We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time even better”
Review of Hotel Villas Vilma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Villas Vilma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This is my second stay in less than four months and this stay was even nicer than the first. The buildings have been repainted a pallet of brilliant colors, with up grades to the TV's lights. Still a very good place to stay when in La Fortuna.

Room Tip: Rooms 69 & 70 have the best view of the volcano and are farthest from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed here 3 nights, December 29-January 1. The grounds are gorgeous. The room is simple and the bed wasn't the best but you really can't beat the value. The breakfast coupon they offered for the place across the street was also a great deal. Very good breakfast and a generous portion.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srhilg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I booked this room at the last minute for new year's eve and was surprised by the good price ($60). I was pleasantly surprised when I arrived. The place is beautiful with tropical gardens, huge pool and jacuzzi, and cute bungalows facing the volcano. The rooms are big and clean with two double beds. The bathroom has a spacious shower, towels, soap.

The hotel is very small and not service-oriented but I don't mean this in a bad way. It is a place to stay - a good one and a nice one, but don't expect a concierge service to be available for you.

The location is good too, in between the town of Fortuna and the hot springs and volcano. Would recommend for a short stay for sure.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swissmiss82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This little resort is family run. The are great. The pool and spa are wonderful and you are a quick cab ride to the center of town. You are 5 minutes from the hot springs and at the base of the volcano. A family of four has plenty of room inside and out of the room.

Room Tip: Good price and great location, especially if you have a rental car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

The grounds and pool area are beautiful as well as the outside of our room. When we checked in we received our bath towels, upon arriving to our room the bathroom had no hand towels or face clothes or soap!! They gave us a bar of soap after we asked. Also there were hand prints all over the bathroom tiles, not very clean. The beds were very uncomfortable and the sheets too small or something because the sheets immediately came off the bed corners when we got in and no matter what we did they would not stay on!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Korn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I have stayed at Hotel Villas Vilma in this same room, several times before and have given it good reviews. However, I cannot recommend it after this recent stay. Upon entering the room the first thing I noticed was a terrible stink. There were no wash cloths. The light bulbs in the entry hall and room were burned out, only the lamps worked.
This trip my wife was with me and I'd told her about this nice little hotel... she looked at me as if I were crazy when we walked in. Our stay was disappointing to say the least.

Room Tip: Inspect your room before you accept it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BandL830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I was at first skeptical of staying at a hotel that was right at the 50% mark for hotels in La Fortuna, My opinion instantly changed when we pulled onto the very well manicured property complete with WIFI, pool and Jacuzzi. Lisa, the property manager was very helpful in getting us settled in with fresh towels, coffee and maps of the area. When we got to the very spacious cabana my appreciation of the room and the price took another giant leap up, two double beds, in room refrigerator, and hot shower along with a magnificent view of the volcano made this an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Hotel Vista del Cerro
#36 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
244 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#7 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
576 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arenal Rossi
Hotel Arenal Rossi
#40 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
San Bosco Inn
San Bosco Inn
#17 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
642 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Lavas Tacotal
Hotel Lavas Tacotal
#38 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
193 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Jardines Arenal
Hotel Jardines Arenal
#37 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villas Vilma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villas Vilma

Address: 2km oeste del centro de La Fortuna, San Carlos | carretera al Volcán Arenal, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: £41 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villas Vilma 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villas Vilma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villas Vilma Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing