We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet, peaceful SUPER value close to Arenal Adventures!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Fortuna Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Fortuna Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach, California
1 review
“Quiet, peaceful SUPER value close to Arenal Adventures!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

The lodge is beautiful and modernly decorated with a breathtaking view of Arenal volcano from the deck (on clear days). The room was clean and spacious, and the bed was extremely comfortable. Breakfast - fresh fruit, eggs, bread, coffee/tea, juice - was always delicious. Bob and Jesse were great hosts, eager to help us whenever we had a question or need and refreshed us on arrival with amazing fruit smoothies. It was the prefect place to start our honeymoon adventure!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonicaZond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jessycantone, Manager at La Fortuna Suites, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thanks for the review!! Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    26
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
21
121
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at La Fortuna Suites at the end of our honeymoon. We were not disappointed. When we arrived, our hosts made us fresh fruit smoothies. Yum. The bed was really comfortable, the best one we slept on in Costa Rica (Costa Rican beds can be rock hard). The breakfast every morning was delicious. I loved drinking my morning coffee with a view of Mt Arenal in the background. Robert and Jesse were both really nice. They were helpful and recommended local things to do, see, and eat.

I was not a fan of La Fortuna itself, it felt like a mexican, over-touristed, spring break hot-spot. But, I have nothing bad to say about the hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RCSC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jessycantone, Manager at La Fortuna Suites, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thanks for the review!! Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

La Fortuna Suites is top-notch in every way---from cleanliness, accommodations, comfort, and service--this place goes above and beyond and made our stay amazing. Robert and Jessy were so friendly and helpful; we felt like we were staying with old friends. It was our first time in Costa Rica and we had a lot of questions. I was actually worried that we might be annoying them because we asked so many questions! But they were both always willing to answer us, with a smile, and gave us excellent advice and tidbits that were extremely helpful.
Our first night there we asked for a recommendation for dinner and Robert told us about La Chancha---delicious, by the way!--, and he gave us walking directions. A combination of us being tired from travel and directionally challenged and when we repeated them back we were totally wrong. Robert decided to walk us to the restaurant to make sure we knew where we were going and also gave us recommendations on what to order. I am still craving cosados and the guyava (sp) de leche! He totally went out of his way for us and we were so appreciative!
Robert and Jessy also gave recommendations on local tours and had the tour books available for us to review. They were able to call and make all the arrangements for us which was great! The tours they recommended were wonderful but they also recommended things were could do on our own as well.
The property was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. There is even air conditioning in the bedrooms (rare in Costa Rica) and our showers and faucets always had hot water and great water pressure (also rare in CR!). The property is modernly styled with really cool art pieces hung throughout. There is a great "common area" inside with a large screen tv, couch, dvd's, games, and a dining table. We did not utilize that area because the weather was so nice, but we did utilize the outdoor deck, another common area with a spectacular view of the volcano as well as numerous birds, some local roosters, and beautiful greens. Despite being 2 streets away from the "main drag" in town, it was always quiet and serene at La Fortuna Suites and we felt like we were tucked away in paradise.
The breakfast was spectacular---the fresh fruit every day tasted better than any fruit I have ever eaten in the States and the made-to-order eggs were always delicious. Fresh avocado slices accompanied the eggs and I now include avocado with my eggs at home--yummy! My husband and I are not coffee drinkers and requested hot tea in the mornings, which was not a problem. And how could I forget to mention the fresh-made smoothies that we were greeted with upon our arrival?! After a stressful drive from San Jose it was JUST what we needed to start our trip in La Fortuna!
EVERYTHING about this property was just spectacular. We stayed at 3 other B&B's during our 11 day trip and La Fortuna Suites was absolutely the best! Quite frankly, it is better than most of the places I have ever stayed in the States too. We definitely will be back!

Thank you Robert, Jessy, and Buddy for welcoming us and helping us fall in love with Costa Rica!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jessycantone, Manager at La Fortuna Suites, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
So glad to be a part of your Costa RIcan vacation. & thanks for the glowing review!! It's our goal to make La Fortuna Suites a home away from home. We are truly happy that we were able to make your stay as comfy as we could. Best of luck back in Ohio, & thanks again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, MD
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Robert, Jesse (and Buddy, the chihuahua) were wonderful hosts making us feel at home from the moment we arrived from serving delicious breakfasts to offering suggestions for and booking our activities and just making sure we were enjoying our stay. The rooms are clean and spacious with a small kitchenette (sink, microwave and full sized frig), living area, bedroom and bath. We enjoyed a good night's sleep in the comfortable beds. There are four suites, 2 on each floor; the rooms on the 2nd floor are brighter and I would recommend those if available especially the room that opens out to the 2nd floor balcony with lovely view of the volcano. The location is surrounded by other homes near the center of town, so very convenient to restaurants and shops, and soaking in the local culture. This is a B&B and soap is provided but do remember to bring your own toiletries. There are 4 bicycles which guests can use to get around town--nice touch! Overall, we loved our stay and highly recommend this B&B. Thank you Jesse, Robert and Buddy for a great stay!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the second floor especially the room opening to the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sulurph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jessycantone, Manager at La Fortuna Suites, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thanks very much for the review! Glad you enjoyed your stay. & thanks for explaining Kitchenette. I think readers will find that helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

La Fortuna Suites was our favorite place in Costa Rica out of the 5 hotels and BBs we stayed at during our trip. Our hosts Jessy and Robert made it feel like home and took care of everything from our homemade breakfasts, restaurant reservations, activities and transportation.

They were the only BB and hotel to help us book our Interbus shuttles to and from each destination, which was great since we didn't rent a car. They cooked us delicious breakfasts and were happy to pick up special ingredients for my vegan diet.

Another huge plus is that this is the only higher-end BB in town so we could walk two blocks to the main square and all the restaurants and shops. Plus the Apple TV and board games were great on our nights in.

My boyfriend and I both got a bit emotional leaving La Fortuna Suites since we loved La Fortuna and our hosts so much. We highly recommend this place to anyone who want a warm experience with all the perks of a top notch concierge in town instead of a big resort.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KJadeCloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jessycantone, Manager at La Fortuna Suites, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thanks for the review. It was a pleasure hosting both you, & Ricardo. We wish you all the best back in Cali. &, you're welcome here any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

I booked this through Gecko Trail Adventures and I'm really glad I did. The owners, Robert and Jesse, were just great! Very welcoming and very helpful with suggesting what to see and do. My room was clean, comfortable and quiet. I really loved the quaint nature of this B&B. Would definitely stay there again when in CR.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jessycantone, Manager at La Fortuna Suites, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thanks, for the review! We're glad that you enjoyed you time in Fortuna, & your stay at La Fortuna Suites! Wish you could have stayed longer. Have fun back in Texas, & please keep us in mind for future visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Jesse and Robert were amazing hosts. They made us breakfast each morning as we overlooked the volcano. There are only four rooms in the suites and the beds are tempurpedic, which was a welcome
change from most of the mattresses in Costa Rica. Overall I HIGHLY recommend this place!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lindseynauman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jessycantone, Manager at La Fortuna Suites, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thanks for the review!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,749 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#6 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,801 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#19 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fortuna Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fortuna Suites

Property: La Fortuna Suites
Address: Calle 474 and Avenida 331A, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Fortuna Suites is located just off the main streets of downtown La Fortuna, Costa Rica. A small town bustling with fun, and said to be "the adventure capital of the world!" Daily Yoga Classes over-viewing the volcano from 5-6pm every day! At La Fortuna Suites you'll find the most comfortable Memory Foam beds in Costa Rica, 400 thread count Egyptian cotton linens, custom designed furniture, stylish accommodations, 40' T.Vs, Netflix, WiFi, your own kitchenette, and a friendly concierge. We also serve a complimentary breakfast each morning. We have four fashionable apartments, each with a maximum occupancy of two adults. Each suite includes a queen sized bed in the bedroom, a futon in the living space, private bathroom, & kitchenette (no cook top). If you've ever visited Costa RIca before, you'll appreciate how stylish, and comfortable La Fortuna Suites is. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Fortuna Suites Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing