We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been there before but won't return again.”
Review of Hotel Villas Vilma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Villas Vilma
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Been there before but won't return again.”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I have stayed at Hotel Villas Vilma in this same room, several times before and have given it good reviews. However, I cannot recommend it after this recent stay. Upon entering the room the first thing I noticed was a terrible stink. There were no wash cloths. The light bulbs in the entry hall and room were burned out, only the lamps worked.
This trip my wife was with me and I'd told her about this nice little hotel... she looked at me as if I were crazy when we walked in. Our stay was disappointing to say the least.

Room Tip: Inspect your room before you accept it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BandL830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    88
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
46
78
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I was at first skeptical of staying at a hotel that was right at the 50% mark for hotels in La Fortuna, My opinion instantly changed when we pulled onto the very well manicured property complete with WIFI, pool and Jacuzzi. Lisa, the property manager was very helpful in getting us settled in with fresh towels, coffee and maps of the area. When we got to the very spacious cabana my appreciation of the room and the price took another giant leap up, two double beds, in room refrigerator, and hot shower along with a magnificent view of the volcano made this an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grecia, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We were in town for two nights, and enjoyed our stay. Large, clean room with two double beds. One mattress was hard (which my husband loved) and one softer (which I loved!). Hot water in the shower, Wi-fi, tv. Put in a few decorator items, and it wouldn't be much different than the high priced resort rooms. Pool was really nice- hot tub could have been a little hotter, but it was still nice. Staff was terrific and accommodating. Beautiful landscaping. We really enjoyed sitting on the front porch outside our room in the evening. Would definately recommend, and will definately stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a room with two double beds and a small bathroom. Our friends were in a room with a gigantic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VickiZ2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Villas Vilma offers basic, clean rooms with Wifi, TV, coffee maker and fridge. They have a pool and jacuzzi surrounded by garden which we thoroughly enjoyed and got to see frogs. I thought the jacuzzi was a perfect temperature (not so hot that it's uncomfortable). Being there in early September meant we got the place almost to ourselves. The only thing that would have made it perfect is if they had had one communal computer to use in reception as making plans is a huge pain on a tiny ipod screen. However, the staff were very willing to help us. If I was in the area again, I would definitely return. Seems like it would be perfect for families too. The best value for money in La Fortuna in my opinion.

Room Tip: For me, ther further away from the busy road the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gibber16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Nice quaint villas with beautiful gardens. Excellent view of Volcano. Rooms have air conditioning and wifi. Nothing fancy in the rooms just basic accommodations, with exception of no telephone. However, this is not unusual for local hotels in Costa Rica. The location, view, and gardens is what makes this a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Wasn't looking for luxury, but would have enjoyed a good hot shower.

PRO: cheap $50 night, close to town and food, good view of volcano if it's visible, large room space and easy parking, nice pool setting, good A/C, & mostly charming local staff

CON: internet worked sometimes and never well, jacuzzi was not hot and jets were weak, shower head was poor and water not always hot, small ants in the bathroom, room smelled like urinal cake after they cleaned, they don't take Amex, & one staff member was confusing and unaccommodating, but the rest of the staff were all quite charming

Wouldn't stay here again - wouldn't go to La Fortuna again - too touristy and rainy.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I enjoyed my stay at Villas Vilma. This was very reasonably priced and offered the basics.....hot water, A/C, clean linens and wifi. They also had a terrific breakfast deal with the restaurant across the street.....$6 for gallo pinto. I enjoyed the breakfast a lot. The view from the rooms was amazing. All of the cabins had a window facing the volcano and when it was clear out you had a beautiful landscape. The staff was friendly and spoke a bit of English. It would help you a lot if you had an elementary understanding of Spanish. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jdorsa24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanVillegas, Director Comercial at Hotel Villas Vilma, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you for your comment!
We are glad to know that you had a good time in our hotel
We wish to host you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Hotel Vista del Cerro
#35 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
243 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
#27 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
284 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Jardines Arenal
Hotel Jardines Arenal
#36 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Pradera
Hotel La Pradera
#26 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
376 reviews
1.4 mi away
San Bosco Inn
San Bosco Inn
#17 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
614 reviews
7.1 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#21 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villas Vilma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villas Vilma

Property: Hotel Villas Vilma
Address: 2km oeste del centro de La Fortuna, San Carlos | carretera al Volcán Arenal, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villas Vilma 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villas Vilma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villas Vilma Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing