We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning resort”
Review of Nayara Springs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nayara Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Beautiful villas with private plunge pools filled with hot thermal water, perfect finishes and enough bathroom space for you to get lost. The grounds are splendid and staff members are very well trained. We had a wonderful massage at the spa (located outdoors, which was perfect to listen to birds. Giselle is a wonderful masseuse). A few points to optimize for Nayara to remain No 1 in Latin America: 1. maintenance and cleaning staff should learn to preserve the resort's quiet atmosphere (too many loud conversations between houses while we were trying to sleep in); 2. Service at the Amor loco restaurant was unsatisfactory (average cocktails; the wine on "promotion" was definitely not being promoted but gotten rid of, for understandable reasons; too many people attended to our table, but clearly without a system, as nobody came to take our order for 30 minutes). Other than that, everything was just perfect!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank StephaneRey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (861)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

786 - 792 of 861 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

I spent my honeymoon in this gorgeous place and i can't say enough about the excellent service we received. We were fascinated about the room decor and amenities and the food was delicious! We are already planning to come back for our first year anniversary. Thank you Nayara Springs for making our honeymoon so special.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bjixcoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I'm still reeling from the amazing experience we had at Nayara Springs, and already itching for a return trip! We were fortunate to book within a month of the opening of the property, and the staff were all seasoned pros by the time we arrived!

Everything was impeccable, from the attentive customer service (our host Maricela in particular was lovely and super accommodating) to the luxurious accommodations. From the moment we stepped onto the property, we were addressed by first name (as if they had done their research and knew what we were going to look like) and treated like royalty. Maricela in particular went out of her way to make special arrangements for us, from cleaning and drying our soaking wet shoes from river rafting to making last-minute dinner reservations. I also want to give a shout-out to Jose from the main Nayara property, who was super attentive to our requests and accommodating with our luggage.

HIGH POINTS:
- Best room I've stayed in. Private villa with fabulously detailed furnishings to the indulgently large bathroom. The infinity jacuzzi pool and private outdoor shower were amazing. If you can get one of the private villas, book immediately.
- Complimentary services, such as free laundry, international phone calls, and unlimited mini bar. We were also greeted with a great cocktail and a nice bottle of champagne.
- Incredible design of the common areas. The glass-encased lobby provided some serious wow factor. All of the restaurants were well-designed, and the pool areas were very inviting.
- Fantastic customer service. This is the main reason I remember a quality resort and is ultimately why I will return.
- My morning yoga class was intimate, relaxing, and a decent workout. Love the open-air yoga room. Imagine rainforest all around you as you meditate!
- The Springs Spa is beautifully designed and offered a wide variety of treatments.
- All of our meals were great, from breakfast and dinner at Amor Loco, to ceviche at Sushi Amor, to the five-course wine pairing menu at Nostalgia Wine Bar (an incredible deal and not to be missed)

LOW POINTS (all minor!):
- Shampoo, conditioner, and body wash (though wonderful) were placed in beautiful but impractical ceramic containers. I was constantly worried about the bottles slipping and breaking, and the shape of the opening of the containers meant I was dumping shampoo onto my hand, and therefore wasting a lot of product.
- I would lose the TVs in Nostalgia Wine Bar (located at the main Nayara property). They were constantly playing US football, which attracted a rather boisterous crowd for an upscale wine bar. I noticed the sushi bar has its own TV - I would drive all traffic for sports viewing there and keep Nostalgia a more intimate, romantic venue since this is one of their biggest selling points. The constant obscenities detracted from our otherwise amazing wine pairing meal. I was also not pleased that the staff were unwilling to say anything to one rather rude patron at the bar, explaining that he was on his 3rd bottle of wine. It was almost as if they didn't want to say something to him since he was their big spender for the evening.
- I loved my reflexology massage, but my friend was less than happy with her back-and-neck massage.
- No hot springs on the property, but there are plenty of options in the area and to be honest, I loved our private jacuzzi so much I hardly missed the springs.

BOTTOM LINE:
Do not hesitate to book this place. It's well worth the money and you will be blown away by the location and service. To the staff and management at Nayara, thank you for an unforgettable experience. I would encourage you to maintain the high standard of service we experienced as I truly believe this will really set you apart from other properties in the area as you grow your business.

Room Tip: Book the private villas with private jacuzzi if you can get them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jairo Q, Manager at Nayara Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for your valuable feedback after your recent stay at Nayara. At Nayara our top priority is to meet or exceed our guests' highest expectations, so we apologize that you were not satisfied with the temperature of our plunge pool thermal water. We welcome your feedback as we try to determine the optimum temperature for the therapeutic and healing effects of our natural hot springs to satisfy all our guests. We are so glad that you enjoyed our new villas, the personal host service and complimentary amenities. Thank you for choosing Nayara and we look forward to serving you again in the future.
Sincerely

Jairo Quesada
Director of Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We just got back from a lovely week at Naraya with our 2 kids, ages 12 and 17. We stayed in villa 4 and the kids were at a casita on the sister property. The 2 properties are connected by a hanging bridge and it is very easy to get back and forth. If you are thinking
of staying here -- go for it and you won't be disappointed! Service was impeccable, villa was nicest place I've ever stayed. So spacious with every small detail considered in the design. Amazing location and view of the volcano. It was an active vacation and the hotel booked all our excursions. Top notch all the way from transportation to guides to meals that were included. I highly recommend hikes to Cerro Chato and Rio
Celeste, as well as whitewater rafting on the serapiqui. Ziplining of
course a terrifying must! Dinners and wine selection were not overly
amazing but certainly met our expectations. We were lucky to meet one
of the owners one day at lunch...his focus on the importance of
impeccable service and creating an unforgettable vacation was evident. I
predict reservations at this place will soon be hard to come by. Stay
here, you will have an amazing vacation!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
6  Thank Kathy930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Travelled the world and this one is a don't miss. The wine bar is worth the trip even if you can't get in which is a good possibility - book early on this one.
New section of 16 independent residences have small infinity pool on your deck!

Room Tip: Get the manager Jonathan to help you. If money no object book in new section
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brian_C201325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Crossing the pedestrian bridge linking Nayara Hotel with Nayara Springs was like entering a world of unparalleled luxury. I am not exagerating when i say that this hotel is like nothing i have ever experienced or could imagine. Lush vegetation lines both sides of every walkway and turns every Nayara Spring Villa into a hidden oasis. When i actually entered my villa it was sensory overload of color and eclectic decor. Dual head rain shower in the amazing bathroom is only matched by the outdoor dual head rain shower in the private garden. And despite all i have mentioned, the highlight of the villa is the terrace. You can enjoy unfettered view of the majestic volcano from the sofa, the hammock, and the private plunge pool that is actually fed by natural hotsprings. I dont know if there is any other hotel that has something like this. When my boyfriend and i stayed the second week of November, the piano lounge/restaurant,spa and other common areas where still being built,but it made zero difference because we couldnt get ourselves to leave our villa the entire time we were there. It was simply the most romantic, intimate and exclusive experience i could have imagined.Something else that i liked about this Hotel is that you can walk across the bridge and enter the sister property Nayara Spa & Gardens which although not as intimate as Nayara Springs is also nice and you can use all the facilities there including a pretty neat wine bar and cozy sushi restaurant yhat we visited and liked a lot. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank katherine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fatima C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FredericCappello, Manager at Nayara Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.1 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,366 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 64 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,445 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,897 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#13 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,506 reviews
0.2 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nayara Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Springs

Address: 4 miles west from la Fortuna Town, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £475 - £936 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Nayara Springs 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 35 villas are 1,500 square feet of pure luxury, romance, and privacy. These villas offer the ultimate experience with a private plunge pool fed by water directly from the volcano which is some of the purest in the world. The room includes complimentary breakfast, minibar, laundry, daily yoga classes and your very own personal host! Nayara Springs is an adult-only luxurious property with many unique and exclusive features. The hotel has two savory restaurants; Amor Loco and Mis Amores. In Amor Loco guests can enjoy gourmet cuisine while sitting by the pool or dining inside with live music seven nights a week. Mis Amores is our casual Italian fare restaurant with a beautiful direct view to the Volcano which is also connected to our new swim-up pool bar Cielito Lindo. Nayara Springs also has its own coffee bar; the coffee is a Nayara Signature that can only be found on property. Guest can also enjoy our open-air yoga pavilion or work on their fitness at our new state-of-the-art-gym. Nayara Springs is connected by two footbridges perched 150 feet high, above the rainforest canopy to our sister property Nayara Hotel Spa & Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Nayara Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nayara Springs Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing