We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very nice place. Spectacular views. Very serene.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Shankar S
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice place. Spectacular views. Very serene.”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Very nice place. Away from all the touristy crowds but not far away from attractions. You can get to places within 30 mins. Very well kept and clean home. Views from the home were spectacular. Lots to do within the farm (ATV's, horseback riding etc) Place has charm and character. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Owner took care of all the arrangements for us which was extremely helpful. The guide service that was available through this place was excellent. Very friendly, understanding and knowledgable. We have little kids and he was very flexible with out pace and schedule. Totally worth your money. Only complain is that the kitchen to this house next door and not connected to the main house. We had to deal with plenty of bugs and insects due to the rain and the kitchen is kind of outdoorsy (has a opening on top of the doors) and that invited all the Mosquitos inside and made being in there a true challenge. If you are traveling there in the rainy season carry lots of bug sprays and bug repellents for the rooms. Maid service everyday was excellent. Owner and guide very extreme helpful. A information book/binder would have been helpful In the room.There is a dog in the farm which is very friendly and sweet. Kids loved playing with it. Overall a very nice and reliable place and people. Would definitely recommend it. Will stay there if we visit again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErinSK
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Ideal setting and service”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We had an excellent stay at the villa. After a week on the hot beach, the cooler climate felt wonderful, and the setting couldn't have been more ideal. It was great to enjoy just being on the property when we weren't out on day trips- our two year old loved playing on the porch, around the flowers, at the pool, and visiting the horses. Esteban and Danny were both very helpful with guiding us toward places to visit in the area. We enjoyed the rural/small village setting while also being a short drive from Arenal. We would go back in a second!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edtx8
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous property, excellent location!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

A big thank you to Esteban and Monica for making our stay so memorable. If you are looking to stay just outside La Fortuna/Arenal (20+ minutes), away from the tourist resorts, consider staying at one of the villas on this incredible horse ranch. The villa we stayed in was so nice...spacious & comfy with air conditioner in the bedroom (a must per my husband). It also included a daily cleaning service which was awesome. We arrived with no activities booked and Esteban recommended top notch guide services then proceeded to book them for us each morning. We went white water rafting, zip lining, horse back riding, ATVing to local hot springs (Amazing), and lounged by the pool. Danny is the personal guide for the ranch and took us on our ATV tour...extremely knowledgeable of the area and a great guy. I asked him to be on the look out for a sloth and he found one! Along with Scarlet and Green Macaws, so neat. I cannot say enough great things about this property and the owners, we look forward to returning!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda D
1 review
“This place is better than the beach!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Let me start off by saying it was our first trip to Costa Rica and using Flipkey for our stay. This place was the best part of our 9 day stay. I would highly recommend staying on the ranch. The villa was perfect! It had wifi, cable, and AC; if you need them.
Esteban made this trip so easy for us; from renting a truck to any activity we wanted to do. Every activity we did on the ranch was 10x better than going into La Fortuna. We really got to see the beauty of the countryside by staying here. I highly recommend staying here and letting Esteban help you with your trip.
.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
Reviewed 22 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michael H
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highlight of Our Trip”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I chose to stay here because we were looking to avoid the tourist experience and this property exceeded all of our expectations. The views from this villa are amazing, the staff is great. The owner is extremely helpful and friendly. He can help arrange activities at his ranch (like horseback riding) as well as help coordinate adventure activities off site near La Fortuna. I have actually recommended friends and family to travel to Costa Rica specifically for this property / experience. It was by far the highlight of our trip and we could have stayed here the entire time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the Villa
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catriona...
1 review
“Amazing Villa in the Arenal Area”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

This villa is not only beautiful, perfectly located, but also had an extraordinarily helpful owner! Located on an amazing horse ranch about 30 minutes from La Fortuna, this is the perfect place to relax while still having access to any activity imaginable. This villa is more beautiful than the pictures suggest, clean, and comfortable. During our stay we went horseback riding, white water rafting, rappelling, and ATVing to hot springs, which were all arranged ahead of time by the owner. Every night after returning from our adventures we were able to escape the other tourists and just lay in a hammock looking at the beautiful Costa Rican mountains. This villa is perfect for any couple coming to the Arenal area!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The rocking chairs on the balcony that overlooked horse pastures and mountain vistas.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing