We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great choice for a group”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
the great room
the library
local florals
Arenal volcano looking good
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
dlclabo
savannah, ga
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great choice for a group”
Reviewed 28 January 2014 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The photo is a little misleading as it the house is actually set up like a hostel with individual (bed)rooms, each with a small private bathroom, but it was perfect for our group of five women. We each had a key to the main door and one for our bedroom so we could lock up and go - in a group or by ourselves. The town is lovely and the location was perfect, right across from the catholic church and almost on the square/plaza. The apartment is located above an art gallery, across the street from a lovely artisan tourist store and close to the Desafio adventure tour office. Great restaurants (and chocolate stores) nearby,. Peter was fantastic: he arranged all our tours in advance and we were picked up at our building. Our thanks to Heidi who met us on site and answered all our questions.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Difficult to locate - photos a bit misleading
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villach - Austria
Reviewed 22 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
gprakasam
Sacramento, California
1 review
“Peter is the ultimate host.”
Reviewed 30 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

Peter is the ultimate host. If you are like us who did not have much of a chance to plan the vacation and then come to find out that someone is taking care of everything then it is the Sleeping Indian at La Fortuna. Not only did Peter pick us up at San Jose airport and take care of all our adventures here ( which were fabulous) he went above and beyond in helping us plan the rest of our stay in Costa Rica. The amazing thing is that you tell him once and he remembers everything and then follows up with the tour companies and transport guys.
I can go on and on - But PETER - You are the best and we very much enjoyed your company and our stay in La Fortuna. Thank you SO VERY MUCH

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ca
Reviewed 11 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dom I
Boston
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“This is not actually a house at all, it is a 2nd floor hostel above a coffee shop and an art shop.”
Reviewed 17 September 2013 for a stay in February 2013
5
people found this review helpful

Peter was a nice guy and very eager to help. The location was also great, very centrally located. The listing was very misleading however, this is not a house at all. It is in fact a second floor hostel that rents out to people for $15/person/night. There are five rooms, each with their own bathroom which is good. Unfortunately there is a plastic ceiling that is designed to let in light, but it actually just turns the entire place into an oven from 10:00AM till sundown. There are fans in every room, but that is not enough to combat the heat during the day. If you stay here, then you need to be out doing things for most of the day. Finally, there is no kitchen. That is a lie. There is a hot plate and a laundry room, which is where you have to take your dishes to clean them. You can get by with a bit of ingenuity, but it is not at all a house at all in the way that it is portrayed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peter was very helpful and enthusiastic.
Liked least: The place was very misrepresented. It is not at all a house and should not be listed as a vacation rental.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2013
This party was motivated to leave a negative and inacurate review due to the fact that they trashed my house and even though I did not deduct anything from their deposit they seemed disastisfied because they were not in a villa style property, rather a stylish loft in the center of town. We in fact have a full kitchen - they must have somehow lost their way from kitchen sink to the laundery room area! In fact the kitchen is brand new. Their group was 10 people - they in fact paid less than $15 per person to stay in my house! We have installed a new ceiling which lowes the temp. of the house considerably. But, it must be kept in mind that we are in the tropics here and it is a warm place.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KattyaG
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magnifico”
Reviewed 5 August 2013 for a stay in May 2013

this place was so cozy and fulfilled all our expectations. it was tastefully furnished, fully equipped clost to everything including shops, eateries, etc.
We all had our own en suite bathrooms, a kitchen that had eveythng we needed and the decorations were quite unique. the owner, peter, helped us out with all our tour planning, and even took us to the local hot spriothngs in his own car for nothing. we would definitely stay here again and in fact we have refered our relatives who will be staying in Fortuna over the holidays

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the interior of the house
Liked least: the local drivers
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$180
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing