the same Co. that has a Zip Line in Monte Verde. Jonny and Sofia were so helpful. They also told us about white water rafting tours for $75 that includes and organic lunch on a farm. Needless to say we had such an amazing time here! Town is only a mile away and has a lot to offer as well. There are inexpensive Sodas (little eateries) and a lot of awesome Costa Rican food! Cabinas La Catarata was a slice of heaven!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kadieua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    30
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
37
49
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pérez Zeledón
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed here a party of 8 and it was great. Sky TV a plus. Kitchen has electric skillet, rice maker, fridge and coffee maker, along with glasses, cups, plates and cutlery. Beds are nice and bathroom is clean. Don Felix is super nice; he even gave us some of his coffee because we forgot ours!
It is a little far from town. It is better if you have a car or transportation to take you around. We had the taxi boat people pick us up here and it worked fine. Beautiful landscaping too. Stars are lovely at night. They have free wi-fi in the breakfast area.
Ocho nos quedamos acá y fue genial. Tener tele con SKY fue un plus! La cocina tiene sartén eléctrico, olla arrocera, refri y coffee maker, además de vasos, tazas, platos y cubiertos. Las camas están bien y el baño estaba limpio. Don Felix es super amable, hasta nos regaló café porque se nos había olvidado!
Está un poco largo del pueblo. Es mejor tener carro o transporte. Nosotros le dijimos a los del bote taxi que nos recogieran acá, y funcionó de maravilla. Tienen una hermosa zona verde también. Las estrellas son preciosas en la noche. Hay wifi gratis en la zona donde sirven el desayuno.

Room Tip: They're all pretty; you can hear the river. Down below the rooms are bigger. If there are many o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pasalpro_cr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Best deal in La Fortuna! Group of 8 stayed in one cabin that had two bedrooms and a kitchen for three nights. The kitchen is basic but includes refrigerator and appliances to heat food and cook rice. The views are beautiful with Volcano Arenal always in sight. Behind the cabins is a creek you can take a short walk to and La Fortuna Catarata (waterfall) is also a short hike away. Felix and Nana were super nice and accomodating, and their daughter Emmanuelle was a nice playmate for our daughters. Right next door are Johnny and Sophia, who helped us in planning and booking various activities around town (zip lining, white water rafting, etc). Would definitely return..

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baileymcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Wow! Best deal in Costa Rica. I wasn't expecting much because of the price but was pleasantly surprised and amazed with the facility and hosts. The cabin we stayed in was perfect. Very clean and well maintained. It had a kitchen and spacious rooms. Perfect oasis. Great breakfasts in the morning. The staff were super nice and helpful. If I ever go back to La Fortuna, this is where I will be staying!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

My experience at Cabinas la Catarata was amazing! The owner, Don Felix and his family were very kind to us. Although we didn't speak much Spanish and they didn't speak much English, they made an effort to help us understand what they were saying. The family did so much for me and my group of friends. When we were going to go into town, Felix's son drove us. Another day, when our clothes were wet and we had to hang them outside to dry in the morning then leave to do activities, Felix's wife had washed and dried them for us by the time we got back to the Cabin. This family also has a VERY friendly dog who greeted us everytime we got in. It is a great location, easy to walk to town and located near the Arenal waterfall (About a 40 minute walk). This hotel, and the kind and caring family who ran it definitely exceeded all of my expectations. I would for sure come to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelli W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weyburn, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

These cabin's were impeccably clean, and reasonably priced. They spaciously accommodated our family of 6. We were delighted with the bird watching, and pleased to have a 'jungle walk' to the river out our back door. Felix and his family were wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anneliese Lane
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We loved the Cabinas near the waterfall ! The place was peaceful with the river sounds right outside our cabin. The family owners were very nice and accomodating - breakfast was delicious! And go see Jonny at the tour place right next store - he had some of the best deals in town and was EXTREMELY nice and helpful - did lots of stuff for free! We wish we had gone on his rafting trip - as ours got canceled.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anneliese_Lane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,439 reviews
3.9 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,826 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#6 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
555 reviews
3.7 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,803 reviews
1.1 mi away
Arenal Hostel Resort
Arenal Hostel Resort
#6 of 68 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas la Catarata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas la Catarata

Property: Cabinas la Catarata
Address: Road to Fortuna Waterfall | On the left side, 700 meters up road to Fortuna Waterfall, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 68 Speciality Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cabinas la Catarata 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, peaceful, affordable and safe accommodation. Cabinas La Cataratas is minutes from downtown, situated alongside Rio Fortuna and 5 km from the Arenal Volcano. Cabins have a volcano view and access to a natural swimming pool. Cabins are equipped with kitchen, fans, satellite TV, hot water and WiFi. Large loft style cabins available for groups of up to 8. Cabinas La Catarata is also home to Paradise Adventures Costa Rica, La Fortuna's new adrenalin info center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Cabinas la Catarata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas La Catarata Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing