We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The True Definition of an Exceptional Experience”
Review of Nayara Springs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nayara Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 28 May 2014

What you see online is what you get - and more - at The Nayara Springs resort. It is truly one of those properties that hits on all cylinders to provide a truly exceptional experience. The grounds in combination with its sister property, The Nayara Resort and Spa, are spectacular. The villa’s accommodations with the outside showers and personal thermal pools make the visit very memorable (and hard to leave). Having your complimentary breakfast delivered each morning to enjoy on the lanai at your leisure overlooking the thermal pool and with a view of the Arenal volcano was a magnificent way to start the day. The entire staff works hard to deliver superb service, without being overbearing. From Marcela and Yeini who were indispensable at the front desks to Eloquin, the sommelier at the Wine Bar who was so enthusiastic about his pairings. This is one of those resorts that you simply must put on your bucket list. It deserves all the accolades and then some.

Room Tip: Villa 12 is close to pool, front desk and restaurant and has a nice direct view of the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gobeach56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (873)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

735 - 741 of 873 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Since the moment we arrived, we were in awe of the natural beauty of La Fortuna and Nayara. The best kept secret if the spectacular location, is the friendliest staff around! We enjoyed our stay immensely.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gmlanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We returned from Costa Rica a week ago, and we are ready to go again. We loved Nayara!!! The grounds were beautiful, the food was delicious, the service was superb. I waked up every morning to the beautiful melody of birds singing for about 30 minutes; the birds start singing early. We were fortunate to be at Nayara on a clear day, so we had an awesome view of the volcano. I laid in bed and watch the clouds pass through the top of the volcano and then I had a full view of it. I couldn't stop looking at it - so amazing. We went on 2 tours: Hanging Bridges and La Fortuna Waterfall. At the Hanging Bridges, we saw a poison frog, a squirrel, ants carrying leaves, a lizard, an unusual looking bee hive, and beautiful foliage. On the highest bridge, you can get a picture of yourself with the volcano in the background. The trip to the waterfall was awesome, too. It was hard coming back up the 500 steps, but I did it without stopping. The calves of my legs were sore for days, but worth it. I was proud of myself for being able to do this. We booked our tours through Nayara with Carlos before we arrived. Just send him an email (see Nayara website for contact). Thank you, Carlos, for answering all my questions and booking our tours. Our tour guides were wonderful. After our tours, we had a wonderful experience at a local home owner for lunch. The food was cooked on an open pit fire; it was delicious. Then the owner provided a demonstration of stripping sugar cane; members of our group help him. This was a real Costa Rica experience that we loved. There is so much to do in this area; we needed more time here. After leaving Nayara, we went to The Westin Golf Resort and Spa in Playa Conchal; I will post a review about Westin, too.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 5 and were very pleased. The size of the room was perfect as well as the view. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MLM718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We almost booked at Tabacon, until we found Nayara. We booked in their new area with the villas with our private hot spring fed pool. We had coffee and juice brought to our room everyday and our villa included breakfast, which you could do room-service for as well. We did the room-service a few times and it was wonderful! They setup breakfast in our outdoor patio and we enjoyed it while viewing Arenal Volcano!

We then left for the Four Seasons, but we sorely missed the morning delivery of coffee and juice!

Also, the villa had a mini-fridge that came with free drinks (water, sodas, beer). There was some wine in there, but you had to pay for that. It also included free laundry (yes, free) and we used it a few times! Free long distance calls and wifi were also included.So it was great, to be able to call back to the States daily and check in.

We did the private dinner with the chef and I would highly recommend doing this! It was so beautiful and romantic and was a nice surprise for my husband. They pick you up from your room and take you to the dinner.

Room - outdoor shower, indoor shower. Separate vanities (great)! Outdoor bed - we loved this so much; now want to get one for our outdoor patio! Views of Arenal Volcano - although was only partial view; so if you want full view; ask for a room with it. We had some a/c problems, but they came immediately to fix it.

Also, the villas appear "secluded" surrounded by greenery, but they are pretty close to other villas and you can hear people passing/walking by and others in their outdoor villas. It is private in the sense you can't see them, but you can hear them.

We loved this place overall and would definitely recommend this place for couples.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My husband and I spent two nights in Villa 15 at the end of April. Our Villa was extremely secluded. Yes, it was a long walk up a hill, but it was perfectly serene. We are pretty sure we had an amazing volcano view, but there were dense clouds the whole time (to be expected in this area). Every aspect of the Villa was exceptional and comfortable. We arranged two tours through the hotel. The company was great and everything ran on-time. The clouds broke on one of the tours, and we saw the volcano! We had breakfast in-room one morning, at Amor Loco another morning, ate lunch both days at the pool and had dinner at Amor Loco one night and Sushi Amor the other. The price for the quality was spot-on. We had no complaints anywhere. The staff are friendly and accommodating. It never once felt stuffy or over-the-top. They respected your desire for a quiet retreat, and we really appreciated that.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CW2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Our stay in the Villa was top drawer in all aspects. Much has already been said about the property staff; they are tremendous. When traveling in areas like Arenal we go for adventure immersion-- see everything and get to know the area. Staff guide Andre's is exceptional; spend your time & money on a few personal tours for a view of the area you cannot obtain in any other fashion. Andres' connections in the area in addition to extensive knowledge will maximize your chance to view wildlife in the area as well as understanding. We saw birds most National Geographic folks don't get to see. You spent the money to go to one of the top hotel/resorts, so go further by having the personal tour by a top guide. A MUST if you are in for adventure!

Room Tip: Stay in the villas in the Springs; they are spoiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank txm4um
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This place is perfect for anyone wanting extreme spoiling and to get away from it all. Can't believe they have only been open 4 months but I can certainly see why they have skyrocketed to the top of the list.
I stayed in one of the villas - which was so worth it. You have a very private beautifully decorated bungalow with a luxurious bathroom (extra large 2 person indoor rainfall shower and a very large 2 person outdoor rainfall shower courtyard). Including a small fridge and espresso maker. The bedroom flows into a cross between a small seating area/living room with nice sized TV and DVD player. All of this opens onto a very nice size patio with large day bed and private plunge pool which fills with the local mineral springs (not hot but just the right level of warmth). All of this is hidden in beautiful local flora. And through all this flora, there is a view of the Arenal Volcano hidden in mist in the background. It was the perfect balance of privacy vs view. And the mineral springs are blissful after a long day exploring the region.
The restaurant (Amor Loco) is a gastronomic delight and caters to the high end palate. They had a new and interesting spin on all of the dishes I tried. Wonderful service and a relaxing atmosphere with hints of Moroccan decor. The restaurant deserves 5 stars just by itself.
The grounds are maintained immaculately and the level of service is what one would expect of some of the most exclusive hotels around the world. Everywhere you go, the staff goes out of their way to provide whatever you might want.
I can't recommend Nayara Springs highly enough.
There are a few things that one should keep in mind:
1) I did hear people complain about the humidity and rain. Umm - there is a reason it is called RAINforest - the rain is what creates this little paradise so one should assume there will be high humidity and rain.
2) In order to get the lovely views, they have built the hotel on hill making the uphill walks a bit tough so they provide golf carts with driver upon request. These were normally available immediately but during check in and check out times they are in high demand - you might need to wait a while (maybe up to 10 minutes) for a cart. If you can't wait, then make sure to request one ahead of time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank CarmodyQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.1 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,394 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#5 of 64 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,468 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#5 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,903 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#13 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,529 reviews
0.2 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nayara Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Springs

Address: 4 miles west from la Fortuna Town, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £620 - £932 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Nayara Springs 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 35 villas are 1,500 square feet of pure luxury, romance, and privacy. These villas offer the ultimate experience with a private plunge pool fed by water directly from the volcano which is some of the purest in the world. The room includes complimentary breakfast, minibar, laundry, daily yoga classes and your very own personal host! Nayara Springs is an adult-only luxurious property with many unique and exclusive features. The hotel has two savory restaurants; Amor Loco and Mis Amores. In Amor Loco guests can enjoy gourmet cuisine while sitting by the pool or dining inside with live music seven nights a week. Mis Amores is our casual Italian fare restaurant with a beautiful direct view to the Volcano which is also connected to our new swim-up pool bar Cielito Lindo. Nayara Springs also has its own coffee bar; the coffee is a Nayara Signature that can only be found on property. Guest can also enjoy our open-air yoga pavilion or work on their fitness at our new state-of-the-art-gym. Nayara Springs is connected by two footbridges perched 150 feet high, above the rainforest canopy to our sister property Nayara Hotel Spa & Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Nayara Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nayara Springs Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing