We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Centrally located for all things in Arenal area”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
68 reviews
Villa Heliconia outside
Main Batroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Lukeoline
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
325 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Centrally located for all things in Arenal area”
Reviewed 16 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This was convenient place to stay in the Arenal/La Fortuna area. The ranch was beautiful with lots of vegetation and a nice pool. Their dachshund, Gitana (means gypsy), was a hoot-she came and went, and was very friendly. Go, see, do during the day, then come back here to relax and make dinner. We stayed in the larger villa on the property. Two bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, open air kitchen/porch area. Nice, local supermarket was 10 minutes away.

Allow Esteban to arrange your rental car and tours. He arranged our tours while we were in the Arenal area (Proyecto Asis & Arenal Mundo Aventura-zipline). At the ranch, we did the horseback riding (2 hours). It was beautiful scenery through sugar cane fields and a river. We also did the ATV trip to the hot springs. It was about 1 1/2-2 hour ride to Termales del Bosque Hotel springs. We stayed about an hour, then it was an hour ride home. It was a long trip on an ATV-the springs were good, but I enjoyed the drive to the springs more. You will drive through pineapple fields, jungles, over rolling hills, to awesome vistas, and past local homes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: helpfulness of owner with travel plans
Liked least: king mattress not comfortable
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
svisser
wilmington,nc
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic lodging in a beautiful location with a great host”
Reviewed 4 March 2015 for a stay in December 2014

The lodge is isolated on a beautiful farm surrounded by fruit trees. Very clean modern and luxurious. The owners were very helpful with arranging tours, we did white water rafting and ATV tours. We rented our car through them as well and saved a lot of money compared to the standard rate. The ATV tour , run by there company was fantastic lasting all afternoon and including time at a local hot spring. It was definitely worth the cost. Wish we could have stayed longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful setting and activities
Liked least: Distance from arenal volcano
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesse F
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“Excellent place to stay, Beautiful SAFE”
Reviewed 22 December 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Esteban was excellent and we had an amazing time. The view is beautiful the place is very well taken care of, the cleaning ladies came everyday and did a great job. The property is on a compound and we felt very safe which added to the place immensely due to a previous situation that happened in San Jose. I would truly recommend you staying at this place, give Esteban a call and he is very helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and bathroom
Liked least: there was no paper towls
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mdkmd
Lees Summit, MO
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Spotless lovely setting on a lush horse ranch with hosts eager to make your stay the optimal experience.”
Reviewed 22 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent 4 nights here and the minute I walked in and saw our place I knew I didn't want to leave. Even when raining it was so therapeutic to sit in the hammock and veg with a good book or just look out over the lovely setting. The kitchen has everything you need to cook, and I really liked it being open air. There was great coffee already there for our use and some spices. You do have to put any food items in the frig to keep ants away but that is no problem. The bed and bath rooms felt like 5 star quality. Most of all, Esteban is happy to arrange everything including car rental (smooth process, use him), on site ATV ("grandma caught some air!"), white water rafting (huge adrenaline rush), and his wonderful stable of horses. The horseback ride with Danny is unforgettable...a wonderful nature guide, crossing a river on horseback, and even a wild dead run (at my request) through sugar cane fields. We saw toucans and sloths. The horses are incredibly well trained and my novice husband did just fine. Also the ATV to hot springs, returning at night time was cool. Even without these extras the stay would have been so wonderful. The pool and stables were both spotless. Next time we are saving up for his hot air balloon. He had a photo book that looked like a heavenly experience, literally and spiritually. Thanks you Esteban, Danny, and everyone else on the ranch that made us feel so welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: people, view, serenity, horses
Liked least: poor road last quarter mile
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie L
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and tranquil”
Reviewed 6 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed four nights at the ranch in August. All the communication with Esteban, the owner, was responded to promptly and efficiently. The ranch itself is a very beautiful and tranquil place to stay. Our accommodation was very private and spacious and had lovely views of the ranch. The amenities were of a high standard - the accommodation was even nicer than the photos on the website. Esteban was very attentive during our stay and was helpful in organising a 4WD for the whole of our trip (not just for during our stay at the ranch) and was able to get a very favourable rate for us. Esteban also let us know which trips he could organise for us and was informative rather than pushy which made us feel very comfortable. We went on a fantastic trip on the ATVs to the hot springs (definitely recommend) and we went ourselves to the hanging bridges and for a hike around the base of Arenal. All in all, I would thoroughly recommend this place and also Esteban as a great host.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquility
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
afial001
Chevy Chase, MD
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Insider's Costa Rica, just outside La Fortuna”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We booked a week at Centaura Ranch based on the consistently amazing reviews on Trip Advisor and now we must join the chorus of praises for Finca Centaura and for Esteban Elizondo, our host. Esteban arranged for us to be picked up at the San Jose airport in a private van. Norman was our driver and he was funny and told us a little about the area as we made our way through the mountains to our villa. We had a 5 week stay in CR planned and Esteban arranged a special rate on a rental car for us...the car was waiting at the villa when we arrived...nice! Esteban called and asked to visit us and we talked about what it was we wanted to do during our week stay. He made recommendations of local sites that we could visit independently and arranged white water rafting, an ATV tour and horseback riding for my daughter and I. Every trip was excellent...my teenage son LOVED the ATV tour...we went through pineapple plantations, through villages, farms, into the mountains and visited a more private hot springs site...awesome, forgot to mention that we saw a sloth and toucans along the way. We spent afternoons at the ranch spotting hummingbirds & parakeets and picking some limes and star fruit off of a few of the many fruit trees on the property.
I guess I should mention the villa too! It was modern and clean...daily cleaning service which was a treat. The beds were extremely comfortable. It was a beautiful view to wake up to each morning and we spend some time hanging out on the hammocks watching the birds and drinking Costa Rican coffee.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our host Esteban made everything very easy for us
Liked least: Wi-fi was inconsistent at times...however, this has been our experience in everyplace that we have visited in CR
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grateful1...
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
1 review
“A wonderful place that exceeded all expectations!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

My husband, myself, and our young adult daughter were delighted with our villa at Centaura Ranch. In planning our trip, we looked for a place where we could experience Costa Rica's rural beauty while enjoying comfortable accommodations. The villa was perfect. The two bedrooms granted us privacy while the common kitchen/dining area gave us the opportunity to enjoy great family time as we prepared meals, played games, and planned our daily excursions. The villa was cleaned immaculately each day by a friendly and courteous staff, and its tasteful décor was enhanced by the lush, natural beauty surrounding it. We truly enjoyed staying there.
In addition to the great villa, many other aspects of the property contributed to our pleasure: a swimming pool just a few steps from the villa, an extremely well-kept stable with beautiful horses to ride, ATVs to grant opportunities for adventure, and beautiful scenery to constantly delight the senses.
This review wouldn't be complete without mentioning the wonderful people who made our stay so memorable: the owners who graciously welcomed us and helped us plan great activities, the housekeepers who kept the villa spotless and created beautiful floral arrangements for our rooms, the ranchers who cheerfully granted us access to the stable and horses, and the exceptional guide who not only provided us with the opportunity to see rural Costa Rica by horse and by ATV, but who also respectfully taught us about its history, culture, people, agriculture, wildlife and plant life. We learned so much!
Oh, and did I mention the adorable dachshund that adopts you upon your arrival? It's a great place!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Attention to detail in all things: communication, accommodations, activities
Liked least: Nothing
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing