We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rustic but clean”
Review of Arenal Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arenal Palace
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level Contributor
286 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Rustic but clean”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Our family recently spent two nights at this hotel. Rooms are basic but clean. Pack your own shampoo because all you get is a bar of soap. Beds are firm and comfortable. Be prepared to share the room with some geckos and bugs. Views of Arenal are great if it is not cloudy. Breakfast was good and the staff members were really friendly.

Room Tip: Upper floor has better views of Arenal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5Travellers1263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    33
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
26
24
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This place is a great spot to relax, has incredible views, large rooms and wonderful staff that make the stay comfortable. It is well priced and the view of the volcano from your room is beautiful, especially in the morning. We've stayed here for both of our visits to Arenal and will come again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The Arenal Palace in La Fortuna is a breath of fresh air to travelers. Saleem, the hotel owner, has one goal for his guests. The goal is to give exceptional customer service to every person who walks through his door. Arenal Palace is only two years old but has a superb future. Saleem shared the whats, wheres and hows of La Fortuna. He also recommended a restaurant that turned out to be fabulous, Garrapatta. Don't miss it!

Room Tip: All rooms have windows that face the Arenal volcano. Amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank work2live2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

The owner is very helpful. We had a great time. Rooms were very comfortable. The view of the volcano is outstanding. The hotel centrally located to a lot of attractions. Would recommend for anyone looking for a less commercial more personal experience.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I enjoyed stay there 3 days. Simple rooms, but have some character,clean, big,with amazing view to Arenal. Bird watching impressed me so much! Last time we stay in Baldi's Spa resort.It was wonderful, but we never see too many birds. Here in a morning just behind the hotel you can see Bird show. Toucans live right there .I saw them every morning. I felt like I am in paradise. People (stuff) is very nice.Breakfast area is beautiful.I come to the area because of Hot Springs,which really have healing power.I feels so much better after them. Tabacon is very close to this hotel .Even buying 85$ daily pass ,including dinner, I still have saved a lot's of money staying in Arenal Place. Definitely will come back!
Thank you for my little wonderfull vacation -Jamie, Juan, Pablo, Veronica!
Katrina

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 318KatrinaW63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We arrived and from the beginning everything went better than expected... We were received by the hotel manager, and he gave us some pretty sweet deals for canopy and hot springs trips. Breakfast was amazing everyday we stayed there and it was one of the most personalized treatments I've ever had on a B&B. I totally recommend it if you are searching for an affordable option

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmadrizmontero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponce
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

One can really say that you feel like at home.the rooms are nice, it has a great view of the volcano, breakfast included, wi-if, the owner goes the extra mile to please all your needs.you can not really ask for more.it is simply perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gretric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.0 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
1.3 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,789 reviews
1.7 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,813 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Palace

Property: Arenal Palace
Address: 1 km east of the Tabacon Resort | 8 km west from La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Arenal Palace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL ARENAL PALACE is located at only 1 kilometer east of the Tabacon Resort, 8 km west from the town of La Fortuna, our deluxe rooms and our Junior Suite offer a perfect and wonderful view to the active side of the Arenal Volcano.We are sorround by the nature will only hear the sound of the birds and wildlife. We offer a warm and familiar atmosphere, mostly due to our family kept structure and our very well trained personnel, pledged to make you feel always comfortable. HOTEL ARENAL PALACE offers spacious deluxe rooms and a Junior Suite. All guest rooms features a private balcony or terrace with an unforgettable view to the Arenal Volcano and rainforests.Our guests can enjoy such in-room amenities as Air-Conditioning, Cable TV, Swimming Pool, Internet Service, private bathroom, hot and cold water, balcony with Arenal Volcano View, little freezer, coffee maker with a delicious Costa Rican coffee and king size beds.Our kitchen prepares a typical breakfast per day for our guests, with a focus on the regional cuisine of Costa Rica. We use local ingredients with an emphasis on fresh tropical fruits and vegetables. We re happy to accommodate vegetarians and special dietary requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Arenal Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Palace Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing